Applied Medical Reviews | Glassdoor

Applied Medical Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 325 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Applied Medical CEO Said S Hilal
Said S Hilal
196 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "If you have any ambition, DO NOT WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Engineer in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a 24/7 gym and really nice facilities

    Cons

    Management has no management skills, much less leadership skills. They tell you to do what they tell you to do because that's why they pay you. If you are happy to just do whatever they tell you to do without any goals of your own, then this is the place for you!

    Advice to Management

    The company will continue to have high turnover if you do not have the right leadership and good managers to retain team members

    Applied Medical2019-06-24

    Applied Medical Response

    July 18, 2019Team Member Relations

    I’m sorry to read about your frustrations. I’d like to talk with you and potentially engage with your team to try and improve your situation. Please reach out to me directly so we can discuss. Respectfully, Gary Fischer, Vice President, Team Member Relations.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    Great management, good commission structure

    Cons

    Can be very long hours, many chains of management and miscommunication of who is in charge, no health insurance and other benefits that come with other medical device roles

    Applied Medical2019-06-22

    Applied Medical Response

    July 18, 2019Team Member Relations

    We’re very fortunate to have dedicated team members like you out in the field. You’re making a meaningful, positive difference every day and we appreciate you! Also, please note that health insurance and many other benefits are available to all of our field team members. Please ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "They alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young co-workers, Cool projects, relaxed work environment

    Cons

    Management nepotism, low pay, inexperienced engineers

    Applied Medical2019-06-10

    Applied Medical Response

    July 18, 2019Team Member Relations

    We’re proud of our intern program and are glad to hear you’re enjoying your projects. Enjoy your summer.

  4. Helpful (8)

    "Stay Away! Terrible Managers! Low Pay and lots of wasted effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -None really. I did not learn a single thing that I could not have learned with google. Your career will not advance here

    Cons

    -THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT QUALITY. They say they do but they do not. Most jobs are done quickly but not well. This leads to lots of issues with yields, equipment failure, preventative maintenance, documentation, etc. -They have lots of documentation that is WRONG. The company knows this but hides it and will make team members sidestep protocols/rules/regulations to make updates -Your middle manager will actively... sabotage your progress. This is because management promotes people to middle managers that have no previous management experience. -Management enforces and ignores rules and regulations as they please. This is highly unsafe and unprofessional -Management is manipulative does not see you as a person, they see you as a resource. I have overheard terrible conversations between managers about how they want to use people to do their bidding. -Management manipulates the facts and timelines of non-conformance reports to avoid high-level NCIRs and save money -All training is supplied via Applied Medicals internal departments. This means you don't get any certifications that you can use externally and you don't get proper training.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    go jump off a cliff

    Applied Medical2019-06-06

    Applied Medical Response

    July 18, 2019Team Member Relations

    Quality is of the utmost importance to us. If ANY team member witnesses any inappropriate, unethical or illegal behavior they should report it to our anonymous third-party hotline, which is available on MyApplied in the Compliance resources section.

  5. Helpful (10)

    "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -A good place for recent graduates to get experience. There are a lot of resources at the company to get your feet wet in the industry. -Great health insurance with low employee cost. -Great work culture. It's a good mix of work and play. My team goes out for lunch every Friday, and will occasionally plan weekend trips and events. -Good work/life balance. Hours are typically 8-5 and no one expects you to stay... after 5pm.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Inexperienced middle management. Most are young and started their first jobs with this company. Middle management is not held accountable for any decisions made. When things go awry, the finger pointing typically lands at the individual engineers that wrote the protocols and reports, regardless of if they contributed to any decision making. Be prepared to defend yourself, even if management approved your documents.... -Engineers are encouraged to take the lead or voice their concerns, but any actual concerns are often dismissed with "this is how we've always done it". If your approach does not line up with what management had in mind, it is incredibly difficult if not impossible to get approval. -When issues arise, the default solution is to justify why things are still okay, rather than try to fix the problem at its root. As a result, some issues can linger for years and go through multiple engineers (due to the high turnover). The newly assigned engineers are typically recent graduates with no experience, resulting in incorrect/inadequate solutions that never fully address the issues or cause more problems. -Nepotism. This company is privately held, and upper management are either family or friends. -No work from home flexibility.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be less of a "get it done" attitude. A lot of the issues I experienced could be prevented if engineering teams were given more time to develop their products/processes before release. Teams could really benefit from a knowledgeable and experienced engineer to lead, but the low compensation at this company drives most experience away. Good engineers are out there, but the company must be willing to... offer a competitive package. Most of the engineers I've talked to stay primarily because we've made friends here, but a company can't rely on that to keep their employees. This company doesn't make a good first impression. On my first day, I was told that engineers do not have internet access and must either stay for a minimum of one year or demonstrate need. Internet access seems like a very basic necessity that a company should provide to its employees.

    Show More
    Applied Medical2019-05-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Applied Med"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Products and market penetration

    Cons

    little opportunity to exceed bonus

    Applied Medical2019-05-17

    Applied Medical Response

    July 18, 2019Team Member Relations

    We truly appreciate all our dedicated team members out in the field. Thank you for everything you do to help improve surgical outcomes and patient care.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Process Engineer 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot to learn and the team environment is great.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits could be better.

    Applied Medical2019-05-04

    Applied Medical Response

    May 13, 2019Team Member Relations

    Thanks so much for leaving a review! Glad to hear you’re enjoying your team!

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great experience with ability to grow and become a well rounded engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Development Intern in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Applied Medical is a great place to work because just about all of the people who work there are willing to help with whatever you need. They are big on developing your professional self rather than developing a certain product or process. There are a lot of young people within the company who really enjoy their work. It is a fast paced and collaborative workplace.

    Cons

    None to be concerned of.

    Applied Medical2019-05-03
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Specialist in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    if you like selling cheap me too products this is the place

    Cons

    me too company with poor management. Dont pay what they say the plan is. cant keep to a plan always changing mid stream, knee jerk reactions.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better people and pay them what you say you will

    Applied Medical2019-04-22
  10. "Hands on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Vertically integrated company let's you take on a lot of different projects.

    Cons

    Like any medical device company, there is a high expectation on documentation.

    Applied Medical2019-04-21

    Applied Medical Response

    May 13, 2019Team Member Relations

    Sounds like you appreciate the diverse project opportunities as much as we appreciate our team members! Thanks for your review.

Found 325 reviews