Apria Healthcare Reviews

Updated Jun 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Apria Healthcare CEO Dan Starck (no image)
Dan Starck
384 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, respected by my managers(in 28 reviews)

  • "They say you can work from home depends what manager you have(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Customer service for processing is not always on same page so depending who you get that day(in 79 reviews)

  • "from local and upper management(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Outstanding company who promotes from within!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Manager in Rockford, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apria Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked for Apria for close to 10 years with my initial role at a billing center as a Q.A. Rep. I was new to the industry and eager to learn the business. Apria gave me this opportunity by promoting from with-in. The benefits are competitive with great incentives. This is a company who truly cares about your success. The training programs leave you with a greater knowledge to be hired with no experience and be given the opportunity of 5 promotions over ten years to become a Divisional Manager speaks for itself. THANK YOU, APRIA HEALTHCARE!

    Cons

    I would have liked to have seen more cross-training for employees who didn't necessarily want to take a different position, but be a resource/back-up.

    Apria Healthcare Response

    May 4, 2020Sr Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback, and for your tenure of 8-10 years! We appreciate all of the hard work you did for our patients and are confident you found it to be rewarding. Apria absolutely promotes from within, as our goal is to retain top talent like you. Our patients and employees are our number one priority and we will continue to offer training and cross training, as we agree it is important to understand all aspects of the business. We wish you the very best in your future endeavors!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great and very professional intake process"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Respiratory Therapist in Valley View, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apria Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New Hire, but Human Resources seems to outstanding. A nice transition team coming from Clinical work back into Home Care

    Cons

    No Cons to speak on at this juncture.

    Continue reading

    Apria Healthcare Response

    April 13, 2020Sr Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Welcome to the Apria team, we are so happy you are here! We are excited to have people with great skills such as yourself onboard to help our patients. Thank you for the work that you do! Please feel free to contact us should you need anything at HRConnect@apria.com.

  3. "Good for a college student"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Apria Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They let me work any hours I wanted as long as I hit 40 and all the work was completed.

    Cons

    Be prepared to wear multiple hats

    Apria Healthcare Response

    June 9, 2020Sr Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and the flexibility that was offered! Thank you for your hard work! Due to the complex nature of our business, employees sometimes are asked to cross train and/or complete projects outside of their normal work duties. This not only helps the business and our patients, but also offers our employees the opportunity to gain valuable knowledge of different aspects of the business. We strive to promote from within! Please feel free to contact us should you wish to discuss anything further at HRConnect@apria.com.

  4. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Do not work for this company you are warned!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Apria Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing positive to say. Bad experience

    Cons

    So my situation was insane. I was let go by this company for no reason during a global pandemic.... no misconduct whatsoever. I go to file for unemployment and I get denied because the company coded my termination as “misconduct”. Are you kidding me Apria Healthcare? Not only is this probably illegal in some way but it’s beyond unethical. They coded my termination as that so they wouldn’t have to pay out unemployment! When I worked for the company in the short time, I followed all directions, filled out all paperwork, did my training and they let me go for no reason. And coded as misconduct. Absolutely disgusting. Awful company to work for hands down. And when you try to contact HR they give 0 explanation as to why they coded the termination like that. They’ll send you to employee relations who will tell you “ I am sorry but that’s just how It was done.” Pretty sure it’s illegal to do that. On top of that the trainer was AWFUL and very unprofessional. Very unprofessional company overall. Don’t waste your time. I read a review similar to mine so it shows how much this company lacks ethical value. Oh and on top of that I still haven’t got my last paycheck & it’s been over 4 weeks since my last day on the job. You cannot make this stuff up people....

    Continue reading

    Apria Healthcare Response

    July 8, 2020Sr Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not have a satisfactory experience working with us. There are many variables that are considered in an involuntary termination, including the reason code which is determined by the specific infraction(s) and situation. Unemployment insurance is governed by the state in which an employee works and the judge hearing the case makes the final decision as to whether or not a person is eligible for unemployment insurance per that state's requirements. Apria Healthcare offers a robust learning and development system that offers both web based and facilitator led classes. Our training facilitators are well versed in our courses and have well rounded experience to assist our new hires in their future job functions. Human Resources is always available to assist with concerns from our employees and we are happy to discuss your particular situation with you further. Please feel free to contact us directly at HRConnect@apria.com. We do wish you the best in your future endeavors.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Apria Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    stable employment for all reasons

    Cons

    pay could be better for all

    Apria Healthcare Response

    June 1, 2020Sr Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and welcome to the Apria team! We are happy to have you onboard. Apria provides the opportunity for pay increases annually dependent on both employee and company performance. We also offer a wide range of health and wellness benefits for employees as well as Apria Perks at Work which offers discounts on a variety of goods and services just for being an employee! If there is anything we can assist you with please don't hesitate to contact us at HRConnect@apria.com

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Do not recommend! Don’t waste your time."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Qualification Specialist in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Apria Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast and easy on boarding process.

