Applied Systems "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Applied Systems Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated 4 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Applied Systems CEO Taylor Rhodes
Taylor Rhodes
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Really low pay) Customer Support has the lowest pay in the company for some reason(in 19 reviews)

  • "Upper management is either unaware of or chooses to ignore major communication and role issues that exist between certain teams(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in University Park, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance and good people to work with.

    Cons

    Low pay. Product owner and scrum master seem useless.

    Applied Systems2019-02-04
  2. Helpful (15)

    "Inside Sales telemarketing sweatshop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in University Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed dress code Comradery Comfortable work environment It's a pay check (barely) Looks good on resume for recent grad Nice campus Convenient if you live in burbs

    Cons

    Low pay, well below market Claw backs Micro Managment Feels more like telemarketing than anything Lack of innovation No upward mobility

    Continue reading
    Applied Systems2017-02-24
  3. Helpful (14)

    "Support Technician Level 2."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Technician Level II in University Park, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly people, good commute. Good at recognizing birthdays and anniversaries. CEO is a good guy-always keeps us updated on the company. Good entry level job.

    Cons

    Micromanaged(feel like I'm 10 years old sometimes), low pay. (Really low pay) Customer Support has the lowest pay in the company for some reason. The training isn't great- you learn on the fly..but it's painful at first for you and the customer till you know what you're doing. It's possible to advance..but hard. Turnover rate is high in customer support. Management can be really passive-aggressive.

    Applied Systems2016-06-10
  4. Helpful (17)

    "Very low pay, and stingy with raises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Testing Analyst in University Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All of my co-workers and immediate supervisors were nice. Good opportunity to learn new skills and gain experience for someone starting out in their career.

    Cons

    Starting pay is extremely low for a tech company, even considering the area. If you take such a low salary, you will find it difficult to move on and command the salary you should receive in the future. That would be fine, if it were not for the pathetic raises also. My annual raises usually BARELY beat cost of living. And one year, they even blamed the economy and had a "salary freeze". I am sure that did not also apply to upper management. I graduated college while still working for them, and asked for a raise. The bureaucracy at Applied is so bad, this process was like pulling teeth. In the end, I did not get at all close to what I deserved, considering what I put into the company. Ultimately, I had to jump ship to another company because I could see that staying at Applied would get me nowhere in my career, salary-wise. Bonuses were a joke too. $500 or $1000 was typical. Management is constantly changing. I had probably 4 different managers in the 5 years I was there. This is partly due to high turnover, partly due to new ownership. Management only cares about the bottom line (the company is owned by a venture capital firm -- their whole purpose is to maximize profits). I had to constantly track my time spent, in 15 minute intervals. I cannot complain enough about how much of an annoyance this is. It impedes and interrupts actual work, and is overall a big waste of time. The cubicles are cramped. Most of them (for developers) are in the basement and windowless. I was not allowed the flexibility to work from home. I believe this has changed since I left though, at least for some employees, 1 day per week. The 401k plan had poor fund options (high expense ratios). Medical plan was not fully paid for by the company. Vacation time was only 2 weeks. You had to put in 5 years to get 3 weeks. But despite all of those complaints, I would have stayed if it were not for the laughably low pay and raises. Ultimately, we all work to earn a paycheck that fairly compensates me for my skills and abilities. That was never going to happen at Applied.

    Continue reading
    Applied Systems2015-11-30
  5. "Great Place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    .NET Developer in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Applied Systems

    Pros

    Awesome environment. Friendly and not very stressfull

    Cons

    Low pay Very low pay Not very challenging Hard to move up Low oppertunity

    Applied Systems2015-11-30
  6. Helpful (22)

    "Favoritism, Low Pay, Micromanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Tech 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time

    Pros

    I have to put in 20 words here, there really aren't any. It's sad that the most common "pro" is free bagels.

    Cons

    Where to begin. Low pay for the industry, don't expect to make a killing here unless you still live with your parents and have no bills. Insurance package is weak and expensive I think it's just over Obamacare minimum requirements. Raises are a complete joke, $500 a year, let that sink in less than $10 a week they consider a raise. They will tell you that they don't have the money to give out a better raise then weeks later buy a new company, or remodel some part of the building or hire one of the CEOs buddies for a newly created position making 6 figures. No bonuses of any kind unless you are management or sales. You will only receive negative feedback from your superiors. The dept. that handles almost all of the calls that come in are the lowest paid of all departments. The support department has the highest turnover rate of any other department here. In one year it is not unusual for the entire dept to "flip". There is no future unless you kiss up to the right people. Management only follows their rules and guidelines when it suits them to do so. Most of the supervisors have no idea how the program even works and have not even worked on the program or took a call in 10 years, the most recent supervisor has less than a year on the phones working on the software. Management plays favorites and will give those people special opportunities not given to people who deserve it.  People who dont deserve promotions are given it over tenured employees with more qualifications.  Supervisors basically have no job requirements and aren't required to follow their schedule. Some supervisors focus all their efforts into food parties rather than work, and have lower techs do their jobs for them. Management has no reality of what it actually going on underneath them, most of their focus goes into customer retention instead of fixing why customers leave us they tell employees to ask why they hate us every 90 days.

    Continue reading
    Applied Systems2015-10-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, great health care, teleworking capabilities, great benefits

    Cons

    Low pay, stressful work enviroment, poor training/ not enough training, bad cafeteria food in main office.

    Applied Systems2015-08-01
  8. Helpful (27)

    "Support Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Tech in University Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing. This company was unbearable.

    Cons

    Management is demeaning and rude. The support managers were hired by favoritism and are inept and not intelligent. The raises are insulting and so is the salary. If you want to sit in a cubicle and be micromanaged all day for low pay, this is your job.

    Continue reading
    Applied Systems2015-06-18
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to work independently. Has provided an opportunity for me to do what I am passionate about.

    Cons

    Low pay. Manager are self-absorbed and not very respectful of anyone below them. Opportunity for advancement is talked about often. But that's it. Just talked about.

    Continue reading
    Applied Systems2015-04-08
  10. Helpful (19)

    "Helps you get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Co-workers make the time at Applied bearable

    Cons

    Like everyone else said extremely low pay. Low raises if any. And most of the positive reviews are from the CEO buddies that he hired when he came into the company who work in the Atlanta office which was built so the CEO and his friends didn't have to relocate to Chicago. The turn over in this place is huge.

    Continue reading
    Applied Systems2014-02-08
Found 19 reviews