Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom Reviews | Glassdoor

Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Chuck Ewing
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "The job itself once I transitioned was good, if you have previous customer service experience or know the gist of appliances then you'll easily succeed(in 8 reviews)

  • "I have been working for Appliance factory and Mattress Kingdom for 18 years from 10 people employees to 500 employees(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management and ceo do not care about employees or turnover(in 7 reviews)

  • "Chuck Ewing (CEO) was hands down the worst CEO of all time(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Used Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Thornton, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The experience working at Appliance Factory under the title of Used Store Manager was well beyond excellent. As my first title as 'manager' the transition from training to running a store was very fast paced and an easy quick transition. Everyone in the management team I worked with directly was very respectful and helpful with my transition. My co-workers were also very helpful with the understanding of the position's...

    Show More

    Cons

    While under employment I personally did not experience anything worth saying negative about. If you begin your day negative your day is negative, if you start your day positive , you might just have a brighter day!~ Y.V

    Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom 2018-04-24
  2. "Proceed with cation !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good if you like very high pressure sales.

    Cons

    Low commissions from the company. You get paid mostly in spiff cards from the brands. They don't take out taxes so you have to pay them at the end of the year.

    Advice to Management

    Won't matter they wont listen

    Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom 2019-04-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worst CEO of all time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Okay people to work with.

    Cons

    Chuck Ewing (CEO) was hands down the worst CEO of all time. He belittles people, the entire mood and morale changes when he walks in the room, he'll make fun of you, he won't speak to you face to face most of the time but will give you a recorded tape for you to play that makes you feel terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Stand up to Chuck, there's power in numbers.

    Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom 2019-02-27
  4. "Terrible place to work. management doesnt care about you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager Trainee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    coworkers were cool and fun to work with.

    Cons

    - you're just a number here - management doesn't care about you or your well being - hurt on the job? doesn't matter, you keep working - dead end job - no chance for growth

    Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom 2019-02-14
  5. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom full-time

    Pros

    Can make decent money if your good at sales.

    Cons

    The culture and management of the company. Unethical and uncaring.

    Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom 2018-10-29
  6. "Its good if you need the money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity for good pay and it's physical so you won't need to work out

    Cons

    Way too many hours and the commission averages out to a very low hourly rate after all the hours. High turn over rate so people are constantly having to pick up slack for others. Big paychecks make it seem worth it but its not

    Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom 2018-08-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "LMAO!!! So sad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You really do work with some nice people who are in your same situation

    Cons

    The “2” reviews of recent are posted by the company lol. Their goal is to make you think all the bad reviews are really good since they can’t get their score above a 3. Their thought process is “if you can’t beat them in stars, join them”. So they rate themselves a 2 and make the comments good that way people don’t put credence in the star ratings and foolishly accept the job.

    Advice to Management

    It doesn’t matter

    Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom 2018-08-23
  8. "Employees are Mean and manager laughed at me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Dock Worker in Colorado Springs, CO

      I have been working at Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Benefits, pay, structure, sometimes fun, when I am not the butt of the jokes

      Cons

      being laughed at , and made fun of

      Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom 2018-07-19
    • "I Absolutely loved working here but had to move states CO too expensive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Benefits, people, satisfaction, support, great environment, great pay

      Cons

      Cost of living in CO, gas prices, family far away

      Advice to Management

      I had the best job and had to leave because Colorado is way too expensive for me to pay this much to live. I know this company is expanding their business out East, I just hope it will stretch to the west too. Because Arizona is where I will be and I would be grateful to work for this company out there.

      Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom 2018-07-18
    • "Afraid of heights and as a dock employee I was to be in the cherry picker all day-Problem Solved"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Dock Worker/Fork Lift in Thornton, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      benefits, money, recognition, and their leadership, problem solving, and tons of support

      Cons

      120 feet up in air,

      Advice to Management

      I was a dock employee and had to pull product down for customer pick ups. Well I was always so afraid of heights it is my worst fear. They had me in the Cherry Picker and I couldn't take it any more I thought I was going to have a heart attack from panicking. They offered to switch me to delivery, however I am without a license for the next few months. The management team worked with me and now I am in their tech...

      Show More
      Appliance Factory & Mattress Kingdom 2018-07-10
    Found 62 reviews