Applied Information Sciences Reviews | Glassdoor

Applied Information Sciences Reviews

Updated February 13, 2019
79 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Fred Elleman
55 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Good pay packages with nice work life balance" (in 13 reviews)

  • "Don't see any pros as there won't except the flexible Work from Home option" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "When you are happy from your bottom of the heart, its very hard to find cons" (in 4 reviews)

  • "The job security here is dam low" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer
    Current Employee - Software Engineer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    This is a good company. The company culture is of fairness and opportunity to grow. I have the sense I work among very smart, innovative coworkers who make my work more interesting and keep us all more productive as a team. I look forward to my work every day.

    Cons

    Some of the senior employees who will be retiring in coming years will be missed. But they are training their subordinates to carry on the engaging and successful company philosophy.


  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Owner in Reston, VA
    Former Employee - Product Owner in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Management is very informed, great benefits

    Cons

    Most contracts are with DOD, commute to DC

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you doing

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Jan 19, 2019 – Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for the review! We greatly appreciate it.

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Buzzwords trump a quality solution."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Reston, VA
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Reston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free snacks and drinks, occasional outings to baseball games. The salary was decent, but the raises are not much even with a good review. Parking expenses are paid for. Really good work, life balance.

    The location is very nice, right near Reston Town Center and the W&OD Trail by the Metro. Office is nice if you like to live in a cube.

    Cons

    The organizational structure is not clearly defined or articulated, and management will always have some sort of justification for any concerns. It is very difficult to raise any concerns to management without being deemed a problem child.

    Everyone in the office keeps to themselves, you can walk past upper management folks for years without them actually knowing who you are. There is no guidance or room for growth, as management is constantly fixated on delivering a "minimum viable product" as quickly as possible despite having not defined what that is.

    Aside from the chosen couple software engineers, management ignores the input of the development team. Management encourages poor coding practices in order to deliver a minimum viable product in as little time as possible. You will largely be looked down upon by management as just a code monkey.

    Some in upper management are very snobby, one colleague was told directly that they do not earn enough for their concerns to be valid.

    Business Analysts frequently spend entire days in meetings, and probably spend most of the work week in meetings. Many Business Analysts claim to have been software developers in order that they can push more rigorous deadlines or squeeze more "stories" into a sprint. They have likely never written any decent software, but will insert themselves into technical meetings and pressure teams to follow their guidance.

    Working on that laptop is infuriating; I cannot count how many times any given developer was driven to rage because of it. Helpdesk consistently asserts there are driver issues, only to take the laptop and return it with the same exact issue. Ultimately you will stop bothering Helpdesk about it because they offer no solution and you'll end up spending the day trying to fix the garbage laptop. If you want a new laptop, you will have to spend your own money to get a new one.

    Any effort you put into a project will go unnoticed outside the couple engineers you work with. Management will only meet any input you may have about a project with resistance unless you get one of their favorite engineers to back you up. Best-practice frequently is thrown out the window.

    You may end up working on the same technologies for a very long time. When the time comes to upgrade, management will likely not want to put the effort into properly updating a solution forcing the team to piecemeal it into a new environment.

    Because management pushes poorly engineered minimum viable products, a lot of time is spent fixing it. Management either does not understand it takes more effort to fix a poor solution than to put one together right from the start and maintain it, or they like the idea because customers are then stuck paying to have it fixed. Either way it is very discouraging, but any concerns are shrugged off and you will be silenced.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage people to give feedback, and actually address their concerns. The fact that people have used those horrible laptops for over two years and it has been a consistent issue shows how much you actually value people's time.

    Value the input of development teams and try getting more input directly from them. Business Analysts frequently embellish reality or do not grasp the technical aspects of a solution.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Oct 16, 2018 – Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for the insight. As the company evolves, we're looking to better define/articulate how we structure the organization, how to better provide/receive communication to/from our workforce... More


  4. "Very Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    This company provides the benefits to work in latest technologies.

    Cons

    Keep up the good work.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Jan 2, 2018 – Talent Associate

    We appreciate the review!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Managing Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Business model and employee ownership attracts and retains great people. Focus on leading technology and personnel professional development investment. Heavily invested for growth.

    Cons

    We need more people but they are hard to find so we have to build them. This is expensive and time consuming.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the professional development and growth investments. Look to grow in new areas. Stay focused on emerging technologies and the cloud.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Talent Associate

    Thanks so much for the positive feedback – we greatly appreciate it! As a company, we completely understand how difficult it can be to hire experienced professionals, especially with the new... More


  6. Helpful (6)

    "Honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Reston, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Reston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Food and beer in the office. Random team events are fun. Flexible work schedule. Employees are nice and fun.

    Cons

    Lay offs are becoming common. The new leadership team is not good at all. They have a hard time seeing the full picture and being inclusive. The company is going through some major client problems. If you want stability or understanding from management, this is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring if you are going to lay off.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Jul 11, 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for your review and your appreciation for our work hard, play hard culture. As a company we want to ensure that we provide our employees with an engaging environment, a solid... More


  7. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with cutting edge technologies.

    Cons

    Voice can get lost if assigned to a large client.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure feedback is heard, at all levels.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    May 16, 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for the feedback - this is highly appreciated! We continue to improve our communication efforts among all of our employees and have utilized the past several months to elicit and... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great benefits, horrible senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and nice work/life balance.

    Cons

    After "restructuring" the company has gone way downhill. Senior management needs to focus on being leaders rather than degrading people. It is sad to see what was once a great company be ruined by idiots. They are doing layoffs every year now and are not offering severance packages.

    Advice to Management

    Try inspiring your employees rather than degrading them. This is not the same company it was 3 years ago. Fred is no longer the CEO

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    May 30, 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that your experience at AIS did not match our intentions. As a company we are committed to creating a transparent and collaborative environment for all our... More


  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Reston, VA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They really care about their employees.

    Cons

    I do not see any cons at this point in my career here.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Apr 28, 2017 – Talent Manager

    We appreciate the review!


  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Good trainings and good technology

    Cons

    None I know of currently

    Advice to Management

    Nothing specific at present

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thanks for the feedback!