AppNexus Reviews | Glassdoor

AppNexus Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 258 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
AppNexus CEO Brian OKelley
Brian OKelley
182 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Need stronger middle management(in 16 reviews)

  • "Disorganized, too many reorgs, upper management lacking vision(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNexus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Newly acquired so lots of change !

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    AppNexus2019-07-12
  2. "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNexus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great company culture - Interesting problems - Fast moving space

    Cons

    - Growing pains of a growing teenager - CEO/CoFounder

    AppNexus2019-05-21
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNexus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have lots of good things to say about working at AppNexus: - Great culture - Lots of experienced engineers and smart people - Interesting engineering problems at a huge scale - Great pay and ok perks

    Cons

    - Ad tech isnt too exciting

    AppNexus2019-03-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not a place for product managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AppNexus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, okay location, cool people

    Cons

    Disorganized, too many reorgs, upper management lacking vision

    AppNexus2019-03-18
  5. "Nice place to build a career, friendly work environment with lots of smart hardworking people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNexus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    successful startup with good culture and good leadership in engineering.

    Cons

    lots of tech debt that needs to be cleaned up to advance

    AppNexus2019-02-25
  6. "roller coaster ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppNexus full-time

    Pros

    - excellent tech stack and talent - good learning experience for junior staff - positive culture and values

    Cons

    - no upward movement due to lifers - avoid working for techops or corpit (too much politics and nepotism)

    Advice to Management

    - try to bounce or rotate lifers

    AppNexus2018-12-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Creative. Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNexus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great people in the company. Really exciting time now that they have been bought by AT&T. I love the work and the people

    Cons

    Leadership in creative engineering. Can you say Narcissistic? Evasive and controlling. No,,, you don't know everything and stop acting like it. Leaders should take on a leadership servant style to help groom and grow the team. You leading like Napoleon is not a good thing for the company. Plus you make hiring decisions to build your empire, not make smart decisions for the company.

    Advice to Management

    Fire leadership Fix the culture before this cancer rots from within.

    AppNexus2018-11-30
  8. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at AppNexus full-time

      Pros

      Company aassion and market shares.

      Cons

      Frequent reorg makes the projects unfinished.

      AppNexus2018-11-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Accountant in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at AppNexus full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great culture. So much growth potential.

      Cons

      -Company politics at times. -Start-up tech culture slowly shifting to typical corporate structure.

      AppNexus2018-09-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "Times are changing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Technical Training Manager in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at AppNexus full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Generally good people to work with, decent benefits

      Cons

      Lack of transparency and communication around AT&T acquisition

      AppNexus2018-09-22
    Found 258 reviews