AppFolio Reviews | Glassdoor

AppFolio Reviews

Updated February 24, 2017
145 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.1
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

145 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Team very supportive of work/life balance (in 11 reviews)

  • Awesome upper management and fantastic company culture (in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • No cons to think of at this time (in 12 reviews)

  • Customer Success is not appreciated enough - could boost morale with more recognition (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great opportunity to be a part of something unique."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    By and far, the best reason to work at AppFolio is the people. They only hire the cream of the crop! They are smart, conscientious, and caring.

    The product is slick and cutting edge. The Engineering and Product teams have their fingers on the pulse of the property management industry and understand how to release product that really makes a difference in the lives of our clients!

    The pay is very comparable to other local software companies for a Success position. And contrary to some reviews, Customer Success offers a lot of room to grow with the company both personally and professionally, but there is a natural order.

    For starters, you have to put in time to master the product, which has a steep learning curve and is constantly changing and improving. This can take well over a year, so you have to be patient.

    You also have to show middle and senior management you are dedicated to the company and are willing to roll up your sleeves and put your time in. The company is growing a lot and positions are always opening up. If you make it clear that you want to grow with the company they'll advance you.

    Cons

    It is hard to plan labor needs to meet queue needs, so you can feel overwhelmed at times. The management team is sensitive to it and they are doing everything they can do mitigate it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being transparent about upward mobility and how and what you are doing to keep the work flow manageable.

    AppFolio Response

    Feb 16, 2017 – CMO

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at AppFolio. I love hearing you say that you have to put the time in to master the product and be willing to roll up your sleeves and get the work ... More


  2. "Amazing Company and Opportunity"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phone Representative - MCC in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Phone Representative - MCC in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    outlook, managers, team, free food, nice desks, ran very well, works like clockwork, always improving, all around great company

    Cons

    can't really think of any - for my department, Saturday work was very tough, but thats it.

    Advice to Management

    Hold some more focus groups.... other than that, keep on your trajectory


  3. "Designers need not apply. Great for developers."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company culture. Great work space. Mostly great people. Lots of free food and games. Great if you're an engineer.

    Cons

    They won't understand design because leadership doesn't understand or respect it.

    I have literally heard executives and heads of Product say design is only there to assist engineers and that it's an afterthought. Not an exaggeration.

    If you're a designer prepare to be considered a 3rd class citizen.

    Advice to Management

    Apple is the most valuable company in the world in a large part due to design. Don't talk about "design being part of a 3-legged stool" and then act like it's not important. You will loose relevancy quickly due to your clunky and dated designs.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Love it"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Santa Barbara, CA
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Culture, attitude, people, and perks

    Cons

    Beginning to have a corporate feel

    AppFolio Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – CMO

    Love to hear your pros - culture, attitude, people and perks - these all really matter and I'm so glad you enjoy them. Sales is a tough but rewarding career -- thank you for helping new customers ... More


  6. "Inside Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I worked at AppFolio for over two years and loved it. The team culture is work hard play hard... literally, a basketball hoop in kitchen. Everyone is like a second family. The product truly transforms companies lives.

    Cons

    Pricing went up, don't close as many deals with the new structure in place. We used to tell companies we can help them no matter the size, now all of that has changed.

    Advice to Management

    Big on career growth, but not many options. Never look at an employee as just a number, take pride in their work and never stop teaching them. Provide room for growth.

    AppFolio Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – CMO

    So glad to hear you had a great experience working here - hope you find success and happiness at your next company too. Thank you for contributing to our success and for the advice as we grow.


  7. "The Right Spot to work!!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Relations in Santa Barbara, CA
    Current Employee - Consumer Relations in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Management is amazing! Anyone from Mid-management up to the CEO are COMPLETELY friendly and appreciable! Especially the CEO. He is extremely approachable and has a fantastic personality! From day one, you are family. I recommend all my friends and family to check out the career section! EVERYONE I know knows I work for AppFolio. I would say in the 22 years of my professional career, this place ranks in the top 2!!

    Cons

    No cons to think of at this time. It truly is an amazing place to work!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing... Slow and steady! The culture and growth have truly been amazing.

    AppFolio Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – CMO

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! I especially love that we rank in the top 2 places after 22 years of working - that gives you great perspective and makes me proud that ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great co-workers, management is not so much."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Santa Barbara, CA
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Get to work with some amazing people. All the free food in the kitchen is great too.

    Cons

    Salary is really low. Management does not give you a plan to grow your career. Seems like they pick and choose promotions arbitrarily. No review process, not even an annual review.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent. Show growth and career opportunities, even possible cross departmental growth.

    AppFolio Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – CMO

    Our customer success team is such an important part of our business - it is a great place to launch and grow your career and we have so many nice stories of team members doing just that. If you're ... More


  9. "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio part-time

    Pros

    nice benefits, nice team and manager, overall great work environment

    Cons

    hard to meet new people in different teams

    AppFolio Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – CMO

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are always looking for creative ways to help more team members meet each other. This year we're planning some more lunches, another give-back event ... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great people, less than stellar compensation"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Barbara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time

    Pros

    The best part of AppFolio is its people. I absolutely love everyone on my team and the positive work environment.

    Cons

    Although the atmosphere is great, the compensation is lacking. There isn't any form of pay structure, review system, and it seems that raises only come with position changes.

    Post-IPO life is also quite different.

    Advice to Management

    It would be beneficial if there was more clarity around raises and expression of the value of the work I do. Making up silly "rules" like compensation changes only accompany title change is just that, silly. I over-deliver on KPIs, and have pioneered features of our product, and there has been no reciprocation on the part of AppFolio. Loyalty is a two-way street.

    AppFolio Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – CMO

    So glad to hear you love your team and the positive work environment - this is so important and is a key element to loving your job. It sounds like you feel that you've really delivered a lot of ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Success Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Goleta, CA
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Goleta, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay, cool people to work with, decent job experience for future jobs, cool managers

    Cons

    Nearly impossible to leave the department in under 2 years, extremely heavy work load

    AppFolio Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – CMO

    So glad to hear you've gained some valuable experience in your role. Customer Success is typically the first job right out of college and is the perfect way to build important skills that you will ... More



Showing 145 of 151 reviews
Reset Filters