Applied Medical Reviews | Glassdoor

Applied Medical Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 326 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Applied Medical CEO Said S Hilal
Said S Hilal
196 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    company is vertically integrated with in house manufacturing capabilities that provides lots of potential to enhance designing for manufacturability

    Cons

    pay is not competitive when comparing the duration of employment

    Advice to Management

    invest in team members by providing salary raises based on performance metrics

    Applied Medical2018-09-05
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Good first job for Engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back culture. You’ll hardly every have to work over 40hrs/wk. a lot of the manufacturing is in house so good learning experience. Not a stressful job

    Cons

    Terrible pay, way below medical device industry standards. Micro-management style for engineers. Not a lot of tools at disposal of engineers. Company limits tools to the bear minimum. You won’t learn actual engineering skills which are transferable to other companies and industries in high tech.

    Advice to Management

    Pay engineers more, expect more out of them, give them more responsibility. The high turn over rate in engineering department isn’t good for the company. You lose money training new people. Most engineers leave because of pay.

    Applied Medical2018-08-30

    Applied Medical Response

    October 2, 2018Team Member Relations

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and experience. We’re glad you enjoy the culture and opportunity for learning! We would like to hear more about the things you are unhappy about. Please contact us directly at teammemberfeedback@appliedmedical.com.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "if you are seeking experience only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    projects , it depends on the department you are in

    Cons

    poor leadership on lower levels, poor salary

    Advice to Management

    inexperienced given roles to lead training is hit / miss

    Applied Medical2018-08-30
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Use them as a stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Clinical Development Manager in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical for more than a year

    Pros

    They will accept no medical device folks and provide an opportunity to get into the industry. Use them as a stepping stone and double your salary someplace else within 3 years

    Cons

    salary way below market rate, poor benefits, nepotism, top down management, very little actual responsibility or chance to develop skills

    Applied Medical2018-08-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A good place to get first hand experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Quality Control in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free Lunches(sometimes), Overall good work environment, Employees/coworkers are great, owner of the company is humble, Company offers a college reimbursement, health, dental, and vision insurance, at will company.

    Cons

    no professional advancement within department even after showing one's ambition and hard work, lower pay, very "political" management teams, some employees from "higher positions" act like they are better than you.

    Advice to Management

    AM wasn't a bad place to work at. There just wasn't much room to advance and if you did offer to have more job responsibilities there was no pay raise. Annual reviews are every 15 months and not given in a timely manner.

    Applied Medical2018-08-17

    Applied Medical Response

    October 2, 2018Team Member Relations

    So glad to hear that you enjoy your colleagues, the work environment, and benefits! We are concerned about some of the other things you expressed. Please reach out to us directly at teammemberfeedback@appliedmedical.com to tell us more about it.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "High Speed CNC supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is strictly my opinion and based on my personal experience there , I find no Pros.

    Cons

    High employee and supervisor turn over rate. If your not part of the good o'l boys club your not valued. They throw money at a problem hoping it fixes itself. Ridiculously long hours if you are salary.

    Advice to Management

    Restructure group VP’s , eliminate the us vs them mentality that exist between management .

    Applied Medical2018-07-30
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great company, good culture, nice benefits, a little light on the wallet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Support in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company itself is great! Stable position (no layoffs due to needing to downsize in its entire history), the benefits are great, the company provides lots of perks, excellent and supportive staff and friendly environment/culture. Management is helping me to move up in life!

    Cons

    Sadly, I had to take a pay cut to obtain work. Despite my years of experience, they wouldn't hear me out when I tried to negotiate my salary.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, but please consider paying for peoples' experience and hard work!

    Applied Medical2018-07-10

    Applied Medical Response

    July 30, 2018Team Member Relations

    We love that you're connecting with our company culture and feeling supported in your growth and development! We'd like to hear more about your experience and any needs you may have. Please feel free to reach out to us directly at TeamMemberFeedback@appliedmedical.com.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Set up tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical

    Pros

    Benefits was a big thing

    Cons

    No more bonus checks also

    Applied Medical2018-07-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with incredible values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Treat employees well, focused on improving healthcare industry practices, invest in employee growth and education, supportive culture

    Cons

    May be paid less than industry average but that's because they are not money driven (They are driven by providing best value to customers).

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Applied Medical2018-06-22

    Applied Medical Response

    July 10, 2018Team Member Relations

    It sounds like you're connecting with our mission and business model and we love that! We hope that you take every opportunity to help us continue to get better! If you ever want to share more of your experience or ideas for improvement, please reach out to us directly at TeamMemberFeedback@appliedmedical.com.

  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    Varied work and enjoyable place

    Cons

    abit out the way form Chesterfield

    Applied Medical2018-06-13
Found 326 reviews