Aqua-Tots Swim Schools Water Safety Instructor Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Aqua-Tots Swim Schools Water Safety Instructor Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
16%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Aqua-Tots Swim Schools CEO Paul Preston
Paul Preston
1 Ratings
  1. "Great entry level job for those still in school or working other jobs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Water Safety Instructor in Springboro, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and management, excellent experience teaching children, great entry level pay ($9.75 during training). Relatively low stress and short hours make working here easy to fit into busier schedules for those who are going to school or working other jobs.

    Cons

    Short shifts, few hours unless willing to substitute and also work multiple positions. Hard to get consistent hours. In services can be difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and continue treating employees well and they will return the favor with hard work! Keeping a fun and low-stress environment helps reduce turnover rate when the going gets tough.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2018-07-20
  2. "Super rewarding! Tons of fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Water Safety Instructor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    LOVE getting to bond and grow relationships with kids and families, great life skills, good first job

    Cons

    occasional lack of communication between families and staff as well as manager and employers

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2019-10-16
  3. "Rewarding job with horrible staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Water Safety Instructor in Surprise, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work with kids Families are happy and excited to come swim Meet fantastic kids and families Learn great life skills

    Cons

    No breaks. If you have to pee you will be told to pee in the pool. If an "in water incident" happens you must clean it. This means you are cleaning vomit, feces, etc. Kids will hit, kick, scream, spit, throw things at you (which is expected, but its not in the job description and they sure don't pay enough for it) Getting a shift covered is impossible. Their "core values" do not align with the actual... representation from management to staff. "relationships over profits"? NOPE. All they want is MONEY. They advertise higher than they actually pay. i.e. $12.50 actually ends up being $11.00. No negotiations. The work you do is not probable cause for a raise. Work your heart out, it doesn't matter. Chlorine is rarely where it is supposed to be. Be prepared for dry skin, rashes, and hair loss. The location I worked at had multiple spots of BLACK MOLD. These were even noticed and pointed out by customers. Multiple leaking spots which led to this. The teaching cards we used had BLACK MOLD in between the lamination. Full time staff do not get benefits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach. Happy staff = happy customers. Get new management/even out work loads. Stop over working your employees.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2019-08-31
  4. "DO NOT WORK AT AQUA TOTS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Water Safety Instructor in Auburn Hills, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there are absolutely no pros

    Cons

    the MANAGERS SUCK very much

    Advice to Management

    stop being mean

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2019-09-11
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Water Safety Instructor in Pearland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and staff on hand

    Cons

    Pay was not as desired

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2019-06-25
  6. "Water Safety Instructor Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Water Safety Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The kids are enjoyable and some of the families are fun to work with. They don't give you a lot of hours. (This could be a con depending on your current situation)

    Cons

    They really do not care about employees. They do not help you in finding subs when you are ill or going on vacation. At my location we were not aloud to play games with the kids as we were only allowed to practice skills. We had to submerge children even if they were visibly fighting it. Little to no career advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Show more appreciation for your instructors by helping with time off, encouraging fun in the lessons, and provide constructive criticism and positive feedback rather than just blatant criticism.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2018-06-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Water Safety Instructor in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff outings, great place to work, lot's of friends, good pay

    Cons

    Lots of kids and families if you don't do well around kids this isn't the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an open door policy and communicate with everyone what they need to improve.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2017-10-26
  8. "juice isn't worth the squeeze."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Water Safety Instructor in Lone Tree, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    First and foremost- you have the ability to teach children a skill that could potentially save their lives, which is HUGE! I also felt a great sense of accomplishment when you work with a child and watch them develop, overcome fears, progress with skills and become successful swimmers. The kids I worked with brightened my life so much I was actually willing to excuse the laundry list listed in the cons column for... quite a while...

    Show More

    Cons

    One of the bigger downfalls is the hours are minimal, and the shifts are short; ie: 8:45am-1:30pm. Another huge issue was actually violating labor laws by not allowing any ability for a rest or bathroom break- all due to the scheduling of classes. If you are scheduled for a five and a half hour shift, you will be in the water for AT LEAST five hours, with no break time between your classes. A large majority (90%) of... the staff is high school aged, so there is a lot of gossip and unnecessary drama, but an even more severe lack of dependency, work ethic and motivation; if you are an employee who is passionate or hardworking, you will inevitably have to pick up the slack. The discipline and corrective action policies were selectively enforced, showing favoritism and allowing peers to not live up to their responsibilities with little to no consequence, which doesn't harbor a healthy working environment. It also didn't help that my manager was less than effective and absent from the facility more often than not, and with no second in command, which lead to a lot of drama and miscommunication and ultimately caused me to end my employment there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find managers who have strong leadership and communication skills, are effective, motivated, committed and present. Adjust school schedules to accommodate all in-water staff with a reasonable rest break. Reconsider hiring credientials for prospective employees, such as changing the age of application to eighteen.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2017-09-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Aqua-Fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Water Safety Instructor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is great and the facility is family friendly. The kids are a joy to teach (although sometimes resistant to the water, but that's expected). It feels like an atmosphere anyone can be around, and it's always a blast walking in and wondering what kind of new experiences each shift will bring you next.

    Cons

    I wish the training was a little more in-depth than just a two-day session reviewing about everything there is to know about the company. This is so the new employees are not overwhelmed by the amount of knowledge they are expected to remember by the time co-teaching rolls around.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2017-02-07
  10. "WSI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Water Safety Instructor in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, fun with kids, good exercise. Great environment to work in.

    Cons

    Management was hit or miss. Poor decision making in who to promote. Training was good at first, but continued training needed improvement.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2016-12-06
Found 13 reviews