KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Applied Information Sciences

Engaged Employer

Applied Information Sciences

Add a Review

Applied Information Sciences Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Applied Information Sciences CEO Fred Elleman (no image)
Fred Elleman
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is another thing that I am so happy about(in 22 reviews)

  • "work from home facility ,food ,perks(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "When you are happy from your bottom of the heart, its very hard to find cons(in 4 reviews)

  • "More structure on career growth(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      .

      Apr 26, 2021 - Cloud Security Engineer in Reston, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great job and great opportunities.

      Cons

      There are no negatives to report.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Employee Focused Company!

      Apr 25, 2021 - Security Engineer in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, Culture, Pay, Work/Life Balance, Onboarding

      Cons

      None yet! This place has been a dream!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fun place to work

      Apr 19, 2021 - Infrastructure Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun to work there at.

      Cons

      Need to let people change projects

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Applied Information Sciences Response

      Director

      Thanks for your review. Changing projects and rotation is extremely important; it benefits our employees, our clients, and ultimately our company. It can be difficult, but we will continue to work on it and put structure around how it happens.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best company culture

      Mar 17, 2021 - Information Technology 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/ life balance, being heard/ valued by upper management, contributing to exciting work

      Cons

      at the mercy of the client when it comes to certain consulting work

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Applied Information Sciences Response

      Director

      Thanks for your review. We want to improve and will continue investing in the experience of our employees. Thanks for your contributions!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Love working for AIS

      Feb 26, 2021 - Solution Specialist in Reston, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been with AIS for a little over a year. It's an amazing company with great people. If you work with Microsoft products/services, you should seriously consider coming to work for us.

      Cons

      I can't think of anything.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Applied Information Sciences Response

      Director

      Thanks for your review! We hope you continue to feel challenged and see growth opportunities!

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Beware

      Feb 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fully remote even after covid

      Cons

      They make you fill out your benefit enrollment forms on your own time before you start, which is unethical. Do not accept a job offer unless the client interviews you. If you are given a contingent offer upon client approval and you have not interviewed with the client, do not accept it. AIS is beholden to their clients so they will let the client reneg on their no-interview acceptance. Then the client can boot you off the project after AIS gives them free reign to change their mind about interviewing you. If AIS doesn't have another project suitable for you, you will find yourself out of a job less than a month after you started. This is what happened to me.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Friendly, challenging, and supportive environment

      Jan 12, 2021 - Junior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with, challenging work, engaging management to support goals and aspirations for growth, flexible for in office hours vs remote work, positive demeanor all around.

      Cons

      none really come to mind, maybe a better 401k match/faster vesting. Only main "concern" is format for consulting/skill levels. Could use a refresher/more clear how it ties to compensation/titles. Other than that no outstanding complaints come to mind!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great fulfilling experience

      Mar 8, 2021 - Module Lead in Reston, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people with mind-blowing skills sets

      Cons

      None that effects your work

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Applied Information Sciences Response

      Director

      Thanks for your review! Please let us know if there are ways we can improve your experience as an employee!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good place for a long term career

      Jan 4, 2021 - Principal Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a company that aims to keep you for the long term. They have good pay and benefits. Any work beyond 40 hours a week is optional and paid on top of salary. The health care plan is great.

      Cons

      None come to my mind.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Waiting For The Other Shoe To Drop

      Sep 20, 2020 - Cloud Operations Engineer in Haymarket, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been employed at AIS for about 6 months now. I didn't want to write a review to quickly as I wanted to let things settle so I could get a good feel for the company. When I first started it was like drinking from a firehose. I was coming from the AWS Cloud world and AIS works a lot with Azure. I spent weekdays/weekends studying and doing my best to get up to speed as fast as I could with Azure. I had to make a very quick turn to the Azure side and that meant a lot of reading and studying! I was given all the tools I needed to get up to speed on Azure. The key here is, I was not told WHAT to learn. I was simply given the tools to start my journey in the Azure world. I was trusted, from the get-go, to be a professional and learn on my own. My first assignment was with a large corporation. I was tasked with learning and producing code in languages I had only dipped my toe in before. I was scared to death but excited to learn. The Team I was on was led by three people who were patient, yet firm, and some of the smartest Engineers I had ever had the pleasure to work with. I was expected to produce but was helped along the way when I got stuck. When the project was complete three months later, I thought back to where I started with the project and where I was now. In just those short few months, it was incredible how much I had learned in such a short period of time. I was hooked. I have been in IT for 26+ years. I have worked for some of the largest IT companies on planet earth. I have worked everything from helpdesk to mainframes and heald just about every job title in-between. However, I have never truly "learned" more in such a short period of time than I have working for AIS. The employees are smart, professional, and helpful. The staff is so supportive and the Management is truthful, honest, and lets you know where the company stands. A very different environment from what I was used to. Now, you might be wondering why I titled this "Waiting for The Other Shoe to Drop". Simple. When you enjoy something as much as I have enjoyed working with these incredibly smart engineers you start looking around waiting for the other shoe to drop. You start to believe it's "too good". My greatest fear is not meeting the bar I have set for myself and being asked to leave (thus, the other shoe). This is a company that lets you be you but expects you to be smart, professional, hard-working, but most importantly "pay it forward". None of this "hoarding skill stuff" because you are afraid someone might be better than you if they learn what you know. We work as a Team. We produce as a Team. We lose as a Team. We win as a Team. If I am ever asked to leave, it will be a horrible day. I finally feel at home and I would like to stay for a long while. I want to do my best, not just for AIS but for me. AIS is providing me with the tools and environment to go as far as I want. If you are looking for a challenging, never-ending educational experience, and work alongside some incredible people, I cannot recommend AIS high enough.

      Cons

      - COVID -As EVERY company has had to endure, the shift to a completely remote workforce has its challenges. This is not AIS's fault but be prepared to work remotely, for the time being, and have a designated place to work. - 1-1 time. Again, during this time, if you are used to 1-1 facetime time with your manager be prepared to do it remotely. - Mentorship - If you are the type that needs/wants a mentor to help move your career forward at AIS, ask up-front. I didn't but was lucky enough to have a few of the Engineers guide me as I am progressing through my AIS career.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Applied Information Sciences Response

      Director

      Thank you very much for your review. We hope you continue to feel engaged and challenged with the work you are doing! We have launched our mentoring/coaching pilot and we look forward to expanding it for all of our employees.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 132 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Applied Information Sciences Job Seekers

    Technical Project Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Part-time Office Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    Professional Services - Project Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Consulting Project Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Applied Information Sciences? Share Your Experiences

    Applied Information Sciences logo
    or