Applied Medical Reviews | Glassdoor

Applied Medical Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 325 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Applied Medical CEO Said S Hilal
Said S Hilal
196 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Lake Forest, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Engineers are all fairly young (recently graduated), lots of manufacturing areas to get experience in.

    Cons

    Young and inexperienced management, low pay, poor benefits, company not loyal to employees (cancelled christmas party, unexplained lack of company updates, employees treated as canon fodder)

    Advice to Management

    Treat salaried workers as salaried workers. Schedule flexibility is non-existent.

    Applied Medical2019-01-13

    Applied Medical Response

    March 19, 2019

    While we are glad you're gaining valuable experience in Applied's many manufacturing areas, we are disheartened to hear of your frustrations. We would appreciate talking with you to better understand some of your concerns and suggestions. Please reach out to us at TeamMemberFeedback@appliedmedical.com ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Growing and improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    As a long-time team member who regularly interviews/hires job candidates, I am aware of the occasional bad review here on Glassdoor. What I appreciate most about Applied is our constant growth and improvement. For example, the company recently conducted a team member survey that asked a ton of questions, and new benefits/programs are already being offered as a direct result! It's not easy growing from a small... company to a large/global one, but I truly believe that our management's heart is in the right place. True to any job anywhere, I have found that a little patience and openness can make the difference between a positive experience and a negative one.

    Show More

    Cons

    While I haven't experienced it, I have heard that not all team members feel they can be completely open/honest with their team leaders. That's not unusual in large companies, but I would (and do) encourage anyone to go talk with TM Relations ... not to just complain but to get some really good advice on how to handle the situation and/or assistance in facilitating a better communication within your team. They're... really good and nice and helpful!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just keep asking, listening and improving.

    Applied Medical2019-01-08

    Applied Medical Response

    February 26, 2019Team Member Relations

    Thanks so much for adding your perspective here. Definitely keep sharing, whether it be through our surveys or any other means of communication, and we promise to keep listening!

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Applied Medical

    Pros

    Interesting Project, Open door policy

    Cons

    Less strict timelines occasionally made for longer lulls in work

    Applied Medical2018-12-06
  4. Helpful (18)

    "Voyant team is a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Test Engineer in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has good training programs at all levels. This is helpful if you are out of school and need experience being paid at same time. Most team members use the company for their benefit and get out for better jobs.

    Cons

    The company has poor culture and somehow seem to get away with strange practices.The poor CEO thinks mid level management keeps him informed but they just fool him all the time. It is fun to see the circus that goes on at Applied everyday where mid level management spend hours in non productive meetings to bad mouth the CEO but act like obedient team members when he is around. There is misuse of power at all... levels under CEO and if someone doesn't agree with what the managers and VP say they are either moved to another role or terminated without cause.There is lot of bickering between teams and that leads to poor quality work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up before it is too late and just don't trust blindly trust your favorite team members.

    Applied Medical2018-12-02

    Applied Medical Response

    December 11, 2018Team Member Relations

    While this review is certainly concerning to read and, we believe, inconsistent with the true culture and environment enjoyed by the vast majority of our team members, we do encourage this team member and any other individual who has experienced or witnessed dishonest communication ...

    Show More
  5. "Great start up experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    The company is super generous in terms of training opportunities and running with unexcepcted risks.

    Cons

    Back then, the management wasn't fully hired so it was hard to follow up on plans.

    Applied Medical2018-10-24
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Good starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - R&D Engineer in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great launching pad if you're right out of school. Opportunity to learn a lot because you're given responsibility from the beginning. Promotions can happen quick. Campus is nice and the company is focusing more on perks for everyone. Half of the senior leadership is solid and knows how to lead a division. Vision of the company is noble and seems to be working with the healthcare industry. General culture is... good. Work life balance is nice. The company seems to put you and your famiily first, at least senior management seems to, although your manager might not share those feelings.

    Show More

    Cons

    Salary is obviously low, but for out of school with no experience, it's a good start. People jump ship after a few years of experience for significantly more money. Company almost never hires experience (because of the salary), so they promote from within, which leads to mid level managers and directors with no experiences with roles they have no business managing. If they do hire a few years of experience,... pay is almost entry level and they try to sell you on the vision (which may include a small bonus year end or "opportunities", which never equate to salary). Nepotism rules all, even when they have no idea what they're doing. But i guess its the CEOs company so he can do what he wants. And lastly, this place is massivly political. If you're not in with and agree with the click, advancement is limited.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Why do you keep promoting and/or letting people manage programs and teams when they clearly have no idea what they're doing? These people are visible to senior staff too. There's a lot of experience out there that could help so much, but you have to pay for it. Lastly, leave your personal politics at home. Nobody cares if you love our hate this administration.

    Applied Medical2018-09-09

    Applied Medical Response

    October 2, 2018Team Member Relations

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thorough review. We’re glad to hear that you enjoy the culture and vision of the company. We’d like to hear more about the experiences you’ve had and the areas you feel we could be doing better. Please reach out to us directly at teammemberfeedback@appliedmedical.com.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Clinical Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team work and collaboration creates a positive environment

    Cons

    Low pay and slow advancement

    Applied Medical2018-09-07
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    CEO Said Hilal is a true visionary and leader. Ethical, collaborative, provocative and innovative are words I would use to describe the culture and business model of the company. Innovation is at the heart of the company, not just in R&D and products but also in how it chooses to engage and partner with customers.

    Cons

    Compensation & Benefits is on the lower end as compared to other similar medical device companies.

    Applied Medical2018-09-06

    Applied Medical Response

    October 2, 2018Team Member Relations

    Thank you for your kind words and we're so glad that the culture and business model resonate with you! If you'd like to share more with us directly about how we could do better, please reach out to us directly at teammemberfeedback@appliedmedical.com.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nice for first carreer step"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities for field experience and traveling. Nice atmosphere in the office and fast growing company that holds on to company values.

    Cons

    It's a family held business and many people on high positions are there only because they are family members of the owners. They have little knowlegde and this leads to bad politics within the company.

    Applied Medical2018-09-05
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    company is vertically integrated with in house manufacturing capabilities that provides lots of potential to enhance designing for manufacturability

    Cons

    pay is not competitive when comparing the duration of employment

    Advice to Management

    invest in team members by providing salary raises based on performance metrics

    Applied Medical2018-09-05
Found 325 reviews