    Cons

    First, my offer letter said I was supposed to be a “Patient Qualification Specialist” and that’s what I was expecting to do. When I arrived for my first day they told me I was “Kaiser Customer Service”. Two completely different jobs! I never wanted to be customer service. But I went along with it.... training was only 3 weeks and a lot of info thrown at you. During that time I had a medical emergency and ended up cracking my tooth and the nerves were exposed. I had to go to the ER/ Emergency dentist. I got a doctors note and gave it to my trainer. A week later I was FIRED for attendance in training. I had a one day medical emergency and had to go to the ER because my pain was an 11 on a scale of 1-10. I worked hard during training, passed the final with a 98% and I got fired for missing a day! One day, for a medical emergency. They do not care about new hire employees... that is clear to me. I went in excited to work here and went out with a very bad impression on the company. Wrongfully terminated. How could someone be fired for “attendance” when they missed one day with a doctors note? Also, my trainer was very cut throat. And went extremely fast in the 3 weeks we had to learn. I was called out multiple times for not retaining something after I went over it once for 15 minutes... I can’t believe what an unbelievably bad experience I’ve had with this company. I left a position at a case manager job at hospital for this company. Super disappointing Apria...

    Continue reading

    Apria Healthcare Response

    June 9, 2020Sr Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your training experience. Due to the complex nature of issues our employees handle relating to our patients and their healthcare needs, we agree that training is complex. We have a rigorous training agenda in order to fully prepare our employees to deal with these complex issues they will be working with. Due to this, we require full attendance in training, as missing just one day can equate to the loss of valuable information needed to perform the position successfully. In an effort to set our new employees up for success, we generally offer an opportunity to restart in a later class if personal issues arise preventing them from attending training. Please contact us at HRConnect@apria.com and we can discuss your situation further. Thank you

  7. "A company who doesn't recognize or respect their RT's"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Respiratory Therapist in Bellingham, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Apria Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Being able to help people feel better and breathe better, but then, as an RT, you can go anywhere and fulfill this.

    Cons

    Extreme disrespect due to you being "an RT" ...from local and upper management. This was always confusing, because while they are forced to employ RT's, RT's are perhaps the employees who are treated the worst there. You will be overworked, and likely underpaid.

    Continue reading

    Apria Healthcare Response

    June 22, 2020Sr Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We thank you for your 10+ years of service to our patients and our company and are glad that you enjoyed helping our patients. Our people are very important to us and we value all of our employees, in all positions, as each employee is vital in servicing our patients. We are sorry to hear you felt that you were not valued. We would like to hear more about your specific circumstances, please feel free to contact us at HRConnect@apria.com.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Was employed 13 years A/R for suspended billilg department. No longer working due company work reduction. 3/29/19."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative in Oxnard, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Apria Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Co workers become family. Work environment. Great customer service.

    Cons

    Pay rate. No promotion for advancement.

    Continue reading

    Apria Healthcare Response

    May 4, 2020Sr Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We thank you for your 10+ years of service to our patients! We are glad that you built strong relationships with your coworkers and enjoyed your working environment. Apria evaluates our compensation on an annual basis to ensure we are competitive with our industry. We also offer several benefit options so employees can choose what coverages work best for themselves and their families. We pride ourselves in promoting from within, as the majority of our leaders have been with us for many years in different roles throughout the organization. If you have further feedback you would like to share, please feel free to contact us at HRConnect@apria.com.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "needs leadership at local level"

    3.0
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Overland Park, KS

    I worked at Apria Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    can help a lot of people

    Cons

    leadership has unrealistic expectations for employees

    Continue reading

    Apria Healthcare Response

    April 20, 2020Sr Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed helping our patients! Our patients and employees are the number one priority at Apria Healthcare. We have gone through several positive changes in the past year to bring a more localized and personal experience to our patients. We have also streamlined processes to assist our employees with the great work that they do each day! We know our industry can be challenging, and sometimes things change quickly to keep up with our patients needs. Please feel free to contact us at HRConnect@apria.com with any further feedback.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Excited to work for Apria!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Service Specialist in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apria Healthcare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    wonderful interview; easy on boarding

    Cons

    I have none to date

    Continue reading

    Apria Healthcare Response

    April 13, 2020Sr Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. Welcome to the Apria family, we are so happy you're here! We are glad to hear that your interview and onboarding process went smoothly. We have a comprehensive recruiting process so that we can find the very best talent like you! Please feel free to contact us should you need anything. HRConnect@apria.com.

Found 907 reviews