Applied Value Reviews | Glassdoor

Applied Value Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Bruce Grant
6 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Applied Value full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic culture, great work experience & exposure to top-level management of Multinational Fortune 100/Fortune 500 companies, various career development opportunities including private equity, non-profit, and business development involvement

    Cons

    Lots of travel, like any consulting firm

    Applied Value2019-02-11
  2. "One of a Kind Professional Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Applied Value full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at Applied Value for over two years and it was one of the best experience of my professional career. There were a lot of reasons why I had such a positive experience, but the main ones are probably: 1. Culture - people definitely worked hard, but it was also the kind of place where people liked to grab a beer after work 2. Impact - you were given a plenty of responsibility from day one and were always able...

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of travel and relatively long hours occasionally made for a demanding work environment. Nothing too crazy though and I knew this going in.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Applied Value2018-10-29
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Applied Value full-time

      Pros

      Great community, which is a plus

      Cons

      Smaller firm, which can be a negative

      Applied Value2018-10-05
    • "Senior Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Applied Value full-time

      Pros

      Real responsibility from day one and international travel opportunity

      Cons

      Lots of travel and long hours, but that's what I expected

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up. Great culture!

      Applied Value2017-12-09
    • "Great Internship Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Applied Value

      Pros

      - Interns given real responsibility from day one (travel on cases, interact with clients and perform meaningful work towards the success of their assigned case) - Constant personal feedback and guidance - Work Culture (fun events, non-hierarchal, people get lunch together, genuine relationships between co-workers) - People - Cases are high level and working with Fortune 500 type companies

      Cons

      - Some long nights (but nothing that's not worth it) - No formal training so there can be a small learning curve in the beginning

      Applied Value2016-09-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "Not bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Applied Value full-time

      Pros

      - Professional - Regular Off-sites - Good payment

      Cons

      Career progression and interesting cases only if you have good relationships with management.

      Applied Value2015-08-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Plenty of responsibility extremely early on"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Applied Value

      Pros

      AV is a boutique management consulting firm, which means everybody gets plenty of responsibility very early on. This is in part because of the size of the company, but also because of the culture. There is an overall go-getter attitude at AV, which can be very empowering, even at the beginning of your career. This also promotes a fast-track career for many of the consultants, reaching manager levels just 3-4 years...

      Show More

      Cons

      Large amountd of responsibility can be somewhat paralyzing if you're not used to that. There is no formal training program, which has never been a problem, but can intimidate new hires. That said, you are not left alone to drown. As with any consulting firm, travel can be taxing on personal life.

      Applied Value2015-02-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Unique Experiences to Learn and Grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Applied Value

      Pros

      Fantastic Colleagues, Fast Track for Performance, Opportunities Unmatched by Other Firms

      Cons

      Demanding Travel Schedule can beTaxing

      Applied Value2014-12-17
    • "Not a great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Applied Value full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Compensation is competitive for New York

      Cons

      Terrible Work Environment. No one has lives outside of work

      Advice to Management

      Change...

      Applied Value2014-02-07
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends

      I have been working at Applied Value

      Pros

      Great progression into business development and sales

      Cons

      Work-life balance and extensive travelling

      Applied Value2011-08-12
    Found 14 reviews