Applied Medical Reviews | Glassdoor

Applied Medical Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 326 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Applied Medical CEO Said S Hilal
Said S Hilal
196 Ratings
  1. "Hands on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Vertically integrated company let's you take on a lot of different projects.

    Cons

    Like any medical device company, there is a high expectation on documentation.

    Applied Medical2019-04-21

    Applied Medical Response

    May 13, 2019Team Member Relations

    Sounds like you appreciate the diverse project opportunities as much as we appreciate our team members! Thanks for your review.

  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great stepping stone company depending on the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Vertically Integrated so you can learn everything from component to product manufacturing, full ownership of projects, engineers are young so it's easy to make friends at work, exposure with every single department, causal dress code, good work life balance (if you're not a manager), and RSM is a really nice area to work in.

    Cons

    Low pay, terrible 401K, and middle management doesn't have a lot of support so you can either get a great manager or a manager who was forced to take on a team .

    Advice to Management

    Applied Medical is a great company to work for as a new grad since you work on every single aspect of a project and you can gain exposure into the medical device industry. However, the pay is low (engineer I start off around 60-65k) compared to industry standards and the 401k is a joke (50% match up to 2% of your salary). There's no training for managers so some focus on career development and others are barely... around. However, since the company demographic is young, it's a great company to work for if you'd like to move into a management role and don't mind the lack of support from upper management. In the past, the company gave out 2 "catch up checks" and 2 bonuses a year which was about $5000 on top of your salary but most recently, there's only been one bonus of about $2000. The company's been investing into its employees with a gym, cafeteria, and more community events however, it doesn't offset the low pay in the long run. Company meetings consist of petty CEO telling everybody how great the company is doing and bashing on people who leave. I would 100% recommend this company if you're a new grad but beyond that, it's hard to stick around. Advice to management: -Pay engineers/managers more -Offer more support/training to managers -Increase 401k matching -More transparency from upper management

    Show More
    Applied Medical2019-04-18
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Start your career here if you cannot find job anywhere else. 8-5 job with little responsibility.

    Cons

    The mid level management has no clue on what is being designed as there is lack of communication between software and Electrical teams. The management spend hours in useless meetings and blaming other groups. The CEO seems to be smart but again has no idea about the money being wasted in unwanted projects. The firing rate is high and innocent people are sacrificed to keep the mid management people employed and... protected.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Conduct more surveys and explain to new team members about open door policy in person.

    Applied Medical2019-04-08

    Applied Medical Response

    May 13, 2019Team Member Relations

    As you should be aware (and are hopefully participating in), we implemented quarterly team member surveys last year. We also introduced a day-long new team member welcome workshop (Applied Foundations) a couple of years ago, during which the open door policy is certainly covered. ...

    Show More
  4. "Micromanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Ciudad de México
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and good benefits (health and life insurance)

    Cons

    Incomplete tools (no laptop, iPad without internet, no cel phone, no business cards) poor clarity on tasks required for the job, micromanagement

    Advice to Management

    Job profiles need to be more specific, have all the required tools ready to do the job well, manage results instead of tasks

    Applied Medical2019-03-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer II in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Applied Medical is a great place to start your career and learn about medical devices and manufacturing. The employees are very friendly and helpful. There isn't pressure to take work home with you. Dress code is casual.

    Cons

    Depends on department but most are strict on working hours from 8 am- 5 pm (no early/ late start). Salary is low compared to other companies. Firing rate is fairly high.

    Applied Medical2019-02-17

    Applied Medical Response

    March 19, 2019

    Thank you for the review and for sharing your thoughts. Our high level of multi-team collaboration and vertical integration can require some departments to maintain consistent work schedules for maximum efficiency. If you have ideas on potential alternatives, please share them in ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Stepping Stone Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Clinical Development Manager in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to travel and see the products in action, relaxed work environment, they give out impressive sounding job titles - good stepping stone company to get some experience in medical devices for your resume and move on.

    Cons

    Grossly apparent nepotism, little to no clinical development training, low compensation. A lot of people in the clinical development department have nothing to do if their products aren't focus products for the quarter but are conditioned to "look busy".

    Advice to Management

    Train the clinical development staff.

