Applebee's Line Cook Reviews | Glassdoor

Applebee's Line Cook Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
47%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Applebee's President John Cywinski (no image)
John Cywinski
6 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep/Line Cook in Yucca Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff and management wonderful to work for

    Cons

    Night shift can do better. Like cooking things that they are out of and leave a clean area for.morning shift.

    Advice to Management

    I miss everyone and hope things are going great.

    Applebee's2019-04-27
  2. "Worth for stability, not for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time

    Pros

    Great management team, like family

    Cons

    Little room to move up

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the employees who do everything you ask of them and more, and not just the ones with tenure.

    Applebee's2019-10-07
  3. "Average corporate restaurant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, fairly consistent schedule, simple fast-paced work. Training available to learn all areas if you work for it.

    Cons

    No creativity allowed due to corporate menu and restrictions. Regional management upset if problems arise and assume we slack off if we dont meet numbers.

    Applebee's2020-01-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Employees seem to care more about the company than management!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Lafayette, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Set off days and guaranteed overtime if you want it if you are a worker and not a slacker.

    Cons

    No real benefits, no structure, no leadership, you can tell it's a company that doesn't really care about their workers because they can provide so much more for their employees but almost all franchise stores or restaurants care about is stuffing their pockets. ( this is my opinion others might see it different)

    Advice to Management

    Do take the job if you don't want to be a leader, you can not be friends with your employees because your so call friends are the slackers, actually pay people what they are worth. Also stop saying employees can not discuss pay rate with other employees because president Obama signed a bill that gives employees the right to discuss pay. You might want to say I or we advise you not to discuss pay rates with other employees because someone will eventually get upset.

    Show More
    Applebee's2019-11-05
  5. "Iron Bridge Plaza Applebee's.. DON'T work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Chester, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros to speak of

    Cons

    Unprofessional management and employees, heavy inconsistency, horrible work ethic from employees and managers, defective equipment, etc, etc

    Applebee's2019-11-27
  6. "Line cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook 

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Shift meal, coworkers, environment

    Cons

    Hot, no music in kitchen, scheduling

    Applebee's2019-08-28
  7. "Great place to work. Many hours if needed but don’t get too good. May be over worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and pay at the time

    Cons

    Time off needs to be increased

    Applebee's2019-08-22
  8. "Poor management. Hired as full time but only scheduled for 2 days."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep/Line Cook in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy work. Starting pay was better than most restaurants.

    Cons

    No days scheduled. Poor management

    Advice to Management

    Do bot post for hire ads for full and part time unless you are actually hiring for full time.

    Applebee's2019-09-24
  9. "Over worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Huber Heights, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of hours, 30 min lunch break

    Cons

    Unappreciated , overworked, favoritism, no room for advancement

    Applebee's2019-08-27
  10. "Management Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Canandaigua, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I like the people I work with sometimes.

    Cons

    Management turnover is insane. They lack people skills needed fora good leader and handle stress poorly.

    Advice to Management

    Promote within and spend more time developing your managers.

    Applebee's2019-08-27
Found 143 reviews