Applied Information Sciences Reviews | Glassdoor

Applied Information Sciences Reviews

Updated July 1, 2017
69 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Fred Elleman
46 Ratings

69 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Don't regret my decision at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Infrastructure Engineer in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Senior Infrastructure Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Where do I start? I have been impressed every step of the way since joining this company. Sure, there are areas in which they can improve, but for a company with the growth that has occurred, they are above the standard. First of all, the recruiting team is one of the best and brightest that I have ever worked with. They were there every step of the way and providing valuable information. Other items of note are below:
    - AWESOME onboarding process
    - I've worked with some very good teams, and this is probably the best and brightest group of people I have ever worked with in IT.
    - Great leadership vision for future growth
    - Have adapted to the changing technologies and cloud focused.
    - They want you certified and will encourage and pay for it.
    To sum it all up, I have been impressed by every step of my journey since joining the company and look forward to what the future holds.

    Cons

    The one con, which is commonplace amongst Federal contracting companies is that much of the work is contract based. In saying that, the company has a great talent management team that works tirelessly to make sure employees stay competitive and can be placed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!!

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Jun 5, 2017 – Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for the positive feedback! We’re glad to hear that our overall candidate experience has been a positive one and has transferred into a positive employee experience. We are... More


  2. "Excellent company working on cutting edge of Microsoft technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people to work with!

    Cons

    Not as much emphasis on processes

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Vercy good work and culture

    Cons

    I don't find any

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Aug 26, 2015 – HR

    Thanks for rating AIS an Excellent place to work. We continue to keep up the good work and make our employees happy. We wish you a long and successful career at AIS.


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Five stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great benefits, really smart coworkers, flat management structure, the ability to excel is there for those who show talent and dedication

    Cons

    AIS is a Consulting company - occasionally get stuck on a non ideal project, however, the company will consider alternatives for those with commute challenges, or other difficult circumstances

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Jan 6, 2015 – Director

    Thank you very much for your review! We are working hard to make changes as we can when we receive constructive feedback. We are grateful for everyone's dedication and commitment to our clients and... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very Satisfied Working at AIS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Smart and capable co-workers, good benefits, excellent opportunities for motivated self-starters. Managers are accessible and the structure is flat. Company is dedicated to exploring and developing expertise in the latest technologies, including cloud solutions in Azure. AIS does not hire just to staff projects, but is looking for people to grow with the company.

    Cons

    Some project assignments aren't terribly exciting but generally you can get reassigned if you ask. Experiencing some growing pains and there does not seem to be a clear vision for developing new managers to sustain growth.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Feb 11, 2015 – Director

    Thank you very much for providing your review. As a company we are very interested in seeing people grow in a manner that is both individually rewarding and financially beneficial and as a result... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Technology driven company with solid staff. Very happy here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst
    Current Employee - Business Analyst
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits are fantastic. Most positions offer good flexibility. Overall good leadership that take an interest in people that perform well and excel. Company is full of very competent technologists, particularly in the Microsoft stack.

    Cons

    At times transparency can be lacking. However, it is better than other places I have worked.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in top performing members of the company. They will be your biggest advocates moving forward.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Feb 24, 2015 – Director

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We greatly appreciate everyone's continued hard work in delivering for our clients and contributing to the culture of AIS. Please speak up if there is something... More


  7. Helpful (6)

    "Top Reasons to Work at AIS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Reston, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The number one thing I like best about working at AIS is knowing that I am a valued member of the team.

    From day one my knowledge and skills were recognized and put to immediate use.

    The enthusiasm shown by the AIS recruiting team during my interview and subsequent hiring was an important factor in choosing to work at AIS.

    The honesty and integrity of the Leadership demonstrated during my interview/hiring process is the reason I came to work for AIS.

    Cons

    If you want to work 9-5 and just collect a paycheck, do not work here
    If you need to be micromanaged, do not work here
    If you are done learning and growing professionally, do not work here

    Advice to Management

    Continue to set Vision, Goals & Objectives
    Continue to provide opportunities
    Continue to encourage creativity and innovation

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Mar 10, 2015 – Director

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We are continuing to seek ways to provide opportunities for our employees and to innovate. Effective execution of this involves high engagement of our... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not the average consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SharePoint Developer and Consultant in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - SharePoint Developer and Consultant in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I've worked at other consultancies and the biggest difference is that everyone at AIS is technical, including management, which makes for near frictionless communication. Another notable difference is that work-life balance is actually a thing at AIS. In the three years I worked there I was never asked nor was it implied that I should be working more than 40 hour weeks. Along with that they have great benefits, competitive pay, ESOP, and HR staff is always super friendly and responsive.

    Cons

    Most of the work comes from federal contracts, which isn't uncommon around here, but that is limiting in some ways. Compared to other tech companies the physical office space could use a bit of an update.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Keep the staff at the heart of the organization. Having more commercial work will further distinguish you from other consultancies in the area.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Aug 4, 2015 – Director

    Thank you for your review! We are continuing to strike a balance between federal and commercial work. Thanks for your contributions!


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Outstanding place to work with enterprising individuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Long tenured senior staff (25+ years), which exhibits signs of loyalty toward company leaders, unheard of in current employment times. Support staff (HR, administration, accounting, security, IT) goes out of their way to put the employees needs first - very responsive toward requests, great parties, ball games, team building activities. Headquarters in Reston, VA is very accessible by metro transit. Does good things for the community through local food drives and veteran fund raising events like T.A.P.S. (Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors).

    Cons

    I have no cons to share about Applied Information Sciences of Reston, VA. Keep up the good work.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice to share about Applied Information Sciences of Reston, VA. Keep up the good work.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Aug 4, 2015 – Director

    Thanks for your comments! It is our goal to stay connected to our community and to provide support when possible. We also believe in holding events for employees to get together and get to know... More


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Solid Company with Strong Technical Team and Involved Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Information Sciences full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Some of the sharpest technical folks in the industry - frequently relied upon by Microsoft product teams for assistance and advice. Successful recruiting and marketing staff able to recruit strong talent and find long-term projects.

    Cons

    Sometimes projects are too long - although management is willing to shift staff to other teams when possible.

    Advice to Management

    No advice.

    Applied Information Sciences Response

    Aug 4, 2015 – Director

    Thanks for your comments! We are working hard as we gear up for technical innovations and the future IT market. We want to continue to make investments and bolster our talent and our open to... More


Showing 69 of 69 reviews
Reset Filters