    Applied Medical2019-02-14

    Applied Medical Response

    March 19, 2019

    While we're certainly happy that you're enjoying the travel opportunities that come with your role, we're also sorry to hear that you feel there is a lack of projects or training. We can assure you this is not the reality and encourage you to talk with either your team leader or CD ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (24)

    "Applied Does Not Value Talent or Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed working environment (jeans every day, can wear t-shirts on Friday) Vertical integration means many potential opportunities with different manufacturing areas. Mostly good and friendly coworkers Engineers are all very young (recent graduates). Many open job positions. Not expected to bring work home except for exceptional circumstances. Growing company means more opportunities. The top tier medical... plan is decent (don’t take the lower tier plan no one does) Rancho Santa Margarita is a fantastic town and employees have many local towns closer to the freeway to choose to live in and not have to commute on the freeway.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have attempted to be as in depth as possible but the Cons can be summarized briefly. Low compensation and not valuing experience causes almost all of the engineering staff to leave after 1-3 years. Low to Middle Management is inexperienced and not trained well. If you cant find any other job opportunities, it is a decent place to get some experience for your resume but you will not gain many skills that are valued... by other medical device companies. If you do take the job, just ensure you are constantly making progress and keeping track of how long documents are taking to be reviewed. If you start to struggle in your job position for any reason, I would not assume you have much time to improve your job performance before getting terminated. Pay and Benefits: Pay is not competitive when compared with other similar companies in the area. Terrible 401(k) benefit as compared to other similar companies. 401(k) Match was up to 2% of salary with a 50% match of employee contribution. Yearly raises are modest and not linked to job performance; it is up to the managers’ opinion of you. Bonuses are twice a year, low (~$200-$500), and the same amount for every employee (whether a production or engineering employee). To receive the bonus you sign an agreement that waives your right to sue them over any discrimination (this should tell you something right here). As a side note, the moving reimbursement was very low, I moved across the country to work here any they were unwilling to offer even enough to cover the UHAUL rental. They had a set amount of moving reimbursement that was the same regardless of the distance; it was the same amount regardless of moving 150 miles or 2,000+. Interviewing: Initial Interview was confusing. I was brought in to interview for one position but then the interview had people from almost every department with an opening. If I had known that the interview was for 5+ open positions, I would have communicated my career goals from the get go. The job position I worked at was different from what was communicated during the interview process. If I had known the reality of the job duties, I would not have taken this position. I was promised, for a full year, that once I worked in my former job position I would have the opportunity to move to a different department. Once the time came, they refused to consider a move even when another manager wanted me to join their team. Employee Turnover: Super high turnover rate. To the point where it makes day to day job responsibilities difficult as your partner in another department would leave the company (leave for a better job or were fired) with no warning. They struggle to hold onto experienced employees because of non-competitive pay, this also causes many other internal issues. Most employees only stay for 1-3 years, using the company to gain experience. In addition, the culture within my department was cliquey and if you were outside of the clique that was friends with management, you will not have much of a promotion path. In addition, employees terminated quickly over seemly minor issues and infractions. Employees who are starting to struggle with their projects are quickly under intense scrutiny by management and will be written up for minor infractions. From what I saw, this company finds a reason to terminate and does not give severance. I personally witnessed that they take full advantage of the job positions being at will. Speaking with past coworkers who were let go, they do not give much warning (employee knows they are struggling some or receives a verbal warning or two) and literally pull the employee into a meeting when they are packing up for the day and inform them they are terminated and to pack up their desk. One previous coworker complained they were told they could not leave without signing a large stack of termination paperwork. When they asked if they could bring them home to review the paperwork before they signed it that they could not. Job Responsibilities: Overall, you do not gain many skills while working at Applied Medical that translate will into working at other medical device companies. The company that I moved to knew that they would have to essentially retrain me but was impressed with my internship experience from 3 years previous and did not care about any of my work experience from Applied Medical. As an FYI for new graduates, most of the engineering positions in this company are in GPD (Group Process Development), these positions are mostly routing paperwork and not getting to work on designs, regardless of what they claim in the interview process. If you want design work