Applied Materials Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Applied Materials CEO & President Gary Dickerson
Gary Dickerson
479 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Material program manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Materials Program Manager in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Applied Materials full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work culture. Good WLB.

    Cons

    Pay is less compared to other bay area companies

    Applied Materials2020-05-25
  2. "No opportunities to grow"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Engineer in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Materials full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Standard semiconductor pay and benefits. A lot of entry level positions for people to enter the semiconductor industry.

    Cons

    No room to grow out of positions. All promotions, rasies, and bounces have nothing to due with preformanve only time in position. Move within business unit is always lateral and never up. Work is dangerous and stressful, with minimal support from management and leads.

    Continue reading
    Applied Materials2020-05-29
  3. "Great Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Materials full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    401k, work life balance, job stability, tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Overall great place to work

    Applied Materials2020-05-07
  4. "Stable company with great products"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Materials full-time

    Pros

    Great products to work with. Great learning who likes SW-HW environment.

    Cons

    Not latest SW technologies used.

    Applied Materials2020-05-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Applied Materials full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High salary compare to other similarly industrial company

    Cons

    Relative low icome in bay area

    Applied Materials2020-04-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Stable company; great CEO at the helm."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Santa Clara, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Materials full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great commuter program and passion for community involvement.

    Cons

    On-site cafe shares space; sometimes not available to cater.

    Continue reading
    Applied Materials2020-04-23
  7. Helpful (3)

    "They care about their employees."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Materials full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent compensation and benefits. Professional work environment that values motivated individuals with a strong work ethic. Understanding and supportive management in all respects with a willingness to allow you the time needed for anything personal, no questions asked. Excellent training programs for equipment. Opportunity for advancement and (compensated) relocation.

    Cons

    Incredibly dangerous work with every type of potential hazard you can possibly think of. Ionizing radiation, corrosive and/or toxic gasses, high voltage, small cramped spaces with limited air and potential mechanical hazards, fire hazards, etc. Lots of travel for extended periods of time, especially for initial training. This can be a positive if you don't have a family. I enjoyed the opportunity to travel all over the world, but after 6 weeks in a country where I cannot communicate with most people because of language barrier I was incredibly homesick and missing my family.

    Continue reading
    Applied Materials2020-03-31
  8. Helpful (3)

    "You grow based on who you know not based on what and how you do your job"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Solutions Manager in Austin, TX

    I worked at Applied Materials full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Established company with less new entrants in the market. Decent pay and benefits in Texas

    Cons

    Friends and family of senior IT leadership get the job and promotions even if they are from non IT or don’t even contribute. It depends on who you know Vendors are selected based on kickbacks they can give to managers through offshore channels or hire their family members as contractors. Nepotism @ it’s best in IT Never file an ombudsman complain for ethical issues with your name as the filer. Your life will become hell in and out of the company and you can never go back. Basically HR and ombuds act like fixers for management and do not care about employees. All this is about their IT group, other groups I cannot comment on

    Continue reading
    Applied Materials2020-05-06
  9. "Interdisciplinary work for aspiring ME's"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Applied Materials full-time

    Pros

    Good learning curve for mechanical engineers who are fresh in the market

    Cons

    Work hours. Total compensation okay but not great

    Applied Materials2020-04-14
  10. "culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Materials full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    clear target to achieve HVM

    Cons

    need to sync up together

    Applied Materials2020-03-30
Found 1479 reviews