Applied Behavior Consultants Reviews | Glassdoor

Applied Behavior Consultants Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Applied Behavior Consultants CEO Joseph Morrow, Ph.D (no image)
Joseph Morrow, Ph.D
16 Ratings
  1. "Behavior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Applied Behavior Consultants full-time

    Pros

    Learn a lot at this company

    Cons

    Salary is not as competitive as others

    Applied Behavior Consultants2018-05-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Behavior Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Behavior Therapist in Concord, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Behavior Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    They reached out to me regarding taking a position as a Behavior Therapist with their company. I have had 1 & 1/2 years of experience in the ABA field. Unfortunately after my phone interview with Zach I realized that this company would not be a good fit for me. He was very condescending and rude, asking me very private questions about the specific details of the exact programs(not general, asking the data and... process of each trial) I've run with my clients(not to mention their ages and levels of severity) in the past and the compensation I've received from the companies I've worked with. He asked me belittling questions about whether I knew what behavior is or if I didn't understand the principles of ABA. My resume speaks for itself so this interview only confirms the already negative reviews this company already has.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you'd like better retention when hiring new BT's, train your interviewers better. Any manager with common sense would know not to be rude or condescending to a prospective employee.

    Applied Behavior Consultants2018-04-20
  3. "Beware of the trainers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lancaster, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Behavior Consultants part-time

    Pros

    Non that I can think of!!!

    Cons

    Trainers will belittle you in front of clients and be rude and disrespectful to you tell you that your not doing anything right loadly and repeatedly through out training. The want you to fail instead of help you succeed. Even had a trainer peel out when leaving and almost run me over while kicking up.dort all over me. Then when you try and talk to the supervisor she gives no help.and talks behind your back. I had... anxiety the entire time I .worked there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the complaints and try to fix them rater than get rid of the ones who complain.

    Applied Behavior Consultants2018-03-01
  4. "Good starting point for ABA, but don't expect much work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Trainer in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Behavior Consultants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They give great training and support. They will help you get and maintain your RBT credential. A great way to get started in ABA

    Cons

    Their pay is not competitive. They also play favorites and fast track some employees for promotion while not moving other up at all, regardless of education or experience. Too much emphasis on billable hours and not nearly enough on work-life balance for their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Work-life balance is important for this field since it is so easy to get burnt out. Competitive pay is a must for this competitive field.

    Applied Behavior Consultants2018-01-24
  5. "ABC has an employee and client centered culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Behavior Consultants full-time

    Pros

    There is lots of training. Family environment. The staff are highly knowledgeable and willing to help. People that work there care about the clients and how they interface with world.

    Cons

    There are no cons. There are no cons. There are no cons. There are no cons. There are no cons. There are no cons.

    Advice to Management

    None to share at this time.

    Applied Behavior Consultants2017-09-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Entry Position Only - Walnut Creek Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Behavior Therapist in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Behavior Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They provide free training and RBT certification (to some employees) and supervisors are generally nice, though in a disingenuous manner, if you do as they say. It's a solid entry level position to get your foot in the door since they only really require some form of psychology coursework and experience with kids. I've definitely seen some BTs come through that were just not the right fit for the job, however.

    Cons

    Supervisors are catty and moody - the Walnut Creek location isn't very organized and they lost a lot of consultants/BTs and was running with only two people as case managers/consultants and no director for at least a year. Majority of consultants are not BCBA certified, which is a bit of a downgrade from other companies. The center based location that was set up in the last year started offering services without... having rules/regulations/structure and it was glaringly clear to both employees and families. Rules were constantly bent and rewritten to benefit supervisors. There's a weird "company vs families" culture and parent concerns are typically belittled because they only have "interfering thoughts." Not the best clinical work - supervisors will pack schedules with 5-7 hour long sessions with only 5 lessons to work on - BTs and the kids get drained, it's just not clinically effective and a waste of time - pretty much squeezing family's insurance for every bit of money they can get out of them. Favorites are definitely played.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be kind and work with the families as a team - it's not just the kids that are working hard to improve their quality of life.

    Applied Behavior Consultants2017-06-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wouldn't recommend this company, better companies out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RBT in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Behavior Consultants for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with the kids are great

    Cons

    management and no stability with hours

    Applied Behavior Consultants2017-06-03
  8. "Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Applied Behavior Consultants part-time

    Pros

    Great entry level position. Staff are dedicated to the children they serve. Flexible schedule!

    Cons

    Low pay for bachelor level college graduate.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more training opportunities for staff.

    Applied Behavior Consultants2017-03-24
  9. "inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Utility Inspector in Booneville, AR

    I worked at Applied Behavior Consultants for less than a year

    Pros

    good company to work for great benefits

    Cons

    don't have enough work for all year

    Applied Behavior Consultants2016-02-12
  10. "Great Firm!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Associate in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Applied Behavior Consultants part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great hours, CEO works with staff, care about clients

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Applied Behavior Consultants2016-02-10
Found 40 reviews