at Applied Medical, you need to be in R&D. Most of my time was trying to get documents signed off. Some of the signature level reviewers would take two to three weeks to review documents that took all of an hour to read and review. This is because there is a lack of signature level reviewers so these employees are BURIED in documents to review. Unless your document is urgent, it will take weeks and not days to review. They were starting to improve this before I left but with experienced employees leaving constantly, this will always be an issue. Very Tight Budgets on some items yet unlimited pocketbooks to other departments. Trying to get approval to expedite outside testing that would have saved weeks of engineering time (and saved money in the end) was like pulling teeth. Overall Applied seems to spend their money vertically integrating and buying new buildings rather than investing in employees or tools given to them. Applied Medical gives engineering employees DESKTOP computers to use, every other engineering company I have worked at supplies laptops so employees can from home or on the road. They do not value employee experience, they seem to believe that hiring two new graduates can replace an experienced employee, rather than pay experienced employees. If your career goals are to become a technical expert rather than taking a management path, DO NOT work here. The internal culture heavily favors the management path over technical expertise. Management: Upper Management is mostly focused on getting projects done fast and not with high quality. Any project you are given will be constantly questioned on schedule rather focusing on the quality of your design. This is not saying that their products are of low quality, but that if engineering were given more time to design and execute new designs the products and processes would run much smoother. Because of a lack of experienced employees, engineers with 2-3 years of experience are placed into supervisor & manager positions while still working as lower level engineers. This means most of the low to middle management is not prepared to manage other employees. These inexperienced managers have no one experienced to train them in how to properly manage employees and to deal with employees that require a different management style than they have now. Whenever I struggled on a project, my manager was unavailable to offer assistance and did not have time to point me to someone with experience in the subject matter to help. This manager just constantly told me that I needed to make progress and offered little assistance in getting document reviewers to review documents that had been on their desks for a while. After leaving Applied Medical: When I started at my new company, my new company’s HR department let me know that for the background check Applied Medical was listed my job position as Engineer (rather than my full title), confirmed dates of employment, and offered to share any disciplinary files but not any performance reviews. I have never heard of any other company being unwilling to confirm the real job title and honestly, they should be ashamed. Also as a note to anyone looking at working here, once you leave Applied Medical, you will NEVER return, regardless of the terms and situation that you left. I have worked for lots of companies that were willing to hire a returning employee if they left on good turns, so I find Applied Medical's position childish.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Mr. Hilal, While I believe that you have an excellent vision and goals for the company as a whole, you desperately need to hire an excellent, experienced COO to rework the company culture from top to bottom. To ensure the long-term sustainability of Applied Medical you desperately need to do two things, value experienced employees and compensate at closer to the local industry. If Applied hired and promoted... skilled, experienced management and compensated engineering employees closer to the local competition, it would eliminate most of the employee turnover. Reviewing time is a constant issue and delayed major projects within GPD, please hire some experienced engineers and give them signing authority to free up management from reviewing their entire department’s document load. Managers need to get to know their employees and be willing to send employees with rare experience to departments that can best use those skills. In my case, I had some technical expertise and industry connections that could have been much more valuable to the company in a different department. I clearly communicated this to my management and they were only concerned with their department, not for the good of the company. As a major suggestion, I would also start to treat engineering staff differently than production employees. It was a major insult to your engineering staff when you gave hourly raises to production (instead of a bonus) and did not give engineering any bonus. That was honestly my last straw where it was clear that the company did not value their engineering staff. I started searching for a new job the next day. I loved your vision and goals for the company but if Applied Medical continues to churn and burn through young engineering talent, treating them like a number rather than developing technical talent, the company will continue to struggle to retain talent. Most companies realize that when a large number of talented employees are leaving something needs to change institutionally. I would have stayed if Applied Medical hired experienced managers and demonstrated a commitment to valuing experience with higher compensation, but because there is a culture of high turnover and not valuing engineering staff, I will not be planning on a return at any point in time. Sincerely, A Former Employee

