Cover image for Appian
Logo
See All Photos

Appian

Engaged Employer

Appian

Add a Review

Appian Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 432 of over 464 reviews
4.4
88% Recommend to a Friend
Appian President and CEO Matt Calkins
87% Approve of CEO

Found 425 of over 464 reviews

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Appian President and CEO Matt Calkins
Matt Calkins
313 Ratings

What people are saying about Appian

Join the conversation on

Tech

456.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Appian~27819
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Rapid growth in number of employees also comes with challenges but management is aware of this and does their best to ensure the growth does not impact quality and company values.(in 17 reviews)
  • "Manager will have 1 on 1 with you every other week but it’s useless they just want to get rid of the people who are genuinely trying to fit it... all they care about is the people who are quick learners(in 8 reviews)
  • "There is no training after the intro academy or planned free time.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Upper management is a closed group(in 5 reviews)
  • "Appian is great when it comes to making promises, either for career paths, promotions, or even its product.(in 5 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Appian and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Fantastic Place to Work

    Jan 25, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Great benefits. Great people. Great place to work.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Highly Recommend

    Nov 21, 2022 - Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture Teamwork Being Valued What you do really makes a difference for customers Internal tools Fun Diverse Executives Commissions Structure Leadership (level 1, 2) are very well rounded in broad markets

    Cons

    Ramp up takes time so if you get a green patch with little to no active customers assigned to you, put the time in and it's worth it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Appian team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Decent place to work if you don't have to interact with anyone above an SVP.

    Jul 11, 2022 - Sr. Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great colleagues, smart people, collaborative environment, free food on Mondays and Thursdays, free snacks and soda, everyday.

    Cons

    Completely out of touch leadership. Senior executives here believe their title makes them a leader. None have any idea how to motivate a team to follow. The CEO does not have any concept of strategic thinking, long range planning, empathy, or what it means to be customer focused. He links strategy to mean "the product we sell." He thinks empathy...well...he doesn't think empathy at all. He's a billionaire with zero connection to real people, real struggle and real life. So he has zero ability to actually attempt to step into someone else's shoes for a different perspective. Nor does he care to try. He thinks being customer focused is going to a meeting with a customer or taking them to dinner. Not a hint about ease of doing business, listening to a customer's needs and problems, understanding what a customer values, versus what he thinks he should be able to tell the customer to value. For the rest of the company that actually understands all three concepts, we know we are successful in spite of our executive team, not because of it.

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company Focused on Employee Satisfaction and Growth

    Oct 18, 2022 - Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Management is transparent in discussing goals, initiatives, and the overall state of the company. - Overall compensation and benefits are above average. - Excellent training program when you onboard. - Get to work with a number of talented and skilled individuals who want to help others succeed and are pleasant to work with. - While the work load can be significant, the stress is not because of schedule flexibility and the ability to disconnect when needed.

    Cons

    - 401k matching and the vesting timelines are fair, but not necessarily on par with former employers. - Kind of an odd tuition reimbursement policy that favors overall grades as opposed to seeking out difficult programs that will be challenging. No one wants to risk paying several thousand dollars unexpectedly, especially when your primary focus should be on your full time job. Most companies traditionally are pass/fail or have a less intense decrease based upon on the grade received.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Like No Other - In the Best Way!

    Nov 8, 2022 - Talent Acquisition Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Appian has the most distinct culture where you are surrounded by people who love what they do and who are curious and excited to try new things. I love that everyone who interviews with the company meets with an executive (could even be a founder) - this says a lot to me. I also appreciate that they make their employees feel valued through strong benefits, recognition and promotions.

    Cons

    You shouldn't come to Appian if you don't love what you do because you will fade into the background easily since you are surrounded by incredible people who truly excel at their roles.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Frustrating and disappointing

    Jul 25, 2022 - Sales in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The platform is great and was often chosen when evaluated for low code workflow / case management. There were a lot of smart and high achieving people. They're in good financial standing (based on public information) going into a potential recession and recently won a big $2B lawsuit against one of their biggest competitors.

