Appco Group "door to door" Reviews | Glassdoor

Appco Group Employee Reviews about "door to door"

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
42%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Appco Group Founder and Chairman  Chris Niarchos
Chris Niarchos
262 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, although these are all worthwhile(in 64 reviews)

  • "They advertise it as an "internship" but in reality it is a door-to-door sales job(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "door to door"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "BE A SELLER NOT A TELLER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appco Group

    Pros

    I worked in the San Diego Office, walking door to door, raising financial sponsorship support to children and families around the world in desperate situations. I had previously worked at ground level in many of these countries and have personally seen these children get the help that is needed, because of sponsorships. Appco is doing a fantastic job in the promotion of these charities. Of course you have to be a foot soldier with a positive attitude and tenacity. Grow your own teams with a potential of high gains for yourself. Gaining incredible knowledge each morning, and it's free! Working with different teams and leaders each day, going on trips, winning prizes Including massive rally's. Growth of opening your own office here in USA with the funding and backing of the Appco Group. You do receive a basic salary including credits for each child sponsored, not like other companies where you have to be trained, then write exams, of which you pay. You do get medical assistance if injured on duty. The management team are interested in you as a person and their door is always open. The office team, are most helpful to cater to all your questions. Working for Appco is not for the faint hearted!

    Cons

    3 things that can never come back when gone: ⌚️ Time 😛 Words 🌟 Opportunity 3 things that make a person 💪 Hardwork 👼 Sincerity 🙌👠👞 Commitment

    Appco Group2015-01-22

    Appco Group Response

    July 9, 2015Global Head of Communications

    Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It's great to hear that you're getting so much out of working with Appco US. We're really proud of the way we are able to help charities raise the funds they need to do their vital work - and it's thanks to people like you that we can continue to support them. Like you say, this business is certainly not for everyone, but for those who do enjoy it and are willing to work hard there are real benefits. Every day, we see so many people prosper within our own organisation and in other careers – thanks to the skills and broad knowledge they've acquired – and we will continue to support people's progression as much as we can.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don't fall for their BS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great energy, people are great and you get your exercise in. learn good sales tips.

    Cons

    First you will walk all the streets (door-to- door) a full shift in your interview attire, just as a test if you can handle the basic requirement of the job. Your basic pay is around $75 a day for each sale you will receive $15-$20. Your goal is 2 a day. still scrap money. Typically work 10-12 hrs per day. 6 days a week.

    Continue reading
    Appco Group2019-11-07
  3. Helpful (10)

    "It's not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time

    Pros

    The people who work there do their best to make you feel part of the group

    Cons

    Long hours, very little pay and if you want to earn more, you have to go door to door and "pitch" people about some cause or another and make them give up their hard-earned money. It's a multi-level marketing scam and I quit after a week and a half because my conscience couldn't handle ripping off people after i realized what im doing,

    Appco Group2017-02-09

    Appco Group Response

    May 17, 2017Global Head of Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear of colleagues doing their best to make you feel included. However, we are sorry to see that, overall, your experience was not a positive one. Just to clarify, it sounded as if you were contracted by a marketing company, not by Appco UK. Appco UK is the first to admit that direct sales is not for everyone. As well as having to develop sales ability, the role does require hard work and perseverance. For these reasons, many people find it is not for them. However, we believe self-employment does give people choices and opportunities. Many people use the skills they develop – confidence, public speaking, sales, self-discipline – in other careers, while others choose to build their own business and sub-contract with Appco UK. We are proud of the thousands of brand ambassadors across the UK who have or are currently working hard and enjoying what they do, or who have used their skills to go on to successful careers in other industries. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you. Please feel free to contact us at customerservice@appcogroup.co.uk

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Save Yourself the Trouble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group

    Pros

    Cool office even though you don't spend much time there.

    Cons

    Everything else. They make you go into these multiple interviews just for a door to door soliciting job. You'll spend hours there and make waaaay less than minimum wage each day unless you get someone to buy into what you're selling. Don't waste your time here.

    Continue reading
    Appco Group2016-02-11

    Appco Group Response

    May 10, 2016Global Head of Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. We are proud to promote what we do and expect everyone to advertise and recruit in an open and honest way. We are very sorry to hear that has not been your experience and we will be looking into this further. Please do contact us if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail: contactus@appcogroupus.com

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (11)

    "company sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you will enjoy great friendly environment at office, improve your interactions

    Cons

    worst job to work for, go door to door to sale and it doesn't matter either there is a heavy rain or snowfall. when you cannot make even 1 sale at your first week they will fire you. you need to work from morning 9 AM to 11pm at night and working 15 hours a day you will earn only $70 per day. You wear suit to go office and change to go on field. They just want to prove they are professionals and speaks like they are billion dollar company. But there main job is to raise fund going door to door and asking for donation to help childrens. Nobody want make a fool out of themselves, there are far better opportunities than working in such place. working here will frustrate you when you go door to door and people will be mad at you saying GO HAVE A LIFE.

