Applied Systems "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Applied Systems Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 16 Dec 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Applied Systems CEO Taylor Rhodes
Taylor Rhodes
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Really low pay) Customer Support has the lowest pay in the company for some reason(in 19 reviews)

  • "Upper management is either unaware of or chooses to ignore major communication and role issues that exist between certain teams(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Applied Systems is an amazing company to be employed at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Applied Systems

    Pros

    They do thoughtful events throughout the year. The CEO has been known to surprise us with additional days off. Supervisors are nice as well as management. The company is growing and that is job security at its finest. Upper management of support is extremely personable and never makes you feel beneath them. They have gone out of their way to allow me to balance personal and career with understanding and patience. ... Applied employees are nice. I've met a lot of intelligent and very nice people that I will forever be friends with. Great company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Every job has issues in one way or another, and of course Applied would be no different. However, it's the manner in which they address the issues that I respect. There is nothing I can say that is bad. I'm fortunate to be an employee especially with all our eggs in one basket.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing : )

    Applied Systems2015-07-06
  2. Helpful (28)

    "Unprofessional Management Staff - Enjoy Making Rich People Richer at Your Own Expense!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Designer in University Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I started my career almost 21 years ago at this company. I stayed because of the easy commute and Family obligations. Their clients are professional, intelligent and upstanding. Having a client offer me an over $20,000 raise while at Applied was awesome!

    Cons

    I quit without notice because of workplace violations at the Supervisory, Managerial and Executive Management Staff level. If a current or former Employee has experienced sexual, threatening, religious persecution, mail theft, civil right workplace violations, then please contact the U.S. Attorney General. I filed a detail permanent record with them. If you enjoy the following, then this is the company for... you: - An Employee asked me if I was having sex or at least oral sex with my fiancé. This same Employee gave a female vibrator to another Employee in my presence as well as others at Applied as a birthday gift. - Middle Management threatened me when I wanted to go to HR about my Supervisor. - Lower Management threatened me with the following statement: "Do not ever make me look stupid in front of a client again." Willis their largest Epic client had already exited the conference room. She was asked a question by the Client and replied. Client asked for my professional opinion and I gave it. This same Lower Management Employee threatened me with me losing my job in 2013. I left Product Management because of her. - Upper Management threatened me in my final annual review in another department with the following: "XXX and I have been friends for over 20 years." She continued my review and defamed my character in it. I walked out of the company without notice. - Upper Management told me that she promoted another Employee to Supervisor because she just returned from having a baby and needed a break. Guess you have to have a baby to get a promotion and "a break". I guess no one else in the entire organization had more knowledge or experience than her. - A client sent me a tin of cookies as a thank you at Christmas and Management stole them and placed them on the common department food table. I found out because the client contacted me because they never received a Happy Holidays card and personal thank you note written inside. I was told by Management they did it because of department morale. - I worked over 60 hours a week on a Willis issue which is against the State of Ilinois Employment law. The client sent me a thank you email stating I was invaluable to them and Applied broke the law. I tried to delegate and was told that only I could resolve the issue in a timely manner. Begging me to do it for them. They bypassed Support, Escalation and Quality Assurance to come to A Product Designer for a Support issue. - I was a Senior Product Designer in Product Management but performed the additional following positions: Developer, Quality Assurance Analyst, Support Technician, Trainer, Supervisor, Financial Consultant, Product Manager, Sales Account Manager, Custom Report Writer, Data Conversion Analyst, Documentation Technician and Escalation Technician. I received benefits as a Product Designer but nothing for the other positions. When traveling, Trainers get Fridays off. I got none of the perks of the Training Department when traveling on a Sunday. - Attended dinners with clients in the evenings and had to attend their National Convention because Management was unavailable. Didn't get paid for these additional duties or compensation time and my salary was not at the Product Design Supervisory level. Enjoy doing Management's job without the high salary. If you are single and your direct report has a family, then you must do their job for them after hours. They must pick up their children by 6:00pm was her response. Upper Management loves to leave at 11:00am on a Friday because they are "on call" for the weekend when the rest of their team does not get the same privileges. I sent all violations to Applied Systems, Inc. via a certified letter and Reid French's response through their General Council was they have no additional comments in regards to an internal audit. I posted a review and their comment was that I was the only employee who has ever experienced workplace violations.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Applied Systems, Inc. needs to make certain their statement on GlassDoor is accurate when replying to a review. When I posted a review, their response was they take these allegations seriously and an opinion of1 person is all this is. I have proven without a reasonable doubt that I am not the only employee who experienced workplace violations. Obviously, they do not take them seriously since these people were... still there when I quit. Some of the workplace violations were reported in my self evaluation. I deleted my original review because that is what GlassDoor recommended. GlassDoor does not get involved with truth vs. lies. Do not defame a current or previous employee's character by stating you care about protecting your employees when your past actions prove you do not. My recommendation is to clean house of all of the unprofessional and ignorant of the law employees. My primary goal with posting this review and submitting a complaint to the U.S. Attorney General is to protect the current employees from this type of behavior. The U.S. Attorney General is the office that reviewed my complaints. I still have to file with the U.S. Department of Labor, U.S. Attorney General Civil Right Bureau and the Equal Employment Opportunity Office. Each office handles different types of complaints.