    Cons

    A lot of the company is falling apart. It seems like every department is losing their top performers. The CRO was doing great and even he left. The equity they offered is a joke and made it easy to leave. Sales had some disasters this year - they had a failed reorg and an even worse commission plan rollout. Communication continued to be lacking when I left. Poor performance was tolerated and in some cases even led to promotions. Legal and deal desk were difficult and took too long. Customers were telling us they don't need or like the acquired RPA and process discovery tech but we were still told to push them with a message that didn't work. Selling Appian was very very hard, some really great salespeople have failed there. The partners and the prebuilt apps should've made prospecting easier but neither helped us. I found the founders arrogant and condescending whenever I worked with them. Not a very diverse company especially leadership.

    Continue reading
    20 people found this review helpful

    Appian Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your candid feedback, although it sounds like your experience wasn’t as good as either of us would have liked. Appian greatly values feedback of current and former employees. We are proud of the investments we've been making towards our sales organization including changes to our training, career model and compensation, and look forward to continuing to enhance our employee experience. We wish you all the best on your new endeavors.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great culture, great people, useful product

    Oct 18, 2022 - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company culture is taken seriously - including DEIB They are aware of the need for new viewpoints - even if they struggle to incorporate them Hiring process is not overkill - and recruiting is great Good benefits Work/Life Balance is really good for a product role

    Cons

    On-boarding is long and arduous - especially for PMs Technical debt is a little frustrating at times Tenured employees have a tendency to quash new ideas or at least add friction to them VP-level management can be hard to read/harder to convince (execs and directors/below seem to be better about this, which is encouraging)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great culture, fast-growing, so much potential

    Oct 18, 2022 - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people. Good benefits. Great support for remote workers. Very positive outlook for company growth and opportunities. We use our own product to build apps that support our own teams internally.

    Cons

    The world's longest onboarding process. Most of the company is stuck on a very slow release process (though not mine). The product is good but there are a lot of opportunities for improvement. Execs are sometimes a bit too heavy-handed on processes and tools. Not enough focus on measuring success quantitatively. Very engineering-driven as a whole.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Terrible company, avoid at all costs.

    Oct 8, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Arlington, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Money and unlimited PTO. The people were friendly but a little too nerdy for my taste and insecure about their intelligence. When you answered their questions they’d get defensive cause it made them feel dumb. Many came from ivy league so performance was important to them.

    Cons

    The place ran a bit like a high school fraternity. Every developer went through a highly organized day to day schedule from 9 to 5. Very vindictive and anti-competitive company. Incredibly arrogant on a product that honestly kind of sucks. Their product makes app development harder than coding by hand. I've seen companies transition from appian back to high-code platforms cause appian was so limited on what they needed it to do. Lose the arrogance and you will start to grow as a company.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Nov 9, 2022 - Web Content Publisher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work! Really supportive and fun culture. It's got the agility of a start-up, but the benefits of a larger, well-established company.

    Cons

    Haven't really found any cons of substance yet.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 425 Reviews
</>Embed

Appian Reviews FAQs

Appian has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5, based on over 464 reviews left anonymously by employees. 88% of employees would recommend working at Appian to a friend and 83% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Appian employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Appian. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

88% of Appian employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Appian 4.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Appian to be career development, culture, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, management, benefits.

Popular Careers with Appian Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Appian? Share Your Experiences

Appian logo
or

Appian Careers

Cover image for Appian

Join the AppianLife Community Appian prides itself on having a strong company culture, comprised of a diverse group of employees from all...More

  • Engineering
  • Sales
  • Customer Success
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Appian

102 days ago

Company News
We’re excited to share that we've been recognized on Yello.co and WayUp's Top 100 Internship Programs list for 2022! Shoutout to our University Recruiting team for providing the best resources to our student interns and early career employees. We couldn't have done it without you! Check out our awesome internship and early career opportunities on our careers site now and apply to come live the #AppianLife.
Shared image - Students
Students
lnkd.in
See all

Appian Photos

+ Add Photo
Appian photo of: HQ at McLean
Appian photo of: AppianThrive Volunteering
Appian photo of: Dinner in EMAE
Appian photo of: Cheeseboards with Campus Recruiting
Appian photo of: Together Again at Appian
Appian photo of: Spring Fling
Appian photo of: Affinity Group Fair
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Appian Job Seekers Also Viewed

Clarabridge Logo
Clarabridge

3.6

149 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 464 Appian reviews submitted anonymously by Appian employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Appian is right for you.