AppDynamics Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
AppDynamics General Manager Danny Winokur (no image)
Danny Winokur
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Coming to AppD has been the best decision of my life(in 57 reviews)

  • "They push employees to excel while still maintaining an appropriate work life balance(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "We've experienced quite a bit of attrition over the past 12 months due to a perception that Cisco doesn't know "what to do with AppD"(in 36 reviews)

  • "Passionate team members can lose their work/life balance easily(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place for growth!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AppD has market-leading technology with a "start-up feel" backed by the investment and security of Cisco. We are expanding so rapidly that there is tons of room for growth, personally, professionally and financially. Whether you are looking to take on a larger scoped individual contributor role or want to grow your leadership career, there is opportunity for anyone who's passionate and willing to run hard and challenge themselves.

    Cons

    We've experienced quite a bit of attrition over the past 12 months due to a perception that Cisco doesn't know "what to do with AppD". I can't blame my colleagues for chasing new opportunities but I'm much more optimistic about our future with Cisco. This attrition has caused some heartburn and uncertainty (rightfully so). Thankfully, Cisco and AppD executive leadership has addressed this head on with increased investments (R&D, hiring, increased comp packages).

    Continue reading
    AppDynamics2020-03-26
  2. "Amazing Place To Grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, values, and compensation. They truly care about every individual on a personal level.

    Cons

    None that don't exist at every job.

    AppDynamics2020-06-03
  3. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome Product , Good Management

    Cons

    Lots of things are changing at the moment and leadership does not look to be very aligned on how to take the company to the next level.

    AppDynamics2020-06-04
  4. "Channel Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Channel Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppDynamics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Product, good sales engineers

    Cons

    Weak sales team post Cisco acquisition.

    AppDynamics2020-06-04
  5. "Love it here!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, people, market, solution, Cisco, flexibility, growth, variety, opportunity, fun, recognition.

    Cons

    None for me...great mix of hard work, travel, time off, community support, global giveback and great benefits.

    Continue reading
    AppDynamics2020-05-14
  6. "Its actually pretty good! a real review."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -The people are awesome, the product is industry leading and for the first time in my life I actually have a decent work life balance at a tech company. - A very transparent C-suite who has really stepped up to the plate during this coronavirus pandemic to make the employees feel comfortable and safe. - Financial stability and benefits that Cisco provides. - This may seem weird but I've never felt unethical in this job. It was an issue at both of my previous tech companies so its nice to not have to leave your morals at the door.

    Cons

    -We've slowly gotten less perks over the years as Cisco tries to control some of the costs associated with a startup culture. That said, the Dallas and SF offices still have some sweet amenities. - AppD can def lack structure at times and some our process could use refining. - Depending on where you work (sales, cs, product etc) some departments arent growing as fast as others so its not like some startups where you can get promoted every year.

    Continue reading
    AppDynamics2020-05-13

    AppDynamics Response

    May 27, 2020A member of the #WeAreCisco nation - HR team

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We love to hear some of your pros: the people you work with, the products being industry leading, having work-life balance, financial stability, great benefits, and how the work environment encourages ethical behavior. Lastly, we thank you for your advice to management as AppD will continue to invest in product innovation, our customers, and our people!

  7. "Good, start-up feeling company in the midst of a bigger tech giant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time

    Pros

    - Great culture and diversity as opposed to greater Cisco - Still have all the employee benefits and name of Cisco - Interesting work, product, and projects

    Cons

    - Some of the processes can be slowed down because of the steps that are tied to Cisco - Pay could be more competitive

    AppDynamics2020-05-09
  8. "Hard to Beat"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salesforce Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AppD has so many good things going for them: smart, friendly people who care about what they do; job security with Cisco, which is an amazing company to be backed by; lots of room for career development.

    Cons

    Lots of changing dynamics when leadership left. Change can be great, but seeing a lot of new initiatives that seem rushed or not thought through.

    Continue reading
    AppDynamics2020-05-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Services in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great management

    Cons

    Nothing out of the ordinary, typical valley company

    Continue reading
    AppDynamics2020-04-28
  10. "I enjoy it here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Perks, culture, coworkers, food, pay

    Cons

    not much to complain about

    AppDynamics2020-04-24
Found 600 reviews