Applebee's Bartender Reviews | Glassdoor

Applebee's Bartender Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Applebee's President John Cywinski (no image)
John Cywinski
11 Ratings
  1. "22years of service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Anderson, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule fun atmosphere great managers

    Cons

    Lazy employees sometimes you're forgotten to be added to schedule after time requested off

    Applebee's2019-12-03
  2. "3 stars!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applebees Bartender/Neighborhood Expert Server in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is an Applebee’s everywhere! Which is why I’ve stayed so long. All the places I’ve lived I had a job right away because there has been an Applebee’s close by! Decent money Steady

    Cons

    Every store is ran differently. Management really can make or break work. I’ve worked at great ones and bad ones!

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent

    Applebee's2020-01-17
  3. "Former FOH employee."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The scheduling is almost always flexible. It's easy to go to school, work another job, or have kids and work around those things. The menu has slight changes often, but at its core remains the same and easy to remember.

    Cons

    There seems to be a revolving door of management. Whether they don't last long in the company, or are being shuffled from store to store, you never get to really experience a good team with a solid leader.

    Advice to Management

    Put more effort in training for retention. If you treat your employees well, they WILL work for you. But you have to gain a rapport with your staff, and it helps when area directors don't shuffle their managers every 6 months.

    Applebee's2019-11-09
  4. "Both good and bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in New York, NY

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, team-focused environment. A great place to have fun at work.

    Cons

    Basic restaurant con's -long hours -low server salary Etc. Etc.

    Advice to Management

    Get on the same page.

    Applebee's2019-11-22
  5. "Good opportunities to grow in the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender/Server in Hialeah, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being a bartender my tips increase 50% more! It was awesome. They give me the opportunity to learn about the bar with no experience.

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to be on top of management if you want to do more stuff.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Applebee's2019-11-05
  6. "Love customers hate company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, off Christmas and Thanksgiving

    Cons

    No benefits, Bad management, unorganized

    Advice to Management

    Care about your Employees and not just about your Bonuses

    Applebee's2019-11-13
  7. "Think location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender 

    I worked at Applebee's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good money, depending on location & availability

    Cons

    Open late so you have to work long hours.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to reward earnest workers

    Applebee's2019-10-22
  8. "Get what you put into it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bartender in Portsmouth, NH

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Made good money and good atmosphere

    Cons

    No real incentives but you get what you put into it

    Applebee's2019-10-06
  9. "Pretty okay for a college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bartender 

    I worked at Applebee's part-time

    Pros

    decent pay very nice regulars usually free food

    Cons

    long shifts awful managers crazy staff/customers its okay to work there

    Applebee's2019-10-19
  10. "Flexible schedule with lots of new people and fast paced work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can make great money and great friends

    Cons

    On your feet without breaks

    Advice to Management

    When the situation arises, listen to both sides of a story before jumping to conclusions!

    Applebee's2019-09-07
Found 230 reviews