Applied Underwriters Reviews

Updated May 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
44%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Applied Underwriters CEO Sidney R Ferenc (no image)
Sidney R Ferenc
75 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management decides everything with no input from the people talking to the clients(in 17 reviews)

  • "Constantly changing etiquette around altogether unimportant things such as dress code and listening devices(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Underwriters full-time

    Pros

    I would say this is a stable and solid company with great location in Bay Area. Colleagues are professional and very nice.

    Cons

    Not too much PTO per year.

    Applied Underwriters2019-05-08
  2. "Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Recruiter in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Applied Underwriters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, accommodating managers, growing company

    Cons

    pay is lower than expected

    Continue reading
    Applied Underwriters2020-05-07
  3. "Good but could be better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Bill Review Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Underwriters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are kind. Company has good benefits and offers employees allowance for the company kitchen. Manager and team leads do what they can to help employees manage work/life balance. Get to wear jeans on Fridays. Opportunity to grow your career in the company is welcomed.

    Cons

    Dress code is out of date. Most of us work in cubicles with no direct contact to clients. We should be able to wear jeans. The PTO offered is low and they don't offer sick leave which causes sick employees to come into work rather than staying home. Pay increase is based on cost of living. Everyone gets the same amount regardless of work quality. Starting hourly wage offer was low.

    Applied Underwriters2020-03-06
  4. "Expectations"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Underwriters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best coworkers in the world.

    Cons

    Employees are treated like they do not matter. No communication. You’re expected to “do better” without any training as to how to accomplish. Tenured employees are treated worse than new employees. Toxic environment. Goals are NOT fluid as to intake.

    Continue reading
    Applied Underwriters2020-03-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing benefits and work experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Bill Review Analyst 

    I worked at Applied Underwriters full-time

    Pros

    PHENOMENAL BENEFITS. It was challenging work that always kept you busy with a great team to offer support. I learned something new every day keeping up with current medical coding and billing practices, and gained extremely valuable experience. If I hadn't moved out of state, I'd still be there.

    Cons

    Favoratism in the workplace - if you're unfortunate enough to end up on the manager's target list (at no fault of your own) it can be a hostile work environment. Luckily I never made that list but I saw how it played out for some hard-working coworkers who didn't deserve that kind of treatment.

    Continue reading
    Applied Underwriters2019-12-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Clerk in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Underwriters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They will pay your health insurance premium 100% for you if you are single

    Cons

    Pay is extremely low. You are just a number and turnover is high, they would rather replace you than pay you more. They are not flexible at all. You need an extra 30 minutes for lunch to go to a dental appointment? Forget it, they force you to use your PTO in 4 hour increments instead. But they also expect you to stay late to complete all the work and you have no say on when you get to leave. You also get told when you can take lunch. They monitor your every move and make you log in your phone system if you are filing, break, lunch, etc. If you don't answer the phone within 2 rings and it rolls over to someone else, you get in trouble. They micromanage your every move and do not do anything to help you advance.

    Continue reading
    Applied Underwriters2019-12-07
  7. "Good place to gain experience."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Underwriters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid health insurance. Nice people.

    Cons

    Stagnant pay with mediocre paid time off and no sick pay.

    Continue reading
    Applied Underwriters2019-10-07
  8. "Hard Pass"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Senior Account Clerk in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Applied Underwriters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free insurance, cheap vending machines

    Cons

    Don’t care about employees or advancement

    Applied Underwriters2019-10-01
  9. "Friendly work environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Specialist in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Underwriters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    atmosphere is friendly $8.00 per day food allowance free health insurance

    Cons

    training for the payroll department is horrible, basically setting a person up for failure. More time is spent on "How was your weekend" "What did you have for lunch" than on actual training and learning the information you will need to further your career. More than an hour per day is focused on personal discussions and then your are hurried through information that is vital to suceed and pass the tests to continue employment. Too much pressure and stress, when if an employee is given ample time to learn and study this vital information (and there is a lot) the stress level would diminish, and therefore a trainee-new hire would be able to succeed

    Continue reading
    Applied Underwriters2019-10-11
  10. "Lie - Cheat - Steal"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Underwriters full-time

    Pros

    very few - and what few there are all go away within a week

    Cons

    management lies to everyone, employees, clients, agents, everyone. they claim to be transparent but can't answer simple questions

    Continue reading
    Applied Underwriters2019-10-01
Found 181 reviews