Applebee's Kitchen Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Applebee's Kitchen Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Applebee's President John Cywinski (no image)
John Cywinski
3 Ratings
  1. "Management and new hire trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Gallup, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I loved training new hire to see what kind of ethic they could bring as well as how great they work in high volume areas

    Cons

    When youre employees don't show up for work

    Advice to Management

    Easy to see if they will make it after the first week

    Applebee's2019-09-09
  2. "A tight knit company that looks out for it's hard working managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Suffolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great, understanding leadership, clear expectations

    Cons

    Long shifts, late nights, high stress.

    Advice to Management

    Broaden the range of hiring pools

    Applebee's2019-08-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Applebee's management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay, monthly bonuses, quality of life.

    Cons

    Employee turnover rate. Late hours

    Applebee's2019-07-13
  4. "Lots of Physical Labor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many locations and Monthly bonus

    Cons

    Erratic Upper Management, High Manager turnover

    Applebee's2019-07-19
  5. "Applebees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time

    Pros

    Floating schedule, random weekdays off. Fun atmosphere most of the time.

    Cons

    Upper management not the greatest. Hours are long and physical.

    Applebee's2019-07-16
  6. "another company that's just ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    freindly staff, good work life balance

    Cons

    smelling like french fries all the time

    Advice to Management

    none

    Applebee's2019-05-01
  7. "Okay company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always able to move up quick

    Cons

    Work long hours and upper management get to sit back and relax

    Advice to Management

    Always opportunity

    Applebee's2019-03-22
  8. "Hostile work environment and inappropriate upper management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff and coworkers. Cores values maintain at restarant level.

    Cons

    Upper management too close to human resources and tend to get away with things. Complaints go nowhere. Area directors get away with being hostile and inappropriate with staff, bordering on a sexual harassment and hostile work envornment lawsuit!

    Advice to Management

    Care about your staff. Listen and act appropriately.

    Applebee's2019-03-15
  9. "It has its days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent systems and decent pay, free meals, monthly bonus.

    Cons

    Micromanaged, unrealistic labor and supply budgets, inconsistent communication at time, spend most slow days cooking by yourself and trying to manage the restaurant.

    Advice to Management

    Spend a little more money on labor and allow your managers to spend money to train employees.

    Applebee's2018-08-23
  10. "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Tallahassee, FL
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Eating for free. Until you get tired of it . vacations if you’re even approved which rarely happens. I got one of mine approved should of had three in the time I was there.

    Cons

    50 hours? More like 80. On salary you make less than min wage. Over half the menu is microwaved. You’re not managing you’re sending people home and doing their jobs to try and make labor. The gms open so get ready to close every shift. Should have had 3 vacations I got one. Anytime anyone goes on vacation you have to pick up their shifts. Upper management sucks. They don’t do anything to help.

    Advice to Management

    Be in the store more. Help out. Don’t just sit on your butt all day.

    Applebee's2018-04-14
Found 36 reviews