Applied Information Sciences Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
89%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Applied Information Sciences CEO Fred Elleman (no image)
Fred Elleman
68 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They will tell you about work from Home and Latest Technology, but with my Exp(in 4 reviews)

  • "When you are happy from your bottom of the heart, its very hard to find cons(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, flexible working schedule, lots of training opportunity, no micro-management

    Cons

    so far none as I can think of

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company so far!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary Pretty good health benefits for industry ESOP is a nice benefit for long term employees

    Cons

    It would be great to update the travel/expense portal. Something like concur would be beneficial for traveling and ease of use. Letting employees have their travel cards on file is a nice little perk. The 401k vesting period is long especially for consulting Need paternity leave although it sounds like that is on the radar!

    Continue reading
  3. "Good company with growing pains"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Very engaging culture with good tenure

    Cons

    Like many smaller companies trying to expand, internal resources can become collateral damage

  4. "13 years and still loving it!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Leader in many areas of IT, diverse portfolio including many private companies and public organizations, excellent services, strong reputation among clients, company you can be proud of, on the cutting edge, known by clients as not just a contractor company but thought leader, great pay and benefits, management that cares, strong growth, very close partnership with Microsoft, cloud agnostic (AWS Azure, etc.), supportive structure, internal opportunities for growth

    Cons

    High cost compared to other contractors. Lose bids due to our high cost, but clients come to know that's because AIS presents true cost upfront, and this builds trust.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    February 5, 2020Director

    Thanks for your dedicated service. Please let us know how we can improve!

  5. "I have been working for AIS for 3 years"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Engineer in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great place to be, colleagues are driven, want to help, want to succeed as a team. For a relatively small company this one has a proper plan for growth, demonstrating mature thinking that will scale as the company grows. Great benefits, great environment. Snacks in the morning and at noon.

    Cons

    None what so ever for the three years i have been working there

    Continue reading

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    February 5, 2020Director

    Thanks for your review - we really appreciate it! Always reach out if you see areas for improvement!

  6. "Awesome Company!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sharepoint Developer in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company ethics seems to be employee first, mission always. They take great care in investing in their employees. They show by actions that their when their employees get better the company gets better.

    Cons

    I have no Cons for this company

    Continue reading

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    February 5, 2020Director

    Thanks for being a part of the team! Let us know how we can improve!

  7. "AIS has helped me to further my career and learn about Microsoft Azure."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Support Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to Microsoft Azure and the ability to further explore tools within the product

    Cons

    Ability to get some of my ideas across to direct manager

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    December 19, 2019Director

    Thanks for your feedback! It is our hope that you will continue to gain cutting edge experience. Please reach out to Talent Management if you would like to explore ways to mitigate the con you shared.

  8. "Love the company and job!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The vibe at this company is lovely and it is a joy to come to work daily. The new office space in Reston is beautiful and stocked with snacks, drinks, and often lunch leftovers from something that was hosted here (like a training or boot camp). The opportunity to grow at this company is massive, and the work is very interesting. Management is down to earth and the outlook for the company looks great. I would definitely recommend (and have!) my network to apply here.

    Cons

    No maternity / paternity leave. It takes a long time for your 401K to vest (5+ years for full vesting). The 401K match is the minimum that retirement plans contribute just by being a member (3%).

    Continue reading

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    December 19, 2019Director

    Great feedback - thanks for sharing! Parental leave is a topic of discussion as we want to offer compelling benefits to all of our employees. Please continue to provide this type of feedback with our internal channels as well.

  9. "Business Analyst at AIS"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great group of people, very positive work ethic and environment

    Cons

    Poor SLT communication. Leadership needs to better communicate with its employees.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    December 19, 2019Director

    Thanks for the feedback! We are working on our communication. We understand how important it is and are looking for ways to improve.

  10. "A Great company that keeps getting better"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work place full of personality and life. A growing company that reminds all employees they matter and have a place to be heard. Offers value beyond your just work.

    Cons

    Been here for over 11 years and can't find any to post.

    Continue reading

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    October 27, 2019Talent Manager

    Thank you for the excellent feedback! We're incredibly proud of what we have been able to build with our AIS family. As we continue to grow, we're passionate about preserving this culture and our open communication while ensuring our employees maintain their autonomy.

Found 100 reviews