Cover image for AppFolio
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2022

AppFolio

AppFolio

Add a Review

AppFolio Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 854 of over 911 reviews
4.3
86% Recommend to a Friend
Best Places to Work 2022
AppFolio President and CEO Jason Randall
94% Approve of CEO
Top CEOs 2021

Found 857 of over 911 reviews

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
AppFolio President and CEO Jason Randall
Jason Randall
459 Ratings

What people are saying about AppFolio

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of AppFolio and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    In tune with the times

    Mar 17, 2022 - Director in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    AppFolio genuinely values its people and exiting the pandemic, has made major investments in compensation and benefits & workplace flexibility to stay competitive in the talent market. That combined with AppFolio's continued growth trajectory (Fortune's Fastest Growing Companies list 2x) makes it an ideal place to start or grow a tech career.

    Cons

    Overreliance on Google Slides in meetings and as part of plan development

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    AppFolio trusts me

    Nov 28, 2022 - Senior Events Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Appfolio gives great autonomy to its employees. I am trusted to complete my work and I'm not held to exact working hours. We have amazing benefits and are treated ridiculously well/borderline spoiled!

    Cons

    Honestly can't think of anything negative

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the AppFolio team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Forward thinking company w/ excellent WLB!

    Nov 12, 2022 - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Appfolio has been pretty forward thinking although it can move kind of slow sometimes. This is a result of the WLB balance though, since it is not in the company culture to work past 5pm. Most employees work either completely remote or hybrid now. - The company is very supportive of employees and has a ton of awesome perks, like onsite gym (in the main office in SB), amazing snacks, latte bar (in house barista) at the main office, company-sponsored workout classes, dogs in the office and hack days. Remote employees also get great benefits comparatively. - The people here are fantastic. Everyone is extremely supportive, inclusive and always open to hearing about ways to improve the company. I love our quarterly meetings, when we get to go to SB and stay at the Ritz Carlton! - If you live in Santa Barbara, the weather absolutely cannot be beat.

    Cons

    - Sometimes there seems to be a lack of excitement when it comes to building our products. I think this is slowly improving, as there is a big AI initiative in the works. However, I do wish that it would be at the top of mind for our products. - Pay is a low compared to competitors which is why Appfolio seems to be losing out to higher paying tech companies (especially when it comes to devs)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company, great people.

    Nov 4, 2022 - Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company genuinely cares for its employees. Management is actively engaged on making everyone's work easier and rewarding. All the engineers are very smart and a great resource for feedback. The company's first requirement (after technical capability) for hiring is to be nice and easy to work with, which makes for a really good feeling not to have to deal with a prima donna or someone who's always hard to talk to. With a technical staff of a few hundred, there are quite a few areas where skills can be honed, and while it may seem that the product is not incredibly exciting, there are options to change teams and pursue a professional interest. In fact, management encourages this. The work/life balance is very good. Remote work is available, and this is not a place where you will be required to put in 70 hours a week just to keep your job. The feeling is that as long as you do what you need to do, how and when you do it is a minor concern.

    Cons

    Salaries are not at the top of the scale for the best companies out there, however my personal take is that it is a small compromise for all the pros you get in exchange.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A great company to work for

    Sep 20, 2022 - Sr Customer Success Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    While flexibility can certainly depend on your department/job, I have a lot of flexibility in my position which has come in very handy as a single mom. I have a good work/life balance and feel that we have a good PTO policy. After 4 years you can get 36 days PTO per year, which does roll over (30 days under 4 years - still great!). For the last few years the company has done "Thank You Fridays" to extend 3-day weekends into 4 (4th of July, Labor Day, etc). The 401k matching is nice at 4%, health insurance is great, and there are many other perks, such as paid maternity and paternity leave. Although I choose to work remotely, I am located near an office and that office is newly renovated and beautiful! There's a fitness room, multiple rooms for nursing mothers/quiet spaces, yoga is offered virtually, lunch is catered often, and there is a pool table, ping pong table, and PlayStation 5 in the office (and yes, they are actually used). I also feel that my growth is valued here. There are a ton of training opportunities and growth options here. I have been promoted 4 times and received more pay increases than that in less than 5 years and know that I can continue to develop my career even further here.

    Cons

    This is not necessarily a con but it can be difficult to keep up with product updates as changes are pushed out multiple times per week. It is awesome to see the company listen to our clients and make changes as needed. The workload can be a lot, and it takes good time management to succeed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AppFolio Response

    CPO

    Thanks for sharing about your positive experience as an AppFolian. From PTO and wellness perks to professional development to Thank you Fridays - all of our benefits and perks are designed to help you thrive as an employee here, and to show our appreciation for the hard work you put in each day. We take all reviews to heart, positive or constructive, so thank you for also sharing ways we can continue to improve.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Nov 28, 2022 - Customer Care Representative in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and great culture

    Cons

    The work can be challenging.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Such an amazing place for growth.

