Cover image for Apprenda
Logo

Apprenda

Is this your company?

Apprenda

Add a Review

Apprenda Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 47 of over 50 reviews
4.9
98% Recommend to a Friend
100% Approve of CEO

Found 47 of over 50 reviews

4.9
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Apprenda CEO Sinclair Schuller (no image)
Sinclair Schuller
38 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

496

70 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Fantastic Company

    Feb 24, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and great leadership

    Cons

    No longer solvent - sad it ended

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    This Company Set MANY UP for FUTURE SUCCESS

    Feb 5, 2021 - Vice President in Troy, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wow... I am looking back at the time I spent with this company and this team and it is simply amazing. The level of talent that we recruited into this company is unmatched. Having that said the level of talent now in the workforce because of the Apprenda experience is second to none.

    Cons

    Wishing we didnt have to exit

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Apprenda team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best decision I've ever made...

    Apr 19, 2016 - Business Development Representative in Troy, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's hard to quantify all the pro's of this company. I came to Apprenda, with several years of sales experience, but lacking strong technical expertise outside of my general knowledge and everyday utilization of technology. This caused me to be very hesitant and nervous during my first few days on the job and I doubted that I could be successful working for a software company in the rapidly growing industry of cloud computing. Any doubts I had were wiped away in one week, and this is why... - Extensive training program during first month - Constant positive reinforcement, support and collaboration from peers - Active mentoring - Fun and interactive on-boarding, via internal website based campaign - Competitive pay and career growth opportunities - Team building activities frequently - Contagious team atmosphere - Inspiring colleagues and leadership team - Friday lunches for employees - Great work space

    Cons

    I'll let you know when I find one...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Extremely innovative tech, amazing culture, and great opportunities to grow!

    Mar 23, 2015 - Technical Account Manager in Troy, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started at Apprenda as an intern when the company was fairly small and have been working here ever since. The people, technology and office perks are a few reasons why I recommend this company to every person I meet. The team is extremely supportive and genuinely interested in your growth, both from a technical perspective and personal interests. My favorite part about working at Apprenda is that I get to wear many hats. On a day to day basis, I am on the phone with customers, then I build sample integrations, followed by discussing the road map with the Product Team. If the reasons above arent enough, at Apprenda we constantly have fun events or outings. People actually enjoy working with each other and are eager to go out with fellow employees after hours.

    Cons

    From Day 1 you are expected/encouraged to be extremely driven and tackle complex projects. If you are not independent enough and can learn from your mistakes, this is probably not the right place for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best Company I've Worked At, Excellent Future Outlook

    Jul 7, 2016 -  in Troy, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great working environment with like-minded teams; frustrations are rare. Weekly catered lunches, free beer on tap, refrigerators stocked with all kinds of drinks, delicious espresso. Team and company-wide events, bi-weekly company updates, quarterly retrospectives, cross-functional projects - this is a team-focused company that encourages everyone to get involved and contribute the best way they can.

    Cons

    None for me! But consider potential cons, depending on who you are: Being a startup, there isn't a clearly defined career path, so you make one for yourself; if you don't want to take initiative on your own, then maybe wait until the company is bigger. If you are expecting an annual salary adjustment just for showing up to work, you might be disappointed. Things can change very quickly, so if you don't like change, you might not like working at Apprenda.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Changing the game...

    May 27, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Kirkland, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is no other company like Apprenda in the Albany, NY area. We are literally changing the game in IT and creating a transformational product. The company is like my second family, yet still embraces my actual family to create an excellent work-life balance. The pay and benefits are excellent for the area. I feel a great sense of pride to be a part of this company and we are all motivated to build Apprenda into something that is much, much bigger. The work you do instantly impacts the organization and our customers.

    Cons

    Being a mature start-up, we all have to wear many hats to accomplish the tasks at hand. This can be seen as a negative sometimes if you are not used to this type of work environment. It takes a very special and highly motivated individual to truly make the cut at this company.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Intern

    Feb 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Kirkland, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incredibly nice group of people. Work and Projects are made to feel meaningful, and personal impact is palpable. Very relaxed and understanding atmosphere, still go things done when they needed to be.

    Cons

    I was an intern, and much of the time it felt like my exact task was hazy. I had a few projects, but between those, I always felt like I spent too much time waiting for something to do or asking for something. On a few tasks that where put on JIRA, I asked to start them and was told not to. Lose project definitions when I had a project to do. Misunderstanding with management on difficulties with project time-line.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The best company you will ever work for. Apprenda PaaS is pivotal for the enterprise.

    Sep 27, 2014 - Senior Product Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You need three things when deciding to work for a tech startup: 1) you need to be hungry bring something 2) you need to like the people and the management 3) you need to believe in the technology. Apprenda has all that and more: Great enviroment Challenging Nice work-life balance Tons of after work activities (trivia, kickball, bars, Artichoke pizza) Free beer (and other refreshments) Hyper-growth company Startup life with enterprise focus Friendly teams Super productive managers and employees Office in middle of NYC

    Cons

    Not many cons for working at Apprenda. The headquarter are in Troy New York so when you visit, if you are not already from there, it is a little sleepy compared to NYC.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Territory Sales Manager

    Apr 22, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have never worked with people who have so much passion for one specific cause. Everyone wants to help and see each other (and the company) succeed. If you need something accomplished from the product team in order to help close business, they work so hard to make sure it happens. Apprenda has a work hard, play hard mentality; we might be in the office during late hours but we get treated so well it is worth all the time.

    Cons

    Dieting does not happen- too much great food and drinks :).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Company I Have Ever Worked For

    Jun 4, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Troy, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture is top-notch. Everyone gets along and is friendly with one another The office is newly renovated and modernized Upper management has a clear direction with the company and product Interview process is unique and thorough, ensuring the best talent is hired Great communication between teams working for a common purpose Lots of perks like free beverages all the time, free lunch Fridays, great health insurance, gym on-site, etc. Employees are made to feel worthwhile, and in exchange everyone pulls their own weight. Employees are rewarded for going above and beyond regularly.

    Cons

    Troy can be kind of sketchy if you venture too far north or south 401k options aren't the best

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews
</>Embed

Apprenda Reviews FAQs

Apprenda has an overall rating of 4.9 out of 5, based on over 50 reviews left anonymously by employees. 98% of employees would recommend working at Apprenda to a friend and 91% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Apprenda employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Apprenda. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

98% of Apprenda employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Apprenda 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.9 for culture and values and 4.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Apprenda to be management, benefits, senior leadership and the cons to be career development, compensation.

Work at Apprenda? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Apprenda Photos

+ Add Photo
Apprenda photo of: Lounge
Apprenda photo of: Lunch/ Break Area
Apprenda photo of: NYC Office Wide Shot
Apprenda photo of: NYC Office Conference Room
Apprenda photo of: Apprenda Off-site, Citi Field
Apprenda photo of: Series C Announcement Party, Lucas Confectionary Wine Bar
Apprenda photo of: Annual Summer Picnic
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Apprenda Job Seekers Also Viewed

Vicarious Visions Logo
Vicarious Visions

4.0

81 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 50 Apprenda reviews submitted anonymously by Apprenda employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Apprenda is right for you.