Aptiv Reviews | Glassdoor

Aptiv Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 343 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Aptiv CEO Kevin P. Clark
Kevin P. Clark
89 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to develop personally and professionally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sustaining Engineer in Kraków

    I have been working at Aptiv full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Familiar atmosphere, no visible hierarchy in the office, collaborative people and good energy. Very good organizational approach from management. Continuous training on board and possibility to grow and develop.

    Cons

    Honestly I don't see any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going that way.

    Aptiv2019-05-12

    Aptiv Response

    May 17, 2019Sr. Manager - Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience with Aptiv. We thrive on feedback and thoroughly enjoy hearing from you that we're a great place to work. By consistently offering training and professional opportunities for our employees, we enhance our ability to to create a safer, greener ...

    Show More
  2. "Good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT PMO Senior Portfolio Advisor in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aptiv full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Qualified and experienced peers. Good tools.

    Cons

    Relationship between business and IT teams could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Moving HQ from US to Ireland laying off people affected image negatively.

    Aptiv2019-06-13
  3. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vehicle Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aptiv full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solve exciting and tough engineering problems. The innovation is very rapid and everyone is passionate about their work.

    Cons

    Typical pains of companies experiencing fast growth.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep aligned with current goals, try not to exceed budget on certain projects, but overall they’re doing a good job.

    Aptiv2019-06-12
  4. "Easy work, pay is alright. Almost not worth the internal nonsense if you know your value and won’t compromise that."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vehicle Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aptiv full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Snacks, gym, company phone. 1 free meal a week and the benefits are ok. And the job itself is cool and cutting edge. Most of the people are cool and will get down after work.

    Cons

    Benefits are expensive and require somewhat significant additional costs ( hope you don’t actually need healthcare) the management is more talk than action and tell you to do one thing and they do another (usually something they told you not to do) Communication is poor at times, seems like they don’t pass on the important stuff to one another. HR is a nightmare and deliberately targets workers with what seems like impunity...

    Show More
    Aptiv2019-06-22
  5. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Internship 

      I have been working at Aptiv full-time

      Pros

      Laid back atmosphere. Do not feel overworked at any time. That is not due to lack of work.

      Cons

      Automotive is a slow industry

      Aptiv2019-05-22

      Aptiv Response

      May 28, 2019Sr. Manager - Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for take your time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your internship with Aptiv!

    • "Company New Beginning, product and culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Advanced Manufacturing Engineer in Auburn Hills, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Aptiv full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      New Company some opportunity trying to created new culture.

      Cons

      new company leadership direction not solidified, some inexperienced and not prepared, not sure of direction.

      Advice to Management

      Understand the direction of your product and pursuit of business and required resources.

      Aptiv2019-06-03

      Aptiv Response

      June 5, 2019Sr. Manager - Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are always working on enhancing our employee experience and appreciate your insights. Your review has been noted, as we take all feedback into consideration.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Not at all comfortable place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Aptiv full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Nothing much. Retirement benefits are good.

      Cons

      I was interviewed for one role and was given totally different role when I joined. Lot of work pressure. Management not sensible. Poor work culture . Expected to work on weekends, infact 24x7. They intentionally keep 1 hr meetings at 6pm. I was assigned bugs on Day2. My worst job experience so far in life.no good Chairs. No work life balance. I have to survive until I find a good job

      Advice to Management

      Please be sensible

      Aptiv2019-06-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great benefits. Good co-workers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Algorithm Engineer in Troy, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Aptiv full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great 401k Match and HSA contributions from Aptiv. Aptiv sponsored Education Assistance. Affordable insurance plans. Good employee discount portfolio Subsidized food at the cafeteria. Some of the brightest minds in the industry are currently working here. Great future outlook and opportunity to create products that will help people in real world.

      Cons

      Insurance plan is high deductible HSA. While Aptiv contributes to the HSA account, the out of pocket maximum is quite high. No flat co-pays at ERs and Urgent Cares. As a relatively new company with people from all backgrounds, the processes have something to be desired.

      Advice to Management

      Hire more experienced people as opposed to mostly college grads.

      Aptiv2019-04-29

      Aptiv Response

      April 30, 2019Sr. Manager - Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for writing about your experience with Aptiv. We strive to be a great place for everyone to work. We love hearing about the benefits you enjoy the most, and we agree that we have a very exciting future ahead of us! We've also noted your comments about where we may have ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (2)

      "AptivMobility"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Vehicle Operator in Las Vegas, NV

      I have been working at Aptiv full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great colleagues, great work space environment. Awesome industry.

      Cons

      Progression is non existent unless you're friends with the management.

      Aptiv2019-04-08

      Aptiv Response

      April 9, 2019Sr. Manager - Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We love hearing that you enjoy being part of the Aptiv team and working in our Las Vegas office. We have also noted your feedback about career progression and will use it to look for opportunities for improvement.

    • Helpful (2)

      "Electrical engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Auburn Hills, MI

      I have been working at Aptiv full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      It is nice people around you. Family kind of atmosphere. Here and there there are some fun projects to work on

      Cons

      Bad upper management. Yearly reviews can be painfull. Pretty slow career progression. Not a good work life balance package. You have to buy extra vacation time

      Advice to Management

      Improve all of the above. It seems like the employees are not being valued for their contributions. Bonuses are not being distributed objectively.

      Aptiv2019-03-16

      Aptiv Response

      March 18, 2019Sr. Manager - Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your review. We're appreciate hearing the "pros," and we couldn't agree more that our employees and our next-gen technologies are some of the highlights of working here at Aptiv! We're also passionate about getting stuff right and appreciate the honest feedback.

    Found 343 reviews