    Nov 8, 2022 - Associate Customer Service Representative in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very quick support response Amazing office space Friendly no competitive environment Great opportunities for growth Very flexible with remote and hybrid roles Very inclusive employee base They work hard to be above industry standards on many aspects of benefit offerings.

    Cons

    Very steep training slope ACCR vs CCR pay-rate discrepancy even though both roles do the exact same thing and have the same responsibilities and expectations. Over-selective hiring process

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing leadership & talented teams

    Sep 15, 2022 - N|A 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - leadership at every level is professionally mature, organized, and deeply values and supports their teams. - the majority of leaders at AppFolio practice servant leadership, and are committed to developing their team and removing roadblocks - great transparency around how performance is measured, compensation and market ranges, and a refreshing focus on career pathing

    Cons

    - pay is less competitive than at the start up or fortune 500 company level, AppFolio is a medium sized company that has had explosive growth, and even with market adjustments, with many employees based in California, the pay feels a little behind -as the company has grown rapidly, there are some growing pains around cross-functional collaboration and silos. Definitely normal at this stage, and better than many other companies of similar size/maturity, but can still create challenges for employees.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Growth

    Nov 23, 2022 - Business Development Representative (BDR) in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture is truly amazing at AppFolio.

    Cons

    As a BDR, living in SB, living is hard to find, which is out of AppFolio's control.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great culture & big recent improvements

    Sep 14, 2022 - Program Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Free Fancy coffee in office, office is very, very nice -Permanent remote is available for the vast majority of employees -Love the people I work with -Lots of opportunity for growth -Very few work weeks past 45 hours, more often than not 8-5 & work life balance is really solid -Amid the need to reduce costs amid high inflation(like every company), the company is making smart decisions to reduce costs instead of getting rid of anyone -Way ahead of inflation this year, market adjustments for many positions in the company that are clearly doing right by the employee

    Cons

    -Company is getting bigger, perhaps not as "fun" as it once was. That's relative however -Structural growing pains have had to be overcome in the last 1-2 years along with COVID, though the light is pretty bright at the end of the tunnel now!!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AppFolio Response

    CPO

    Thanks for leaving this review. I'm glad to hear that you are able to experience so many of the elements that contribute to AppFolio's unique and positive culture! It's particularly great to hear that you value our intentional strides to drive strong business growth, while investing in our employees, including the evolution of our holistic Total Rewards.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 857 Reviews
</>Embed

AppFolio Reviews FAQs

AppFolio has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 911 reviews left anonymously by employees. 86% of employees would recommend working at AppFolio to a friend and 83% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, AppFolio employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at AppFolio. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

86% of AppFolio employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated AppFolio 4.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at AppFolio to be senior leadership, benefits, career development and the cons to be compensation .

Popular Careers with AppFolio Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at AppFolio? Share Your Experiences

AppFolio logo
or

AppFolio Careers

Cover image for AppFolio

People-centered innovation for how we work and live AppFolio is a leading provider of cloud business management solutions for the real...More

  • Life @ AppFolio
  • Traditions
  • Locations
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

AppFolio

31 days ago

Culture
AppFolio Gives Back is an opportunity for AppFolians to connect to each other and the causes that are meaningful to us, our customers, and our communities. Recently AppFolio partnered with Habitat for Humanity to fundraise, volunteer, and make a meaningful impact in our communities. Learn more on our blog.
Shared image - AppFolio Gives Back: Strengthening Communities, Creating Hope - The Official AppFolio Blog
AppFolio Gives Back: Strengthening Communities, Creating Hope - The Official AppFolio Blog
www.appfolio.com
See all

AppFolio Photos

+ Add Photo
AppFolio photo of: Avocado Takedown
AppFolio photo of: Dallas Tailgate
AppFolio photo of: Dallas Tailgate
AppFolio photo of: Dallas Tailgate
AppFolio photo of: Dallas Tailgate
AppFolio photo of: San Diego Sunset Cruise
AppFolio photo of: Together @ AppFolio
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

AppFolio Job Seekers Also Viewed

LogicMonitor Logo
LogicMonitor

4.5

448 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 911 AppFolio reviews submitted anonymously by AppFolio employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if AppFolio is right for you.