Applebee's "flexible schedule" Reviews | Glassdoor

Applebee's Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Applebee's President John Cywinski (no image)
John Cywinski
106 Ratings
  1. "Horrible managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress in Pittsburg, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, can make $20/hr+ on a good night

    Cons

    Manager who won’t schedule you if he doesn’t like you/aren’t who he wants the company to “look like.” You have to beg for more hours when others are working overtime

    Advice to Management

    Get better managers and do more employee reviews!!!

    Applebee's2019-08-11
  2. "Not a bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easygoing environment. Flexible schedule. Putting in more work results in more money.

    Cons

    Sometimes management is not qualified for their roles.

    Applebee's2019-06-25
  3. "Great place to work/ caring management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Applebee's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They make you part of the family, management truly cares for each individual employee and will bend over backwards for you if you've proven a dedicated employee, your work ethic and drive will certainly be noticed, flexible scheduling, fun environment, potential to earn a lot of money as a closer

    Cons

    I don't personally know of any

    Advice to Management

    Nothing at all. You guys were perfect don't change a thing.

    Applebee's2019-06-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, nice staff, benefits, busy area, participated in charity.

    Cons

    Overstaffed, low pay, tip outs, unfriendly customers, favoritism.

    Applebee's2019-06-26
  5. "Applebees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hourly Manager in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a flexible schedule for the most part.

    Cons

    The company allows hourly managers to be overworked.

    Applebee's2019-05-13
  6. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Applebee's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They offered me a flexible schedule

    Cons

    they could not provide me with enough hours

    Applebee's2019-05-12
  7. "5 Stars all around the board"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Manahawkin, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great managers, best job I've had, company truly takes care of their employees, they do offer benefits and a 401k plan.

    Cons

    As a server, your income is solely based off of tips. If people don't tip, you don't make any money. So the inconsistent in pay is really the only con but that comes with any serving job usually.

    Applebee's2019-04-15
  8. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1/2 off shifts meals, flexible schedule

    Cons

    To much side work, tip out too high

    Applebee's2019-04-22
  9. "Management May Need Some Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Middleburg, OH
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Applebee's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Decent tips Credit Card tips are given at the end of the shift not on paycheck

    Cons

    Crazy Management Fighting Staff When you get busy you crash and you crash hard.

    Advice to Management

    Please get the staff under control. The drama can be intense and BOH and FOH are constantly fighting. The hosts/hostesses and servers don't get along. Teamwork is a joke. May I also suggest some training on how not to treat your staff like dirt and how to handle when we are crashing? Maybe some bartenders that don't act like making drinks for the floor is the end of the world.

    Applebee's2019-03-28
  10. "Fine first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Host 

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time

    Pros

    Great people. Flexible scheduling. Great managers

    Cons

    Customers thinking they're always right. Inconsistent hours and pay. Poor hourly wage

    Advice to Management

    Pay hosts more and let servers keep the whole $5 a night in tips they have to split.

    Applebee's2019-03-05
Found 179 reviews