Applied Information Sciences Reviews | Glassdoor

Applied Information Sciences Reviews

Updated July 1, 2017
69 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Fred Elleman
46 Ratings

69 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Don't regret my decision at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Infrastructure Engineer in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Senior Infrastructure Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Where do I start? I have been impressed every step of the way since joining this company. Sure, there are areas in which they can improve, but for a company with the growth that has occurred, they are above the standard. First of all, the recruiting team is one of the best and brightest that I have ever worked with. They were there every step of the way and providing valuable information. Other items of note are below:
    - AWESOME onboarding process
    - I've worked with some very good teams, and this is probably the best and brightest group of people I have ever worked with in IT.
    - Great leadership vision for future growth
    - Have adapted to the changing technologies and cloud focused.
    - They want you certified and will encourage and pay for it.
    To sum it all up, I have been impressed by every step of my journey since joining the company and look forward to what the future holds.

    Cons

    The one con, which is commonplace amongst Federal contracting companies is that much of the work is contract based. In saying that, the company has a great talent management team that works tirelessly to make sure employees stay competitive and can be placed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!!

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Jun 5, 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for the positive feedback! We’re glad to hear that our overall candidate experience has been a positive one and has transferred into a positive employee experience. We are... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Reston, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Reston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Food and beer in the office. Random team events are fun. Flexible work schedule. Employees are nice and fun.

    Cons

    Lay offs are becoming common. The new leadership team is not good at all. They have a hard time seeing the full picture and being inclusive. The company is going through some major client problems. If you want stability or understanding from management, this is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring if you are going to lay off.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Jul 11, 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for your review and your appreciation for our work hard, play hard culture. As a company we want to ensure that we provide our employees with an engaging environment, a solid... More

  3. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with cutting edge technologies.

    Cons

    Voice can get lost if assigned to a large client.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure feedback is heard, at all levels.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    May 16, 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for the feedback - this is highly appreciated! We continue to improve our communication efforts among all of our employees and have utilized the past several months to elicit and... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great benefits, horrible senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and nice work/life balance.

    Cons

    After "restructuring" the company has gone way downhill. Senior management needs to focus on being leaders rather than degrading people. It is sad to see what was once a great company be ruined by idiots. They are doing layoffs every year now and are not offering severance packages.

    Advice to Management

    Try inspiring your employees rather than degrading them. This is not the same company it was 3 years ago. Fred is no longer the CEO

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    May 30, 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that your experience at AIS did not match our intentions. As a company we are committed to creating a transparent and collaborative environment for all our... More


  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Reston, VA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They really care about their employees.

    Cons

    I do not see any cons at this point in my career here.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Apr 28, 2017 – Talent Manager

    We appreciate the review!


  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Good trainings and good technology

    Cons

    None I know of currently

    Advice to Management

    Nothing specific at present

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thanks for the feedback!


  7. "Outstanding Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I love the fact that this is a veteran owned company. I love how we have such a diverse group of people here to work with that bring so many different knowledge sets to the table. Basically I don't how in the world I could've found a better job right out of the gate just having retired from Active Federal Service.

    Cons

    Although there is always room for improvement, I cant think of a "Con" right now.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Jan 31, 2017

    Thanks so much for the glowing review! We appreciate the insight into our culture and glad that you're enjoying your tenure here!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Customer Engagement Manager in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - IT Customer Engagement Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent company that treats employees like family. Very responsive offices (e.g. HR, IT, etc.)

    Cons

    Smaller in scale so some opportunities for upward movement limited but overall, an excellent company.

    Advice to Management

    Continue Forward!!!

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Oct 31, 2016

    We appreciate the honest feedback! We hope that the changes we've made and continue to make will improve the overall environment and culture of our company.


  9. Helpful (3)

    "OK for what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    If you're a long time employee you will love it since you have grown up with company - if you're new you will feel "out of the loop" - not really interested in expanding or bringing in new folks.

    Cons

    Lots of long time employees (10 years plus) with little process makes it hard to get anything done if you're new and don't know "how things have always been done." Want to grow but unwilling to implement processes for growth.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Oct 23, 2016

    Thanks so much for the feedback!

    We have experienced growing pains as we expand our footprint and recognize our processes need some fine tuning. To accommodate our growth, over the past... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Columbia, MD
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Collaborative, positive learning and working environment.
    Accessible leadership
    Friendly HR and administration staff
    Strong benefits
    Good fringe benefits, events

    Cons

    Not much to complain about.
    Most things I didn't like were taste, not genuine flaws.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Aug 3, 2016

    Thank you for your feedback. We at AIS are continuously striving to enhance our work environment and corporate culture based on the feedback of our employees.


Showing 69 of 69 reviews
Reset Filters