Applebee's "flexible schedule" Reviews | Glassdoor

Applebee's Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Applebee's President John Cywinski (no image)
John Cywinski
113 Ratings
  1. "Fine first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Host 

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time

    Pros

    Great people. Flexible scheduling. Great managers

    Cons

    Customers thinking they're always right. Inconsistent hours and pay. Poor hourly wage

    Advice to Management

    Pay hosts more and let servers keep the whole $5 a night in tips they have to split.

    Applebee's2019-03-05
  2. "Applebee's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - To Go Specialist 

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time

    Pros

    flexible schedule and decent management

    Cons

    not enough hours and under paid

    Applebee's2019-02-26
  3. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server 

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Good Tips Quick tables

    Cons

    Bad tippers Not so great food under staff

    Applebee's2019-01-25
  4. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule for anyone and benefits

    Cons

    Not sure yet but will update this if I have a con

    Applebee's2019-01-07
  5. "Fast Money Fast Food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great way to make fast cash, flexible schedule, just a basic restaurant to hustle up some cash and make ends meet. Your success is completley up to you.

    Cons

    it depends on what store you work in, what the enviroment and management is like. Most likley it will be a high school enviroment, lots of baby sitting and lazy people. Just focus on providing great service and you will be taken care of by your guest.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the people who are consistent and do their best everyday. Dont get full of pride and ego just because you have a manager power card. develop a strong staff and take pride in that instead.

    Applebee's2019-01-21
  6. "Decent for busy lifestyles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, get paid immediately

    Cons

    Long shifts . Rude guest. Variable pay

    Applebee's2019-01-16
  7. "OK place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server in Airmont, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Applebee's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible schedule -Short hours -50 % off on meals

    Cons

    -Management is biased -Not very busy ($60.00 on a Saturday was normal)

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to cut corners and treat all workers equally.

    Applebee's2018-12-24
  8. "It was what you'd expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Bartender in Clermont, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, easy money, high-volume, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Inconsistent income, not the best customers, long late hours.

    Applebee's2018-12-31
  9. "Good Company to Work for...Temporarily"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host in Redmond, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applebee's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, willing to work around school, other jobs. Decent managers

    Cons

    Corporate, top-down feeling and “money first” atmosphere.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication between managers and staff. Have monthly meetings or an ongoing group chat.

    Applebee's2018-12-28
  10. "It might have just been my restaurant, but it was terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Server in East York, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applebee's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible scheduling, easy to swap shifts

    Cons

    lack of training, rude customers, terribly slow kitchen staff, poorly managed restaurant, low tips

    Applebee's2019-01-04
Found 180 reviews