    Show More
    Applied Systems2018-09-11
  3. Helpful (17)

    "Depends on who you work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sometimes it’s like we work for 2 companies. On the one hand this is an industry leading company that is well respected and growing with a strong CEO who genuinely cares about employee engagement. On the other hand, employees are very underpaid by industry standards, business areas do not collaborate or share with one another, communication is terrible and people are micromanaged by weak management. In the... recent employee satisfaction survey, employee engagement was an area that was found to be lacking. Upper management has responded with all sorts of initiatives to remedy this situation. The problem is that they are relying on the managers to implement the improvements/changes. What they don’t realize is that it’s the managers that are the problem. You have smart people who want to work and you have a strong upper management team who want them to work and be happy and in between you have this glut of middle managers that have meeting after meeting, accomplishing nothing, micromanaging every aspect of our day and slowly sucking the souls out of employees until they leave. Of course, this is not all managers. But hint to the CEO, if you find a dysfunctional unit, look to the management. Pros - solid company, strong products, good co-workers

    Show More

    Cons

    Poor salary, minimal increases, poor communication between business teams, managers who are managers only because they never quit, not because they do the job well.

    Advice to Management

    I think I was pretty clear. In many, if not all cases, if you have a promising employee who seems to be withdrawing, look to their managers. If you have a team with huge turnover...manager. It's often that simple.

    Applied Systems2016-11-02
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Good company, pay not competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Developer in University Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very laid back atmosphere, good co-workers, low-stress, free bagels every Tuesday and popcorn every Friday (I know, really AWESOME benefits), location is great if you live nearby - you don't have to deal with any of the problems of the city.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive, review period is only once a year, upper management sets unrealistic goals, insurance software is not the most interesting thing out there.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to get on the same page with the rest of the company, it feels like we are playing catch up with promises that senior management has made, and when we can't keep up with unrealistic expectations, we are held accountable.

    Applied Systems2016-03-04
  5. Helpful (17)

    "Low Compensation; Efforts to Retain Talent Minimal at Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in University Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Recent college graduates experiencing difficulty in the job market would be well advised to submit an application for a position with this organization -- it can certainly lead to better opportunities.

    Cons

    Professionals with two or more years of experience are exceptionally under-compensated. Efforts to retain talent are minimal at best. Employees are hardly recognized for exceptional performance, even during annual reviews. Everyone must fight for raises and promotions, unless of course a personal friend holds a position in upper management in which case preferential treatment is imminent.

    Advice to Management

    1. Fight for your subordinates 2. Do not grant false assurances in respect to raises and promotions 3. Resist the temptation to become habitual "yes-men" 4. Learn to differentiate between typical and highly valued employees

    Applied Systems2016-01-22
  6. Helpful (17)

    "Very low pay, and stingy with raises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Testing Analyst in University Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All of my co-workers and immediate supervisors were nice. Good opportunity to learn new skills and gain experience for someone starting out in their career.