    Show More
    Applied Medical2019-02-06
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Fine products, bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    Easy to get lots of exposure to multiple facets of the medical device industry.

    Cons

    It’s a stepping stone company. Low pay and constantly shuffling employees around to different rolls leads to instability and lack of in-depth knowledge. You have to drink the kool-aid..... It’s really no different than any other medical device company when you strip it down.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t change the teams every several months, build teams for the long haul.

    Applied Medical2019-02-01
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Loved my team and products, but disliked everything about how the company was managed (NEPOTISM)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers for the most part, great products

    Cons

    Horrible Pay, Nepotism, Upper Management that barely works and places crazy expectations on managers, which then trickles down to their teams. I'm sure there's a lot of horrible reviews for this company that may or may not be unfounded - but this one is an honest one. To put it simply, Applied talks a lot about how they value their employees but they don't show it. Every other medical device company pays more and... what Applied pays is simply not enough to live on -especially in Orange County. Most employees are recent graduates that think they've hit the jackpot with the job and then become jaded with the constant BS that they are fed with why they are getting more work and not getting paid more. There are so many great employees here that truly do care about the product lines, but people just get fed up and leave because of being dragged through the mud on pay. No one wants to talk about it or admit it but there it is. There's also a lot of negativity surrounding other companies which I never felt was right. Healthy competition is one thing, but frequently putting down other device companies that are also trying to do good is another thing. Not a fan of that.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You don't need to develop departments on career advancement and employee retention. It's pretty simple - just pay your people better and make sure your management teams are setting a precedent of work ethic that is fair. No half time VPs or directors that have no idea what's going on while your teams are working their butts off for you (without fair pay or real opportunity for advancement). When all (or almost all)... of upper management is related, there is no real drive for your employees to want to advance since there is no where to go....all the positions are filled and will continue to be filled with family.

    Show More
    Applied Medical2019-01-30
  10. Helpful (10)

    "No listening, not being open, very toxic and political company (at least the Netherlands office)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Utrecht
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company offer good lunch, yoga class, and from this year, 50 euro per person per month health budget compensation

    Cons

    The company has a noble story. When everybody listens to the words of the CEO for the first time , you will be impressed. he has such a noble vision and is such a great person: He wants healthcare accessible and affordable to everyone. He says to us this is an open and equal company and, just like in the other propaganda review being said 'Just keep asking, listening and improving', everybody believe they have found... the perfect place to work. BUT!!!: THE FACT IS THE OPPOSITE!!! When you work in this office, you feel like you are in a 'freedom-controlled communism country'. You know what I mean: everybody appears to be very happy as superficially, but in fact deeply depressed. Have any of you who knows the Silicon Valley scam company 'Theranos' and read the book 'Bad Blood'. I red it, and I found sooooo familiar when reading the management style of Elisabeth and Sunny. Because that's exactly the same way as we being managed in Applied: Fear management, no encouraging communication, no asking questions, only obey. We are criticized and threatened by our manager, when pointing out the data and numbers were actually wrong. Because this didn't align with her interest, and we were, in her eyes, the 'trouble creator'. My manager has been at Applied for many years, and is already on the director level. You could imagine somebody like this must have solid knowledge in our business or at this understand our business well. however, one day she looks at my work and asks impatiently: "WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN UTERUS and URETER?" OMG, ARE YOU KIDDING ME? By the end of the day, it is nice to have after work sport activities and nice lunch and a little bit of extra pocket money every month. However, employees really don't come to work for these everyday. We can go to gym for sport or if we feel what we do are worthwhile, we are happy to endure a poorer lunch. But we want to come to work for being appreciated for what we do, we want to be respected by our managers, instead feeling like being treated as slaves (come on, in modern society, in the Netherlands?!) Working in this company makes you feel like you are really not in Netherlands, but some kind of dictatorship communism country. Maybe this is why most of the employees in this company are not Dutch, but people who just moved to this country and needing a job. The biggest problem, hereby I want to reply to the whoever it is, the author of the review "Growing and improving": It is not that we don't want to talk, or we just hated this company so much that we want to post on Glassdoor first without giving an effort to resolve the problem internally. But the problem is nobody listens to us, nobody helps us. We tried to raised the topic to personnel, and we got a chance to talk to the upper management, but it got suppressed. Everyone knows there is a 'small group' in this Amersfoort office, being toxic and bullying, but the upper management here brushed us off! So maybe stop the propaganda words because it just makes us feeling disgusting!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't think things will be changed anyways, so no suggestion

    Applied Medical2019-01-27
Found 326 reviews