    Continue reading
    Appco Group2014-11-16

    Appco Group Response

    July 9, 2015Global Head of Communications

    Thanks for taking the time give us your feedback. It's important to say that we are extremely proud of the work we do for charities, who choose to partner with us because our fundraisers are so incredibly dedicated to bringing them the donors they need to continue their vital work. We're the first to admit that this job is not for everyone, and you will work outdoors in all types of weather. We provide training and support to help everyone perform at their best and understand that it takes longer for some people to become confident in this role. Appco USA does not encourage field representatives (FRs) to work more than 8 hours per day. Working hours are 11:30am to 8:30pm, Monday to Friday, with an hour for lunch. This equates to a standard 40-hour working week. FRs can also work Saturdays if they choose to. All Appco US staff members are W2 employees with a base salary. They also receive performance-based incentives and a separate bonus structure. Please feel free to contact us if you’d like to discuss your experience or any of the above information in more detail: contactus@appcogroupus.com

    Continue reading
  6. "Fraud"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Associate in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you wanna work like donkey you can earn very well

    Cons

    No salary , pure door to door sales job, you get 16.5% of what you sell. No long term career

    Continue reading
    Appco Group2019-07-04

    Appco Group Response

    July 17, 2019Global Head of Communications

    Hi there - Unfortunately, this review seems to be for a sales agency rather than Appco. Please review and amend as appropriate.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It's a cult - avoid it like the plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time

    Pros

    You'll know exactly what to watch out for if any other cult tries to recruit you.

    Cons

    It's a cult, multi-level marketing, pyramid scheme - SCAM. Comes in many forms under many difference "independent" marketing companies which often shut down and change their names to avoid liability. 100% commission door to door sales in all weather, 70 hours a week. Cultish tactics - lovebombing when you first join, they give you monetary incentives to make you believe that direct marketing is lucrative but by week 2 or 3 you will realise that you will earn next to nothing but by then you are brainwashed, using specific terminology like "negging out," "the field" "SEE principle," "3 steps" all to make you conform and fall in line. They sell you The Dream that you will be an owner in a year's time and will constantly make you focus on the future and not talk about how terrible your current working conditions are. Will belittle and guilt trip you if you take a day off even though they tell you you are self-employed and are your own boss. This isn't even the half of it. I could give an hour long lecture on how awful my experience in this company was. If you stay in this cult for longer than a few weeks it will destroy your social and personal life, your self-esteem and your finances. And they don't care because there is a revolving door and more desperate young/unemployed people to replace you and spit you out again. Don't even bother. If they call you (and they will about twenty minutes after you apply) hang up.

    Continue reading
    Appco Group2018-12-12

    Appco Group Response

    January 14, 2019Communications Manager

    We are sorry that your experience as an independent contractor was not a positive one. However, we must clarify that, as an independent contractor, you were contracted to a specialist marketing company and were not employed by or contracted to Appco Australia. Independent contracting gives people choices, control and flexibility in the way they choose to work. If this was not your experience, please get in touch with us at icenquiries@appcogroup.com.au so we can investigate further. We must also clarify that Appco Australia is not a pyramid scheme. A pyramid scheme requires people to personally contribute financially in order to operate in that business, and they are then paid for recruiting people into the business. No one within Appco Australia’s business is engaged or paid in this way, nor are they ever required to make a personal financial contribution to the business. We believe the same is true of the third-party suppliers we use, like the marketing company you were contracted to. We are the first to admit that direct sales is not for everyone and many people find it is not for them. However, many others do go on to develop skills – confidence, public speaking, sales, self-discipline – that benefit them in other careers, and others go on to build their own marketing businesses. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you in more detail. Please feel free to contact us at icenquiries@appcogroup.com.au

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young work environment, very high energy. Pay is on a commission basis so you have the ability to make a ton of money, but if you're not good at it you won't be making much. It's a door to door sales job so each day is different.

    Cons

    They are not upfront with what the position is. They advertise it as an "internship" but in reality it is a door-to-door sales job. This may not be for everyone, but if you're someone to has little to no real work experience, if you're successful at the job it can be a great opportunity. The hours are very long (you'll be working from 10am to 9pm), and pay is based on a commission basis. This can be good or bad depending on whether you're successful or not.

    Appco Group2018-09-23

    Appco Group Response

    November 19, 2018Communications Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review – it's great to hear that you enjoyed your time as an independent contractor. Just to clarify, as an independent contractor, you were contracted to a marketing company and not employed by or contracted to Appco.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Worst and fraud company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Appco Group full-time

    Pros

    No pros to share

    Cons

    These people fool you during interview. And later on they will give you false hopes. It kind of like begging door to door for money in suits. Do not waste your degree and education by even attending their interview. Owners flirt with girls to make them stay in company.

    Continue reading
    Appco Group2018-04-09

    Appco Group Response

    April 10, 2018Communications & social media manager, Appco Group India

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to know that your experience was not a positive one. Appco Group India contracts with independent marketing companies, which in turn contract business associates, on a self-employed basis to conduct field sales work. We expect all of the independent marketing companies that are contracted with us to operate in a transparent and honest way at all times as well as maintain a healthy work environment. Inappropriate behavior is unacceptable as per our business policies and we will further investigate about this in our network and take appropriate strict action against the Business Owner. We have listened to feedback on with regards to the clarity on the role. Hence we have created customized forms to help ensure marketing companies are including all necessary information about the available roles. We believe this will ensure more clarity. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further so that we can look at how and where we can improve. If you would like to get in touch, please contact us at communication@appcoindia.com.

    Continue reading
  10. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Appco Group full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment to work in

    Cons

    - Door to door - long hours -unstable income

    Appco Group2018-02-20

    Appco Group Response

    June 14, 2018Communications Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you found the independent contractor opportunity fun . However, we are sorry to see that, overall, your experience was not a positive one. Just to clarify, as an independent contractor, you were contracted to a marketing company and not employed by or contracted to Appco Group.

    Continue reading
Found 43 reviews