Aqua-Tots Swim Schools Swim Instructor Reviews | Glassdoor

Aqua-Tots Swim Schools Swim Instructor Reviews

Updated Sep 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Aqua-Tots Swim Schools CEO Paul Preston
Paul Preston
1 Ratings
  1. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Swim Instructor 

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time

    Pros

    Great management and staff, love it here!

    Cons

    No cons to this job

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2019-09-02
  2. "I love the kids, management need work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Swim Instructor in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My favorite part is working with young children who I get so connected too. My coworkers are great and fun to be around. We also get wsi swim instructor certified and have tons of training. If you think you can't handle being an instructor then think again because we are very well trained. We also get monthly meetings and weekly updates which I love because we get advice and go over instructing. Also the meetings... are fun and the weekly updates includes praises.

    Show More

    Cons

    We are forced to work sick unless we give a doctors note. If we miss a meeting due to an illness we have to make it up or get written up and it's not paid. It's unfair because sometimes we have doctor's notes excusing it and if it's a meeting maybe recap it, record it or pay us to attend. It's not fair to us that we were sick and couldn't be there and now won't get paid. The boss will sometimes snap at you,... several times he's snapped while I'm in the pool asking a quick question. If you look young master instructors will assume your in high school and not treat you seriously. There is a huge age discrimination issue I feel. Once I told I was older I got treated better. We do have to clean poop/puke in the pool, sometimes dive down using goggles to get it. Some kids are scared and pull your hair and scream in your face.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider being more patient. One time I got yelled at for a kid puking just as he entered the pool. It wasn't my fault, it was just him entering and he puked, management said it was breath control and yelled in front of parents.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2019-05-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Wasn’t for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Swim Instructor in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a job Get to work with kids

    Cons

    Have to submerge kids even if they are fighting it Have 30 min classes that always run over so you constantly have to make up time No bathroom breaks Can’t fill out the child’s aquacard right after the lesson so you have to try to remember where everyone was and fill them in at the end of the shift(which can cause the kid to not advance as fast) Have to stick to the curriculum taught and can’t deviate at all... (not even a little) Training is awful, very strict and they yell at you (which isn’t how I learn so I end up blanking and not learning anything which leads to more yelling. I left crying twice) Doesn’t pay enough for what’s expected

    Show More
    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2018-08-12
  4. "Terrible work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Swim Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the kids are super fun. Watching the kids learn to swim and progress through skills is really exciting. Some of the staff I work with have been very kind to me.

    Cons

    Very hostile attitude! coworkers whipped each other with wet towels! No scheduled breaks! Very emotionally taxing to be paid to submerge crying children underwater. All other staff are either teenagers or college age and carry a heavy attitude, completely unprofessional. I wanted to enjoy working here so badly, but between my coworkers hazing me, and the fast paced nature of the classes, I cant work here any longer.

    Advice to Management

    Please manage worker behavior :(

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2018-04-10
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Swim Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Swim Instructor in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time

    Pros

    Teaching children to reach swimming goals. Seeing the smiling faces of the swimmers and parents.

    Cons

    Having a swim background myself, I enjoyed teaching lessons to kids. If AT format of lessons were not followed perfectly you were called on it and in a less than professional way. The lesson plans are in black and white - I get it - Kids are not black and white. Modification to a lesson plan should be allowed as long as the swimmer ultimately achieves the intended goal. The enjoyment as an employee is lost quickly.... Even though swimmers reach their goals and families are happy, management can ALWAYS find a flaw in the way you taught that lesson. Extremely low praise or appreciation shown by management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    FOLLOW "THE CORE VALUES" THAT YOU HAVE YOUR STAFF FOLLOW! LEAD BY EXAMPLE. Simply put have management employed at your locations and appropriate and experienced management. The employee turnover is unbelievable. Very few employees felt appreciated or wanted. It was as if the employees were more of a pain in the butt to management. Zero room for advancement! One broken promise after another from management.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2017-12-12
  6. "The owner, Arlette, for Helotes and rim location is horrible !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Swim Instructor in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed teaching kids & the friendly environment. Discounts on food Discounts on swim lessons for loved ones Schedule was flexible if you're in high school

    Cons

    The owner is all about herself. Doesn't really care about anything. Only concerns is if she's making money. She'll schedule her kids to work at the store (and they never do anything) and everyone else ends up paying the price if something goes wrong. Parents get upset because the lessons are the same every class.

    Advice to Management

    The owner should really consider better management skills like the GM at the Helotes location. He's a great leader.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2017-07-28
  7. "WSI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Swim Instructor in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed my managers and cooperate were really nice! Family aspect amongst employees Incredible pay for high school and college students Very easy to pick out your schedule

    Cons

    The pool wasn't always under health code Spoiled children are almost always gonna be an issue Sometimes pay got cut so you didn't always get what you worked for. The inservices were sometimes helpful but sometimes were only a social activity

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work but don't be sketchy!

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2017-06-06
  8. "WSI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Swim Instructor in Westminster, CA

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools for more than a year

    Pros

    Work family atmosphere, teach children live-saving skills and have fun!

    Cons

    Wear a swimming cap if you dont want damaged hair!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing job! They cherish their workers!

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2017-01-12
  9. "One of the Best Places I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Swim Instructor in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This place is great! It's a very rewarding job where you get to go in and actually teach a life skill to kids! You end up building great relationships with the kids as well as the staff, management and owners. I loved working here! My specific owners definitely make you feel like family and have your best interest in mind.

    Cons

    It was difficult at times when we transitioned from summer to fall. We would have a lot of instructors leave off to college and so those of us that stayed picked up a lot of extra shifts for a while. (Although it was also kind of nice on the paycheck)

    Advice to Management

    Only thing I can think of was better communication between the stores - Otherwise they were great!

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2016-09-20
  10. "instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Swim Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools

    Pros

    Seeing kids smile and laugh!

    Cons

    Unorganized management and lot of drama! You don't get trained very well, they just kind of throw you in there and go behind your back and not address issues to your face.... Very shady beware!

    Advice to Management

    Dont pretend to know what you are doing then run away from your mistakes.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2016-08-23
Found 15 reviews