Applebee's Reviews | Glassdoor

Applebee's Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3533 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Applebee's CEO John Cywinski (no image)
John Cywinski
73 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Bad weather, traffic, long hours during peak season(in 215 reviews)

  • "Menu changes frequently so it is hard to keep up, but they do let you try all(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep/Line Cook in Yucca Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff and management wonderful to work for

    Cons

    Night shift can do better. Like cooking things that they are out of and leave a clean area for.morning shift.

    Advice to Management

    I miss everyone and hope things are going great.

    Applebee's2019-04-27
  2. "Management and new hire trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Gallup, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I loved training new hire to see what kind of ethic they could bring as well as how great they work in high volume areas

    Cons

    When youre employees don't show up for work

    Advice to Management

    Easy to see if they will make it after the first week

    Applebee's2019-09-09
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Marion, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Environment, employees, hour flexibility, easy to get days off

    Cons

    Customers, poor overall rules, uniform

    Applebee's2019-09-06
  4. "A decent place to make some tips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to learn the way a restaurant works and pretty consistent flow of customers

    Cons

    If you dont get good sections you wont make any money

    Applebee's2019-09-06
  5. "easy place to make tips/ friends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The atmosphere, the weekend rush, the people you meet.

    Cons

    MANAGEMENT MANAGEMENT M A N A G E M E N T. Favoritism is REAL when you're on the clock with certain managers, you don't really get a lunch break... like EVER... Management does not have your back, I hope they see this.

    Advice to Management

    Replace all of the current managers with people with more capability.

    Applebee's2019-09-04
  6. "Great experience for future opputunitev"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    works well with school schedules

    Cons

    your sales determine your what your work schedule will be like

    Applebee's2019-09-02
  7. "I Love Applebees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Car Side 

    I worked at Applebee's full-time

    Pros

    Staff become family in a way, the neighborhood is very well known and respected. Love the regulars. The customers are all so nice and engage with the staff. Fast paced especially the weekends. Fun environment.

    Cons

    I cant think of one!

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for everything

    Applebee's2019-09-01
  8. "Good for a little quick and easy money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess/Carside to Go in Flemington, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training is easy, job is pretty easy, coworkers tend to work as a team, management understands your job and are willing to help

    Cons

    Nobody thinks you rely on tips so you never get any, massive inconsistency in work flow you are either standing around doing nothing or running around like crazy, you are tasked with a lot and when a customer is told you will be there in less than 2 minutes it tends to be a bad situation

    Advice to Management

    Most management didn’t have this problem but some did. The paperwork in the office I’m sure is important but when I’m up to my neck in orders please help.

    Applebee's2019-09-01
  9. "Been there 7 years and love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Deltona, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can make pretty nice tips!

    Cons

    Co workers come and go constantly

    Applebee's2019-08-31
  10. "Vikki_sk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome team and management. Great working atmosphere

    Cons

    Can get really slow during summer time

    Applebee's2019-08-30
Found 3533 reviews