    Cons

    Starting pay is extremely low for a tech company, even considering the area. If you take such a low salary, you will find it difficult to move on and command the salary you should receive in the future. That would be fine, if it were not for the pathetic raises also. My annual raises usually BARELY beat cost of living. And one year, they even blamed the economy and had a "salary freeze". I am sure that did... not also apply to upper management. I graduated college while still working for them, and asked for a raise. The bureaucracy at Applied is so bad, this process was like pulling teeth. In the end, I did not get at all close to what I deserved, considering what I put into the company. Ultimately, I had to jump ship to another company because I could see that staying at Applied would get me nowhere in my career, salary-wise. Bonuses were a joke too. $500 or $1000 was typical. Management is constantly changing. I had probably 4 different managers in the 5 years I was there. This is partly due to high turnover, partly due to new ownership. Management only cares about the bottom line (the company is owned by a venture capital firm -- their whole purpose is to maximize profits). I had to constantly track my time spent, in 15 minute intervals. I cannot complain enough about how much of an annoyance this is. It impedes and interrupts actual work, and is overall a big waste of time. The cubicles are cramped. Most of them (for developers) are in the basement and windowless. I was not allowed the flexibility to work from home. I believe this has changed since I left though, at least for some employees, 1 day per week. The 401k plan had poor fund options (high expense ratios). Medical plan was not fully paid for by the company. Vacation time was only 2 weeks. You had to put in 5 years to get 3 weeks. But despite all of those complaints, I would have stayed if it were not for the laughably low pay and raises. Ultimately, we all work to earn a paycheck that fairly compensates me for my skills and abilities. That was never going to happen at Applied.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better, and maybe so many of them wouldn't jump ship after a year or two.

    Applied Systems2015-11-30
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Good Team Environment, Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multiple Positions in University Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy Commute Free Coffee Little get-togethers and weekly events (bagel day, casual Friday) Great co-workers and team atmosphere is most departments Clean workplace You are typically given all the necessary tools to do your job Customers are typically appreciative of good work, even if co-workers and management are not

    Cons

    Equality does not exist from department to department Regardless of quality of work / time with the company, the cap of your department is the cap, meaning some employees with 20+ years experience doing great work get paid (sometimes significantly) less than someone just coming in to a different department Inept HR department Micro-management to the point it feels like baby-sitting in some departments Christmas... / Performance bonuses are non-existent Raises are minimal in some departments Starting wages can have a HUGE variance that has nothing to do with experience in the field (Talking 20-30% higher pay for outside hires from non-Insurance and/or non-Tech fields, vs internal promotions) More upper management hired every month, it seems like

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Show more trust in your employees by not micro-managing every minute of their day Stop sharing your huge record profits while your employees continue to make below market value If you have a base salary for a position, make sure people are paid that base salary, whether they are hired from outside or promoted from within

    Applied Systems2015-08-24
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Senior Support Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Support Technician in University Park, IL

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Been with the company almost 20 years. The people you work with are great. There is flexible work hours within my department. What is expected is well communicated.

    Cons

    Pay is low but that is to be expected with where we are located. Upper management has no clue what we do on a daily basis. We are constantly understaffed, which puts lots of pressure because same level of service is still expected.

    Advice to Management

    Learn what you people do, listen to what they have to say and pay them accordingly, and train your people better.

    Applied Systems2015-08-21
  9. Helpful (21)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in University Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems

    Pros

    People are great, and they care. Immediate manager cares. Great work-life balance. Like coming to work daily.

    Cons

    Pay is very low. Minimal if any annual reviews (broken process tied to averages to ensure everyone is average). Upper management is unreachable until they need you then it's clear off your calendar. Promotions are pre-selected...no development of people.

