Applebee's Reviews | Glassdoor

Applebee's Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3323 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
John Cywinski
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours as the restaurant closes at midnight on weeknights(in 211 reviews)

  • "Menu changes frequently so it is hard to keep up, but they do let you try all(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep/Line Cook in Yucca Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The staff and management wonderful to work for

    Cons

    Night shift can do better. Like cooking things that they are out of and leave a clean area for.morning shift.

    Advice to Management

    I miss everyone and hope things are going great.

    Applebee's2019-04-27
  2. "Carside go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess/Carside to Go in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a grate environment

    Cons

    It was hard at first but it gotten better with the help of my managers

    Applebee's2019-05-17
  3. "Fun Place to Work, But You Have to Be Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Auburn, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Money is okay, we take our tips home every night. Pretty flexible hours for new people.

    Cons

    Managers can become dependent on you, lots of lazy new employees usually making you get their work done once you've worked there for a year or two.

    Advice to Management

    Keep track of employees that are slacking and make them do their work or the hardworking employees will resent you.

    Applebee's2019-05-23
  4. "Not fare servers pay host sal."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Hattiesburg, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment fun times family

    Cons

    Server work for their tips shouldn't have to pay host salary

    Applebee's2019-05-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Quality Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Somerdale, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Once you learn the menu, it's all downhill from there. Managers are always present and willing to discount guests when there are complaints. If there's a problem with the food, they are proactive in solving it. Granted, I work at one of the better locations but I enjoy it a lot and my coworkers are like family to me; I have a lot of fun most days that I work.

    Cons

    Weekdays are slow more often than not, so I strictly work Friday, Saturday, Sunday (it's cool that they've allowed me to do this after I had open availability at first). Customers aren't super expectant but sometimes people complain there isn't more variety in the food/drinks. Occasionally it gets extremely stressful if we don't go on a wait in time, but for the past several months I can only recall one or two instances...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Only critique is that they could be a little more open to employee feedback at times, but there isn't a ton to complain about (as long as you aren't looking at it through the lens of 5-star dining or something of the sort).

    Applebee's2019-05-14
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Union Gap, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Very solid franchise management company

    Cons

    Not much to criticize with company

    Advice to Management

    Busy nights and weekends. Management system will teach you every aspect of the business. You are responsible for Department results...plan your work and work your plan.

    Applebee's2019-05-16
  7. "It was very hectic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Applebee's

      Pros

      Discounts on food, you earn tips

      Cons

      Not enough pay, too much drama in workplace.

      Advice to Management

      Start giving drug tests to the employees!!

      Applebee's2019-05-16
    • "Best Restaurant to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Turnersville, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Flexible hours, Great Management, Great team environment

      Cons

      Lack of benefits, long hours, not always the best customer base.

      Applebee's2019-05-14
    • "No room for advancement. Overall a great experience."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Food Service Manager in Bossier City, LA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great social interaction experience. Learning experience for advancement in my career.

      Cons

      Management superiors lack recognition of management and employees.

      Advice to Management

      BOH and FOH communication is key.

      Applebee's2019-05-13
    • "Motivated by money, inspired by people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Prep/Line Cook/Dishwasher in Stockbridge, GA

      I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Easy going,fast paced atmosphere,fun people to work with

      Cons

      Poor communication,lack of good team player work,lots of complaining.

      Advice to Management

      Don't avoid confrontation,pay your employees for the hours they work,and instead of pushing off all the work that your not so good employees on the employees that have got your back,actually call them out and provide addequite consequences for those who don't pull thier own weight .

      Applebee's2019-05-24
    Found 3323 reviews