Applied Research Laboratories Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
93%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Applied Research Laboratories Executive Director  Karl Fisher (no image)
Karl Fisher
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "ARL was pivotal to my career development while I was a student at UT(in 7 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is great - true 40 hour work week(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "far from campus(in 5 reviews)

  • "ARL is quite far from campus, and the bus is slow and unreliable(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      review

      Mar 30, 2021 - Student Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work and pay for students

      Cons

      Some projects can be mundane

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best Place For The Good Life

      Mar 4, 2021 - Engineering Scientist in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SGL for Good work life balance, Positive Environment, Opportunities to Advance

      Cons

      There are no cons for this job.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A dynamic, exciting, and stimulating place to work

      Feb 18, 2021 - Engineering Scientist Associate in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great learning opportunities, great for career growth, and great people who are genuinely passionate about the work that they do.

      Cons

      The only con is that the hiring process takes too long.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great work/life balance

      Mar 18, 2021 - Engineering Scientist Associate in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work-life balance, interesting technical problems

      Cons

      Slow pace, unclear paths to advance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing Student Job

      Jan 29, 2020 - Senior Student Associate in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ARL was pivotal to my career development while I was a student at UT. I was able to take on projects that taught me valuable skills. Unfortunately, I can't get into more detail here. If students are hoping to form lasting relationships with their team and turn their part-time student work into a full-time job, ARL is also a great place to work. I received a full-time offer when I was about to graduate, and while I ultimately turned it down, I loved my team and would have been well prepared for the role because of my experiences. This position was also great for my financial situation. Not only did they offer a competitive salary for a part-time student job, but also tuition reimbursements. This allowed me to get ahead of my loans, and I was able to support myself better throughout the school year. My team was also very flexible about my work hours, which was super helpful when it came to projects/exams and required classes.

      Cons

      ARL is quite far from campus, and the bus is slow and unreliable. It's much easier to work here with a car, and you'll have to plan your school schedule in a way that allows for the commute. I would occasionally get "grunt work," but that is to be expected with a student position. I also felt that I might be stifled due to bureaucracy that comes with DoD contract work if I accepted a full-time offer, but I will only place my ratings in regards to my student job. The food and building are not great for ARL itself, but the Commons Cafe is good and a new building is being constructed.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Applied Research Laboratories Response

      Recruiting Sourcing Coordinator

      Thank you for your feedback. ARL is like a family, we all work together and strive to continuously get better.

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      I loved working at ARL, it's particularly good for researchers and young workers

      Nov 20, 2020 - Aerospace Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent work culture, great bosses, relatively flexible work hours, awesome colleagues. The work material is state of the art.

      Cons

      Not much room for promotions, and the organization isn't set up like a normal company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Student Program opportunities

      Sep 29, 2020 - Technical Communications Student Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people were really great and easily accessible. Even though your in a lab, it really feels like home.

      Cons

      The lab could use some more windows.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      ARL

      Sep 24, 2020 - Systems Administrator in Honolulu, HI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      initmate setting, friendly and intelligent staff, relaxed atmosphere,

      Cons

      shared job duties often outside scope of work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      It was super duper awesome

      Sep 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was super duper awesome

      Cons

      Nothing was bad about it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Quality

      Nov 5, 2020 - Student Technician in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good boss, good pay, good work

      Cons

      High security, far from campus

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 55 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Applied Research Laboratories Job Seekers

    Engineering Scientist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Electrical/Mechanical Technician
    Learn About the Job
    Machine Learning Data Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    Engineering Scientist Associate
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Systems Administrator
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Applied Research Laboratories? Share Your Experiences

    Applied Research Laboratories logo
    or