    Advice to Management

    Pay structure is terrible. Upper management needs to care about us more if you're not going to pay us better. I love working here, I believe in the CEO, but it seems that the uppers are making out with bonuses while us down here are just getting left to find a better paying job somewhere else. While I love my job and my co-workers I really can't imagine being here longer than 5 years due to the pay.

    Applied Systems2015-07-10
  10. Helpful (18)

    "I am a current employee in Customer Support for Applied Systems, in the University Park, IL satellite office."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Tech in University Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you work in Customer Support, starting salary is $30k. If you have prior experience and ask for a higher salary, you can make as high as $35k - $36k, but raises beyond that are scarce and hard to come by. A recent review on this site unfairly compared Applied salaries to that of a "burger flipper". This comment is obviously by someone who has never worked in the food service industry. Applied's Customer... Support salaries are fair compared to the industry. It is also not realistic to compare Applied's salaries to those of a company downtown Chicago. Of course you'll make more working downtown. Everyone is more expensive in the city and so are the salaries. Before anyone compares their Applied salary to a comparable position in Chicago, think of the commuting time and expenses. Depending on where you live, if you have a 20 minute drive to Applied, you spend a total 40 minutes per day getting to work, time out of your personal life that you are not paid for. If you were to commute into the city via car or train, and then possibly have to walk or take a cab to get to your job. Your commuting times could be anywhere from 90 minutes and beyond. A typical commuting time into the city on a day with nice weather can be 2-3 hours both ways. Suddenly, your 9 hour and 10 minute work day is now 11, 12, maybe even 13 hours. Add the costs of gas, Metra passes, parking, taxis, etc, and you need to make more money to work downtown. So, for those people on here ripping Applied for their salaries, you have to take that into perspective. The benefits of Applied are pretty standard: 401K with full health, dental, vision, Flex HSA, and most of the typical other benefits. There is an on site cafeteria with mostly good food, but the prices can be high, especially if you get the stuff that they weigh. The coffee stations are stocked with a couple of different kinds of free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. There are fridges, toasters, and microwaves in every coffee station. Other benefits are a clean building with recently remodeled bathrooms. The people who maintain the building and the grounds do a nice job. Its nice coming to work to a place that is well maintained, looks good, and is kept up well. The CEO, Reid French is a great speaker and gives company meetings about once a quarter. He seems to be a nice guy who cares about the company, but then again, he is a CEO, he wouldn't have made it this far in his career if he wasn't good at making people think he cares, but more on this later. Hands down, the best thing about working for Applied though, are the people...at least the lower level and middle management. Upper management is nowhere to be found (because they're all in Atlanta - I did say that the University Park office is a satellite office, didn't I?) There are many great people at Applied who really care about their work, and their willingness to help out. Most of the support supervisors were in the departments they supervise, so they are willing to give hands on help to their employees to help them succeed. Also, many of the supervisors (at least the ones I see) do not run their departments with an iron fist. Call volumes are often high, and management is always asking people to pull another call, or spend 6 straight hours taking call after call without being able to log that call to anyone else. Depending on the department you are in, your work load varies significantly. Some support teams have down time and enough time to chit chat throughout the day, and other departments have supervisors that will question everything you do day in and day out, and God forbid if you go over your 30 minute unpaid lunch, they'll be on your throat. So while Im typing this in the Pros column, its also a negative. There are some great people at Applied, especially in support, but its really a crapshoot when you are hired which department you'll be in. Depending on the team, you can be miserable or pretty happy.