KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Applied Research Laboratories

Is this your company?

Applied Research Laboratories

Add a Review

Applied Research Laboratories Reviews

Updated May 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 of over 95 reviews

4.3
97%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Applied Research Laboratories Executive Director  Karl Fisher (no image)
Karl Fisher
17 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,889

959 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Applied Research Laboratories and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing Opportunity

    Apr 9, 2022 - PhD Student in Penn State University, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great resources and support for research and schooling

    Cons

    Having to do research while staying safe security-wise

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Poor Leadership and Lousy Pay - A Double Whammy!

    May 12, 2022 - Technical Staff Assistant IV in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some great people to work around, especially in the Facilities Maintenance group. Most employees are easy to get along with and friendly.

    Cons

    Pay is lousy. A professional electronics technician with 20+ years of experience makes less than 50k. Ethical standards of the leadership are poor. Leadership tolerates and engages in falsehoods and vendettas. There is no accountability for this behavior. During COVID, I was told verbally that I wasn't allowed to talk with anyone outside of my group for any reason. Of course, I indicated that I'll need that mandate in writing but it wasn't provided for obvious reasons.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Hard and Interesting Problems, Good People

    Mar 15, 2022 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good support from staff, interesting problems, important mission

    Cons

    Limited remote work options, Old school facility

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent culture

    Feb 8, 2022 - ISS Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, culture and environment.

    Cons

    Slow project approval and movement.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    First tech job

    Feb 2, 2022 - Engineering Scientist Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy going Good work Yearly raises

    Cons

    Boring buildings to work in

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Interesting work

    Oct 1, 2021 - Research Scientist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very interesting work and friendly folks

    Cons

    Can be stuck in the past at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good starting career

    Oct 13, 2021 - Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very nice workers, work essentially on your own pace, relaxed work environment

    Cons

    Not the most exciting place. Nothing really bad about it, just nothing extraordinary

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good job, mostly government work

    Aug 12, 2021 - Engineering Scientist Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Solid pay, good benefits, and good coworkers. You get the second half of December off essentially. Work from home was pretty flexible.

    Cons

    Not too much direction on projects. No mentorship. Projects dependent on funding from sponsors usually government sponsors which can be very frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Student Job

    Jan 29, 2020 - Senior Student Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ARL was pivotal to my career development while I was a student at UT. I was able to take on projects that taught me valuable skills. Unfortunately, I can't get into more detail here. If students are hoping to form lasting relationships with their team and turn their part-time student work into a full-time job, ARL is also a great place to work. I received a full-time offer when I was about to graduate, and while I ultimately turned it down, I loved my team and would have been well prepared for the role because of my experiences. This position was also great for my financial situation. Not only did they offer a competitive salary for a part-time student job, but also tuition reimbursements. This allowed me to get ahead of my loans, and I was able to support myself better throughout the school year. My team was also very flexible about my work hours, which was super helpful when it came to projects/exams and required classes.

    Cons

    ARL is quite far from campus, and the bus is slow and unreliable. It's much easier to work here with a car, and you'll have to plan your school schedule in a way that allows for the commute. I would occasionally get "grunt work," but that is to be expected with a student position. I also felt that I might be stifled due to bureaucracy that comes with DoD contract work if I accepted a full-time offer, but I will only place my ratings in regards to my student job. The food and building are not great for ARL itself, but the Commons Cafe is good and a new building is being constructed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Applied Research Laboratories Response

    Recruiting Sourcing Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. ARL is like a family, we all work together and strive to continuously get better.

  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Overall Good Experience

    Aug 30, 2021 - Student Technician in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Academic, Collaborative, Growth Opportunity, Innovative

    Cons

    Too much regulation Difficult to deal with older staff

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 67 Reviews

Applied Research Laboratories Reviews FAQs

Applied Research Laboratories has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 95 reviews left anonymously by employees. 97% of employees would recommend working at Applied Research Laboratories to a friend and 95% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Applied Research Laboratories employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Applied Research Laboratories. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

97% of Applied Research Laboratories employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Applied Research Laboratories 4.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 4.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Applied Research Laboratories to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Applied Research Laboratories Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Applied Research Laboratories? Share Your Experiences

or

Applied Research Laboratories Photos

+ Add Photo
Applied Research Laboratories photo of: At Sea - Photo 1
Applied Research Laboratories photo of: Drone
Applied Research Laboratories photo of: Students at work
Applied Research Laboratories photo of: At Sea (Photo 3)
Applied Research Laboratories photo of: At Sea (Photo 2)
Applied Research Laboratories photo of: Fun Work
Applied Research Laboratories photo of: Student Research at ARL:UT
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

The University of Texas at Austin
See all affiliated companies