App Annie Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
App Annie CEO Ted Krantz
Ted Krantz
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch & medical, commuter benefits(in 22 reviews)

  • "Working next to amazing and smart people is very motivating(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "The only constant at App Annie are layoffs(in 33 reviews)

  • "Work life balance skews more towards work than life(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Really Exciting Product and Market"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at App Annie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    With the world in lockdown, we've seen huge increase in time spent in apps. I'm proud to work in a company helping the industry in their mobile journey. The company is actively investing in R&D to build new products, best in class. Half of the company is dedicated to build innovative and best in class products. Global team, with real interactions between members. This is such a learning opportunity to work with colleagues from everywhere in APAC, AMER and EMEA.

    Cons

    No real downside - for sure their is plenty of work to do, and everyone has a real work to do. I've seen in bigger company people hiding, this is not possible here.

    Continue reading
    App Annie2020-05-15
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Industry Leader"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at App Annie full-time

    Pros

    -Mobile market data product is the industry leader -Acquisition of Libring differentiates the company even further -Hardworking and collaborative coworkers who genuinely care about the success of every team -Great benefits & perks

    Cons

    Global company means that sometimes it may take longer to make decisions

    App Annie2020-05-03
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Premier Product, Innovative Leadership!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at App Annie full-time

    Pros

    Great company who puts people and product first. The E-team is very transparent on organizational goals and focus. Customer-centric to a T - product and data science team develop a premium product without cutting corners or operating against industry protocol (can’t say that for all mobile market data companies out there). Very proud to part of the App Annie family!

    Cons

    Nothing different from what you’d expect to see at any growing software company. Biggest negative I’ve seen is unfortunate case of layoffs which resulted in many negative reviews - many of which were happy employees prior. Wish them all the best of luck.

    Continue reading
    App Annie2020-05-14
  4. Helpful (4)

    "A great company with great coworkers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at App Annie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - strong position as clear market leader - always taking high road doing things the right way - new labs projects gets great feedback from customers - comp at market rate or higher - fantastic coworkers and great relationships where we spend time outside of work

    Cons

    - had layoffs because covid-19 slowed down aggressive growth expectations - but this is true of almost all companies right now - not as many global meetings recently - people want to hear directly from execs

    Continue reading
    App Annie2020-05-10
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Great Culture and Company Atmosphere"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at App Annie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They offer a ton of benefits to employees and the executive team genuinely seems to care about the people working there.

    Cons

    Lots of silos which can make simple tasks take forever to accomplish.

    App Annie2020-05-01
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Just can't get it together"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at App Annie full-time

    Pros

    Astoundingly great collection of individual contributors. Unless you end up in a role with high exposure to company politics, you're sure to enjoy working here. Strong product legacy that the company will be able to coast on for some years to come.

    Cons

    At the management level, cannot seem to get its ducks in a row. There's a lot of cargo-cultism around trying to recapture the company's former glory, with a focus on the superficial things that seemed to bring success before, like "virality." Such a nebulous vision predictably leads to a scattered collection of efforts that don't really move the needle. No-one on the leadership team seems clued-in enough to customers' actual needs to articulate a product vision that will ensure the strong growth they seek--or even prevent churn of customers in this new belt-tightened economy. Hopefully this has changed in the post-layoff refocusing of the roadmap, but I wouldn't hold my breath. Superficial impressiveness matters a lot at this company. This could be a con or a pro for your career prospects here, depending on your personal strengths.

    Continue reading
    App Annie2020-05-16
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Fragile company, layoff happens frequently"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at App Annie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good engineer culture and better management than others

    Cons

    Very fragile status on finance, so layoff happens about 3 times in 2 years. And the market scale is not growing anymore.

    Continue reading
    App Annie2020-05-09
  8. Helpful (4)

    "The emperor has no clothes"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at App Annie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We're still market leaders, barely Good talent at IC level

    Cons

    I used to think that the company turned the corner in 2018 and the new CEO was doing the right things. Boy was I wrong. His mistakes have cost us dearly. I won't get into specifics because many other reviews have described them. We were forced into steep headcount reductions. A lot of people in the leadership team were let go as well. The CEO blamed this on Covid, but none of our competitors have been affected. Our biggest challenger just raised a big funding round and is hiring aggressively.

    Continue reading
    App Annie2020-05-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "CEO Panics"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at App Annie full-time

    Pros

    Lots a great co workers.

    Cons

    But you have to say bye to them all too soon. CEO panics. Obvi, the economy will rebound and then we will have to rehire everyone the CEO let go. That will take six months. OR, we could have dealt with 2 bad quarters and be ready to go on Monday.

    Continue reading
    App Annie2020-05-24
Found 238 reviews