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company has these signs all over the place saying that the company has these Core Values and that we always need to strive to be our best and do the right thing, yet, once you are hired, you are pretty much shoehorned into a Support position with little to no career path. There are several other departments within the company that if you're lucky enough to get into, you can get a nice salary bump that would... otherwise take you 4-5 years to equal in minuscule pay raises. Employees who really bust their butts get very similar raises to people who come in, do the bare minimum and keep their heads low. If you challenge management about raises, they'll tell you that Applied pays comparatively to the industry. The average raise throughout support is 3%. Some people will get more, some will get less. Lets say you start at $30k. A 3% raise is $900. So, after one year, you'll be making $30,900. They'll probably bump you to $1000 if you did a good job. So now you're making $31k. Next year, another $900. This time, they wont bump you, so youre at $31.900. Then the next year its $32,800. Maybe you did really good and got promoted and they gave you an extra $250. So now youre at $33,050. The point is, at this rate, if you stay in Support, it will take you 8-10 years to increase your salary by $10k. If you started at Applied fresh out of college, at 22, thats not so bad. But if you stayed there 10 years, you are now 32. You're probably married, and have a house, maybe you have kids. Assuming you're the breadwinner, $40k is not going to cut it for a 32 year old supporting a family. The point Im making here is that Applied treats it's support techs like dead end job workers. There is absolutely no reason for anyone to stay beyond a couple of years. And maybe thats what the company wants? The problem with that, is that Applied's primary product is extremely old. It was designed in the 80s, and although its received many updates over the years, it still runs on dBase III which is an extremely outdated platform. Applied also supports most of their older versions. You can still be on support for a version of their product that is from the very early 2000s. So, if Applied has no interest in keeping support techs for a long time, how do they plan on supporting their old products for so long? I mentioned Reid being a nice guy. The problem with Reid is that unlike Applied's former CEO, Jim Kellner who worked his way up at Applied and was passionate about the company, Reid is just a hired hand brought in by Applied's former owner Bain Capital (yes, the same one associated with Mitt Romney). The University Park office used to be the corporate headquarters, yet Mr French lives in Atlanta. So does pretty much every other member of the executive staff. There is an article on the Internet right now from the Atlanta Journal Constitution saying the company just bought a new building and is planning on hiring an additional 150 people. Has any of this been mentioned to the people in the UP office? No. Ask a member of management about it and they say they dont know what you're talking about, but they do. Like I said, Reid is a nice guy. Ive heard him talk and he's a great speaker, but I have absolutely no faith that he's in this for the long run. His job is to make Applied profitable and once he does that, he'll move onto other things. For the people in the UP office who feel that everything is still business as usual, its not. The building we work in is rented from someone else (the previous owners of the company actually), and the lease is up in 2019. Some reports originally said it was 2016, but now they say 2019. Does that mean the UP building will close in 2019? I have no idea. But it doesn't look good. The entire management team is in Atlanta, they're expanding there, plus with Bruce Rauner's recent claims to cut funding for the whole state, I bet Applied's owners are looking at the Illinois office as a less than ideal location. I can't speak for other areas of the company, but in support, the techs are overworked. There is always a shortage of staff, people rarely stay longer than 2-3 years which is either due to burnout, or getting a better offer somewhere else. There is little incentive to want to keep your career at Applied.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The thing is, that working for Applied Systems is not all bad. There are some really great people here and some nice benefits, and if you live in the south suburbs, its nice to work for a tech company that doesnt involve commuting to the city. Whether this is true or not, but it feels like management does not care for Support. Although you can hide behind saying your salaries are "competitive", I ask you,... "competitive to what". Theres definitely some Chinese Arithmetic working here when a person is hired at $30k and they know its going to take them close to a decade to get to $40k. You pride yourself on your support and your quality employees, but when someone comes along who really does a good job and cares, there is little incentive for those people to stay. If I was a recruiter in the city, I would pay attention to people who work for Applied because Id know that many of them get some good experience, but its a rotating door after a couple of years. Put your money where your mouth is, if you want to have these high standards for core values, and say you have world class support, pay your people to stay and have a career here. Also, be honest. Stop acting like the Atlanta office is just some small remote office. You're building up a workforce down there. All you have to do is search Google and you can get more information about the future of the company than what management will even tell you. I could probably go on with more info, but I dont want to come off as some jaded person who was wronged and wants to "get back" at the company. Frankly, I like where I work. It serves my purposes fine for now, but the company has made it very clear that they don't really care if I stay, so when the time is right, I will take what I've learned at Applied and find someplace else to work with a more defined career path, and salaries that I can support a family on.

    Show More
    Applied Systems2015-03-23
Found 23 reviews