Applied Medical Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales

Applied Medical Sales Reviews

Updated 3 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
18%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Applied Medical CEO Said S Hilal
Said S Hilal
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with incredible values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Treat employees well, focused on improving healthcare industry practices, invest in employee growth and education, supportive culture

    Cons

    May be paid less than industry average but that's because they are not money driven (They are driven by providing best value to customers).

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Applied Medical2018-06-22

    Applied Medical Response

    July 10, 2018Team Member Relations

    It sounds like you're connecting with our mission and business model and we love that! We hope that you take every opportunity to help us continue to get better! If you ever want to share more of your experience or ideas for improvement, please reach out to us directly at TeamMemberFeedback@appliedmedical.com.

  2. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Liked my manager alot. Challenging atmosphere.

    Cons

    income seemed low for similar companies

    Advice to Management

    income seemed low compared to other companies in the industry.

    Applied Medical2017-12-12
  3. "Sales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Southeast Landing, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good products and good place to work

    Cons

    None, great company to work for

    Advice to Management

    None, does not micro manage.

    Applied Medical2017-10-12
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Applied Medical

    Pros

    They pay you a decent base.

    Cons

    Terrible management. One manager had too much authority. Not enough fair balance or open door non-discriminatory policies.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people with a minimum of a bachelors. My last manager did not have a college degree and had a huge issue with the fact that I did plus the fact that I was female. He seemed to take personal offense at both and was particularly critical of my style of sales which is suited for my area.

    Applied Medical2016-11-28
  5. "Was great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical

    Pros

    Benefits, training, lots of potential for growth

    Cons

    A lot of people in management that have no business being there

    Applied Medical2015-02-05
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager-Medical Device Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A few good, niche products. Great stepping stone. If you do well here you will excel at forward thinking, reputable company. PTO off verses vacation days, sick leave, etc. which gives nice flexibility. Manufacturing is local with easy access.

    Cons

    Nepotism is rampant. Brutal 3 week training by ex US Surgical Good Ol' boys club. Repays great performance and loyalty by firing someone on a whim yet keeps underperformers who "kiss butt." The company garners very little respect within the medical industry. Stock options that will never pay off. Definitely a "B" or "C" player.

    Advice to Management

    Hire new blood into management with a background other than a family member or old US Surgical employee. Bring pay up to industry standards. Reward performance not whoever kisses up the most. Stop changing benefits every year.

    Applied Medical2014-11-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Entry into OR sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager-Medical Device Sales in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Applied Medical is an excellent place to gain valuable experience in the OR. You will have lots to do trying to set up cases with surgeons and materials managers. If you have an opportunity to set up or work an evaluation you will get months of experience in a few weeks.

    Cons

    Management has a hard time getting focused in a certain direction. Maybe it was my manager in particular. But the company as a whole does not value its sales people. They have a lot of turnover and it appears that they like that model. Get a new rep, work them hard, sign up a few new accounts, and then let them go. After all they just gained more new business and no rep to pay. Most reps leave on their own... from the poor benefits and frustration with management. The training is very good, but it is brutal. 3 weeks in California. New material every day with tests the following morning on the previous day. Get less than a 90% and you have to retest. Get less than 90% on 3 tests and you go home without a job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put some real value in retaining good reps. Make the compensation so that reps want to stay. Revamp the benefits and 401k to make it a desirable place to work for a longer time.

    Applied Medical2014-08-20
  8. ""Good and Professional""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers and Management. As long as you do a good job, you have a good chance to go up!

    Cons

    Not much to say…

    Applied Medical2014-06-09
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Don't bother working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager-Medical Device Sales in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Only work here if you are desperate. You will not be treated like a professional so keep your expectations low if you decide to take the plunge at Applied.

    Cons

    Too many to list. This company is run by the entire Hilal clan who will cheat you any way they can. Nepotism gone wild!

    Advice to Management

    You are the biggest bunch of spineless managers I have ever seen.

    Applied Medical2014-06-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "cold, uncaring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the only pro is that it is good operating room sales experience

    Cons

    The benefits are mediocre and they do not honor the family leave act so DON'T get sick! and lousy pay package and commision.

    Applied Medical2013-05-02
Found 18 reviews