Applied Medical "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Applied Medical Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 317 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Applied Medical CEO Said S Hilal
Said S Hilal
195 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good co-workers, decent work environment(in 27 reviews)

  • "Applied Medical is a great place to start your career and learn about medical devices and manufacturing(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay and constantly shuffling employees around to different rolls leads to instability and lack of in-depth knowledge(in 25 reviews)

  • "Upper Management is mostly focused on getting projects done fast and not with high quality(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Stepping Stone Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Clinical Development Manager in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to travel and see the products in action, relaxed work environment, they give out impressive sounding job titles - good stepping stone company to get some experience in medical devices for your resume and move on.

    Cons

    Grossly apparent nepotism, little to no clinical development training, low compensation. A lot of people in the clinical development department have nothing to do if their products aren't focus products for the quarter but are conditioned to "look busy".

    Advice to Management

    Train the clinical development staff.

    Applied Medical2019-02-14

    Applied Medical Response

    March 19, 2019

    While we're certainly happy that you're enjoying the travel opportunities that come with your role, we're also sorry to hear that you feel there is a lack of projects or training. We can assure you this is not the reality and encourage you to talk with either your team leader or CD ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (14)

    "Applied Does Not Value Talent or Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed working environment (jeans every day, can wear t-shirts on Friday) Vertical integration means many potential opportunities with different manufacturing areas. Mostly good and friendly coworkers Engineers are all very young (recent graduates). Many open job positions. Not expected to bring work home except for exceptional circumstances. Growing company means more opportunities. The top tier medical plan...

    Show More

    Cons

    I have attempted to be as in depth as possible but the Cons can be summarized briefly. Low compensation and not valuing experience causes almost all of the engineering staff to leave after 1-3 years. Low to Middle Management is inexperienced and not trained well. If you cant find any other job opportunities, it is a decent place to get some experience for your resume but you will not gain many skills that are valued by...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Mr. Hilal, While I believe that you have an excellent vision and goals for the company as a whole, you desperately need to hire an excellent, experienced COO to rework the company culture from top to bottom. To ensure the long-term sustainability of Applied Medical you desperately need to do two things, value experienced employees and compensate at closer to the local industry. If Applied hired and promoted skilled,...

    Show More
    Applied Medical2019-02-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A good place to get first hand experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Control in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free Lunches(sometimes), Overall good work environment, Employees/coworkers are great, owner of the company is humble, Company offers a college reimbursement, health, dental, and vision insurance, at will company.

    Cons

    no professional advancement within department even after showing one's ambition and hard work, lower pay, very "political" management teams, some employees from "higher positions" act like they are better than you.

    Advice to Management

    AM wasn't a bad place to work at. There just wasn't much room to advance and if you did offer to have more job responsibilities there was no pay raise. Annual reviews are every 15 months and not given in a timely manner.

    Applied Medical2018-08-17

    Applied Medical Response

    October 2, 2018Team Member Relations

    So glad to hear that you enjoy your colleagues, the work environment, and benefits! We are concerned about some of the other things you expressed. Please reach out to us directly at teammemberfeedback@appliedmedical.com to tell us more about it.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work - if you're not just thinking about yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at Applied for almost five years, and what I categorize as some of the 'pros' of working here may be considered 'cons' by others. We're not competitive within the company (either individuals or teams). We're collaborative to a fault, sometimes taking longer to reach consensus, but coming from a highly competitive and 'eat or be eaten' work environment previously, the benefits far outweigh the negatives. Mostly,...

    Show More

    Cons

    No regular work-from-home opportunities, which is valuable to working parents who need a little extra schedule flexibility.

    Advice to Management

    As we get bigger, it's going to be harder to truly stay in touch with the needs of your team members. But be open to listening and evolving, and they'll tell you what they want/need to stay, because we want to.

    Applied Medical2017-10-20
  5. "Applied Med"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Applied Medical

    Pros

    Friendly staff, Great benefits, Chilled out working environment

    Cons

    Salary ver low when compared to other companies

    Applied Medical2017-03-07
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Only good if its your last option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    They offer a relatively relaxed working environment.

    Cons

    Avoid this company at all costs if you would like to succeed in this field. A lot of work that is performed there is grunt work. This company DOES NOT treat their companies with dignity. They have a tendency of blaming employees for mistakes made by upper management. Due to the inexperience held among upper management, the level of respect held between others can diminish quickly. There is a large amount of COMPANY POLITICS...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees properly. Treat your workers with respect. Allow for opportunities for hardworking engineers to actually enter upper level management.

    Applied Medical2017-02-23
  7. "Ok Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Medical full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment. The company holds events for the employees. Employee basketball, bowling, and other sport tournaments.

    Cons

    A lot of paperwork and the approval process for the documents is extremely slow. Everything has to be documented/ traceable which makes the process very tedious. Projects that should take 2 months are prolonged to 6-7 months. Extremely difficult to anticipate finishing a project.

    Advice to Management

    Review documents in a timely matter. Projects will close sooner. It will also help employees as they do not have to have the same project pending in the background.

    Applied Medical2016-09-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good short-term opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Applied Medical

      Pros

      Good work environment with good projects for Interns that actually care about getting real experience. Great opportunity for high schoolers and college students to receive some quality exposure.

      Cons

      Nepotism. From what I saw, it's nearly impossible to advance unless you know someone higher up. And the pay is a little lower than most competitors.

      Applied Medical2016-07-06
    • Helpful (4)

      "My advice is stay away."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Machinist in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Applied Medical full-time

      Pros

      Nice people. Good medical benefits. I enjoyed the people I worked with and the work environment was good. Friendly employees.

      Cons

      The company will not pay you any more than your previous job. My advice is don't let them know how much you currently make. It is none of their business. Supervisors have no ability to actually help the employees. No many opportunities to grow within the company. Very oppressive upper management.

      Advice to Management

      Remove the oppressive vice presidents. Bring in management that actually care about the growth of employees. Empower supervisors to be able to help the employees grow within the company.

      Applied Medical2016-06-25
    • Helpful (4)

      "Good for gaining experience, poor for long term employment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineering Technician in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Applied Medical full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Casual/laid back work environment and attire (for most departments). Many resources for padding resumes (certifications, extra training, etc.)

      Cons

      Low wages compared to rest of industry. In turn reduces morale. High turnover rate. Some departments feel treated like second class employees. No WIFI and you have to need a valid reason for unrestricted internet access on your desktop.

      Advice to Management

      Pay us better.

      Applied Medical2015-07-19
    Found 317 reviews