KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Apple Federal Credit Union

Engaged Employer

Apple Federal Credit Union

Add a Review

Apple Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 of over 98 reviews

4.1
89%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Apple Federal Credit Union President and CEO Andy Grimm  (no image)
Andy Grimm
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work environment is also relaxing and awesome(in 13 reviews)

  • "Apple is truly a great place to work(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Hey, it all starts with senior management making big boy decisions and if they make bad ones and company morale is down, they have to own up(in 4 reviews)

  • "branch manager(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      More than a financial institution

      Nov 16, 2020 - Community Engagement Officer in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Apple Federal Credit Union is an organization that values its employees and gives back to the community. The leadership knows that in order to accomplish great things, employees need to feel a sense of belonging, appreciation and value. It's hard to please a group of people (much less 450!) but our leadership has regular listening sessions and town halls to keep staff feedback and ideas fresh. In addition to prioritizing the satisfaction of our employees, Apple prioritizes giving back to the community. Employees have paid time off to volunteer and Apple partners with many groups and events throughout the year. Apple is truly a great place to work.

      Cons

      No organization can be perfect. The biggest "con" I can see is that Apple has been around for over 60 years and has grown exponentially since it started so long ago. Sometimes systems, processes and communication chains can be clunky and create unnecessary friction when it comes to getting a problem solved.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Apple Federal Credit Union Response

      AVP of People and Culture

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts on what working at Apple Federal Credit Union means to you. As a not-for-profit organization, we take pride in the communities in which we serve. We are constantly striving to improve our internal processes and communication to ensure our efforts to serve our staff and members is as efficient as possible. Thank you again for your thoughtful comments.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to work

      Jun 17, 2021 - Assistant Vice President 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, 401k, HSA. Good work-life balance.

      Cons

      Can not think about any Cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great job

      May 14, 2021 - Advisor in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome colleagues, understanding and engaging managers, fulfilling work, good benefits, great company culture, career stability.

      Cons

      N/A, I love it herem

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Apple Federal Credit Union Response

      AVP of People and Culture

      I am so happy you have had such a positive experience at Apple Federal Credit Union! Thank you for taking the time to highlight some of the areas that make us an award-winning organization.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company to work for, limited growth

      May 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Communication is very open. Changes to policy are told far in advance. Good PTO and sick leave policies

      Cons

      Limited opportunity for growth. Company prides itself on growth potential, but still the difficulty of getting promoted from one department to another is nearly impossible without prior experience.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Apple Federal Credit Union Response

      AVP of People and Culture

      Thank you very much for the candid feedback. Development of our staff is an ever evolving process at Apple FCU. To gain experience outside your current role, we encourage managers to allow job shadowing in other departments and to provide time for employees to take additional eLearning courses to gain knowledge about other roles. Please speak to your manager about cross-training opportunities and a member of our Talent Development team can assist you in creating an in-depth development plan for yourself.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      May 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Chantilly, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inclusive and diverse work environment. Excellent leadership team.

      Cons

      A little slow to change, but even that is getting better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Apple Federal Credit Union Response

      AVP of People and Culture

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience about Apple Federal Credit Union. We value diversity and inclusion and are always looking for ways improve. Thank you for all you do!

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company to Work for with an Even Better Team

      Mar 27, 2021 - Member Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent Team work Excellent Leadership Valuable skills and Resources at your disposal

      Cons

      Stress Very fast paced Environment Some Members tend to be rude to teller

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Apple Federal Credit Union Response

      AVP of People and Culture

      Thank you for your feedback! Great teamwork and leadership are key in any successful organization. If you need additional resources to assist you during high-volume periods, please ensure your manager is aware and any member of People and Culture can help provide guidance as well.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Mar 23, 2021 - Team Lead in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company provides very competitive pay, better than most financial institutions.

      Cons

      There should be more opportunities for growth.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Apple Federal Credit Union Response

      AVP of People and Culture

      I appreciate the time you took to provide your feedback and am pleased you have had a positive experience! Each year, we administer a confidential survey to measure employee engagement which includes open-ended questions geared towards feedback for managers. In addition, we encourage open communication with your leadership to help them identify areas for improvement within the department. If you have any specific issues to discuss, please feel free to reach out to me at kburke@applefcu.org.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Apple Fcu is awesome

      Feb 25, 2021 - Msr2 in Winchester, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a very welcoming environment

      Cons

      I honestly can’t think of any

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Apple Federal Credit Union Response

      AVP of People and Culture

      Thank you for the kind words and we are happy that you feel welcome at Apple FCU! We agree that communication is key are continually looking for new ways to connect with employees.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good company, awful management

      Mar 5, 2021 - Loan Advisor in Oakton, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Yearly bonus pay, fun activities

      Cons

      Management, favoritism, too much micro management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Apple Federal Credit Union Response

      AVP of People and Culture

      Thank you for your candid feedback. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you about any particular issues you have had in the course of your employment. Please contact me at kburke@applefcu.org.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Feb 7, 2021 - Universal Banker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Vacation leave starts at 12 days + 2 personal days. Earn more the longer you stay Great people

      Cons

      Customer service is always a challenge

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Apple Federal Credit Union Response

      AVP of People and Culture

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Apple FCU! In addition to our vacation and personal days, we also offer up to 16 hours of volunteering leave to eligible employees.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 96 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Apple Federal Credit Union Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Apple Federal Credit Union? Share Your Experiences

    Apple Federal Credit Union logo
    or