Applebee's Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Applebee's Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
20%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Applebee's President John Cywinski (no image)
John Cywinski
1 Rating
  1. "Applebee’s- RMH Franchise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I can call on my GM, DO or RVP at anytime. It really makes a difference when you can feel your value as a person to another person. They listen to what you have to say and truly care about us as people but business is business and there’s still a job to do and numbers to meet.

    Cons

    Of course, crazy schedule. I wish we could go more set but I get that the industry doesn’t really allow it.

    Advice to Management

    Bust. Your. Butt.

    Applebee's2018-03-01
  2. "Difficult work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time

    Pros

    Profit sharing program. One free meal a shift.

    Cons

    Dollar drinks of the month. Erratic schedule.

    Applebee's2019-09-25
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Decent job at best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Sioux City, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Closed early compared to other chain restaurants in the area.

    Cons

    Only received manager schedule weekly which was hard to plan around.

    Advice to Management

    Start a restaurant management career their but definitely do not stay.

    Applebee's2019-10-06
  5. "Poor upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent salary Free meals Free Panera

    Cons

    Not a good work to home life balance

    Advice to Management

    Hire more managers so you don’t burn out the few you have left.

    Applebee's2019-08-04
  6. "They need to follow their Mission Statements."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Albany, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They are solid in their business model. They have sound systems in place to provide excellent product and service.

    Cons

    Upper management needs to be consistent in following core beliefs that they insist staff to follow. It used to be a fun environment to work in but leadership made it drudgery.

    Advice to Management

    Be leaders not drill sergeants. Stop the “do as I say “ not “do as I do “!

    Applebee's2019-07-17
  7. "Pretty decent job decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Walla Walla, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay is good compared to other employers. D. Promote from with in is a strong point here.

    Cons

    Quality of life is one down side but that goes for the restaurant industry as a whole.

    Applebee's2019-06-07
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I worked at Applebee's full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment for most part

    Cons

    Hours, holidays are long and stressful

    Advice to Management

    Holidays

    Applebee's2019-06-06
  9. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and good food.

    Cons

    Bad work/life balance. Selfish upper management.

    Applebee's2019-03-04
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It’s better than being unemployed sometimes.

    Cons

    Pay is terrible- instead of salary you are hourly so you’re working for like 14/hr until you hit 40 hours then you get 10 of overtime. No flexibility in “hitting” your hours or your paycheck takes a hit. Way too many tasks but labor budgets are set so low the managers have to do everything, even at busy stores. No quality of life, no sleep between shifts, you need to ask for days off over a month in advance. They keep making our benefits worse but more expensive. Upper management pretends to care but you are just a number to them. You can work your butt off until it makes you physically sick and you’re still overlooked. Profit share is over promised and under delivered. Store budgets set up management team for failure because Applebees is cheap. You give your entire life to them and get nothing in return. Advancing used to be easy but now they are closing stores so GM and Area Director positions never open up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the people who take care of your business. Enough with the audit stress, just let your employees run your stores.

    Applebee's2018-08-16
  11. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in Ukiah, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff is friendly. Free meals.

    Cons

    10+ hour days. Poor work to life ratio.

    Advice to Management

    Area directors need to train and develop their management. Poor examples of higher ups.

    Applebee's2018-03-15
Found 81 reviews