AppFolio Reviews | Glassdoor

AppFolio Reviews

Updated February 17, 2017
28 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

28 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Team very supportive of work/life balance (in 11 reviews)

  • Awesome upper management and fantastic company culture (in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • No cons to think of at this time (in 12 reviews)

  • Customer Success is not appreciated enough - could boost morale with more recognition (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Inside Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I worked at AppFolio for over two years and loved it. The team culture is work hard play hard... literally, a basketball hoop in kitchen. Everyone is like a second family. The product truly transforms companies lives.

    Cons

    Pricing went up, don't close as many deals with the new structure in place. We used to tell companies we can help them no matter the size, now all of that has changed.

    Advice to Management

    Big on career growth, but not many options. Never look at an employee as just a number, take pride in their work and never stop teaching them. Provide room for growth.

    AppFolio Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – CMO

    So glad to hear you had a great experience working here - hope you find success and happiness at your next company too. Thank you for contributing to our success and for the advice as we grow.


  2. "Excellent Company with a Start-Up Culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Value Added in Santa Barbara, CA
    Former Intern - Value Added in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome upper management and fantastic company culture. Every employee's opinion is valued.

    Cons

    Repetitive work and low pay.


  3. "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio part-time

    Pros

    nice benefits, nice team and manager, overall great work environment

    Cons

    hard to meet new people in different teams

    AppFolio Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – CMO

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are always looking for creative ways to help more team members meet each other. This year we're planning some more lunches, another give-back event ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Success Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Goleta, CA
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Goleta, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay, cool people to work with, decent job experience for future jobs, cool managers

    Cons

    Nearly impossible to leave the department in under 2 years, extremely heavy work load

    AppFolio Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – CMO

    So glad to hear you've gained some valuable experience in your role. Customer Success is typically the first job right out of college and is the perfect way to build important skills that you will ... More


  6. "Implementation Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, quick opportunity for growth in the first 2 years. Opportunity to make an impact if you are driven and like to go above and beyond. Standard "small company" perks (snacks, tshirts, events)

    Cons

    Upward mobility difficult after plateauing at the manager level. Like many small companies, salaries lower than industry standard, and work hours typically greater than 40 hours a work. Try to make up for the salary with tshirts and snacks. Retention is also low as many of the employees are college hires and move on to their next career moves.

    Advice to Management

    Create larger salary gaps between roles and create additional roles between titles to keep the growth and momentum going.

    AppFolio Response

    Jan 12, 2017 – CMO

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review - working with our customers as they implement our software is a really important role. Career growth doesn't just come from new job roles & titles, it ... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Growing pains but great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Mid Market Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Mid Market Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    culture, leadership, employees, benefits, hours

    Cons

    pay, some growing pains with having just gone public in 2015.

    Advice to Management

    Stay agile to help employee success.

    AppFolio Response

    Dec 1, 2016 – CMO

    Glad to hear you'd recommend AppFolio and thank you for contributing to our success!


  8. "Excellent Experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Richardson, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The atmosphere is second to none and the company culture is amazing. Great place to build skills and experience.

    Cons

    sitting at a desk for 8 hours a day was a beating and something I was not used to. Other than that no cons.

    AppFolio Response

    Jul 25, 2016 – CMO

    So happy to hear that you found the company culture and atmosphere to be so great - the SDR role is a perfect opportunity to build sales skills.


  9. "Good company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Friendly people, great work environment, great benefits package. Good food was always being served. Friendly and supportive coworkers and managers.

    Cons

    Work consisted of talking on the phone for 7+ hours a day. Feels like AppFolio is limited in terms of product growth and future job opportunities in that area don't seem present.

    Advice to Management

    Make your operations more efficient rather than just expanding the number of employees. There are current things in the actual work process that make work less efficient.

    AppFolio Response

    Jul 25, 2016 – CMO

    Thanks for sharing your feedback on your experience here at AppFolio - we wish you the best in your next opportunity!


  10. "Sales Development Representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Colleagues are great, break room is awesome. Amazing new office space. Lots of fun to be have here. The company really cares about their employees.

    Cons

    Some departments are better than others. Sales and marketing are becoming more and more micro-managed.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees more when it comes to career path. The only person who knows what they want to do and where they want to grow in their career, are the employee themselves.

    AppFolio Response

    May 18, 2016 – CMO

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Our SDR role is a great starting point for a career -- we have members of the team who have been promoted into sales, customer success, implementation ... More


  11. "Software engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Goleta, CA
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Goleta, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Office and environment is nice. Everyone is smart and easygoing.

    Cons

    The town is too small

    AppFolio Response

    May 3, 2016 – CMO

    Thank you for the nice review - we wish you the best of luck in the future!



Showing 28 of 151 reviews
Reset Filters