Aqua-Tots Swim Schools "high school" Reviews | Glassdoor

Aqua-Tots Swim Schools Employee Reviews about "high school"

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 127 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Aqua-Tots Swim Schools CEO Paul Preston
Paul Preston
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun if you like working with kids(in 12 reviews)

  • "I loved taking what I was learning in the classroom and see it in real life at Aqua Tots(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Each Aqua-Tots is ran independently, so management style varies(in 7 reviews)

  • "Chlorine is rarely where it is supposed to be(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "high school"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I love the kids, management need work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Swim Instructor in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My favorite part is working with young children who I get so connected too. My coworkers are great and fun to be around. We also get wsi swim instructor certified and have tons of training. If you think you can't handle being an instructor then think again because we are very well trained. We also get monthly meetings and weekly updates which I love because we get advice and go over instructing. Also the meetings... are fun and the weekly updates includes praises.

    Show More

    Cons

    We are forced to work sick unless we give a doctors note. If we miss a meeting due to an illness we have to make it up or get written up and it's not paid. It's unfair because sometimes we have doctor's notes excusing it and if it's a meeting maybe recap it, record it or pay us to attend. It's not fair to us that we were sick and couldn't be there and now won't get paid. The boss will sometimes snap at you,... several times he's snapped while I'm in the pool asking a quick question. If you look young master instructors will assume your in high school and not treat you seriously. There is a huge age discrimination issue I feel. Once I told I was older I got treated better. We do have to clean poop/puke in the pool, sometimes dive down using goggles to get it. Some kids are scared and pull your hair and scream in your face.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider being more patient. One time I got yelled at for a kid puking just as he entered the pool. It wasn't my fault, it was just him entering and he puked, management said it was breath control and yelled in front of parents.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2019-05-01
  2. "Toxic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Swim Teacher/Front Desk in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really aren't any. So take that as a warning.

    Cons

    This place can only be described as toxic. It is run very clumsily, and just without care. They do not have a well thought call out system - so if you get sick, be warn you are coming in to still work around children. They really do not care about the employees well being, and instead pick favorites from the group. There is many cliques like most work places - however unlike most workplaces, Aqua-Tots hires mostly... young so it feels very much like high school and it can get very "rumory" and toxic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is horrible, it is spread too thin. With no HR department, and weird teenage boys running loose it has been a problem. I'm surprised this company hasn't gotten into more trouble. Terrible company - so happy to have gotten out.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2019-05-11
  3. "Don’t do it! I would’ve given it no stars but they made me put at least one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - WSI in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work with kids Easy job Don’t need certifications to get hired

    Cons

    No one is CPR/ Life Guard certified in the pool (at least at my location) Everyone is young, high school to first years in college so they don’t know how to run the place. Huge turn over, so people are always coming and going Favoritizum towards the students Even if you put your availability In, they have the right to schedule outside of your avalibablity. You aren’t guaranteed Days off if you have to... go out of town or doctors appointment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management doesn’t know how to run it. As a employee, I was the people that owned aqua tots were more involved and they would see how hectic it truly is and maybe things would be fixed.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2019-04-08
  4. "swim instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great first job, inviting community, kids are fun to work with, awesome pay, fun activities for employees

    Cons

    miscommunication, the bosses don't help you find subs even if you absolutely can't go, the times aren't flexible, scheduling is hard, takes up a lot of time (still in high school)

    Advice to Management

    let the employees have more leisure time and help them find subs. it sucks having to skip an important event because no one wants to help you cover your shift..

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2018-11-17
  5. "Fun but Not Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Swim Coach in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The environment was fun if you love kids, swimming and teaching. I really enjoyed seeing kids get excited about learning and when it clicked, it made me really happy. I had a lot of fun learning how to teach swim lessons to kids ranging from 4 months old to 10 years old.

    Cons

    I don't know if this goes for all locations or if it was just the one I worked at, but they were hardly flexible with me. I had an EXTREMELY hard time asking anything off because they put if ALL on me to find a replacement and had little to no help in doing so. I almost missed my family vacation as a result. I also only got one week off the entire summer which I was very displeased about because their reasoning is... that the parents want consistency. I hope that the parents and the management realize that the people they hire on are all high school/ college students and summer is our time where we go on vacation and go do mission trips and stuff which I missed out on as a result. Also when I asked off like three months in advance, they still didn't respect my time off and there for I was almost forced to quit because of that. I felt like I had no life outside of this job which made it not as enjoyable as I expected it to be.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    PLEASE make the scheduling more flexible. I understand that parents and kids (especially the younger ones) appreciate the consistency but also please try and inform them that things happen and that we have lives outside of the school and our job there. I was super frustrated asking off things way in advance only to be told I couldn't do it or almost couldn't do it because of either lack of people to ask or other... people got priority over me when I asked off the week/weekend first. Please work on making sure that when we request a certain week or weekend off that we get it and that there is a priority system in place to make sure that the people who asked off way in advance gets first pick before the people who asked off like the month before.

    Show More
    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2018-01-24
  6. "juice isn't worth the squeeze."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Water Safety Instructor in Lone Tree, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    First and foremost- you have the ability to teach children a skill that could potentially save their lives, which is HUGE! I also felt a great sense of accomplishment when you work with a child and watch them develop, overcome fears, progress with skills and become successful swimmers. The kids I worked with brightened my life so much I was actually willing to excuse the laundry list listed in the cons column for... quite a while...

    Show More

    Cons

    One of the bigger downfalls is the hours are minimal, and the shifts are short; ie: 8:45am-1:30pm. Another huge issue was actually violating labor laws by not allowing any ability for a rest or bathroom break- all due to the scheduling of classes. If you are scheduled for a five and a half hour shift, you will be in the water for AT LEAST five hours, with no break time between your classes. A large majority (90%) of... the staff is high school aged, so there is a lot of gossip and unnecessary drama, but an even more severe lack of dependency, work ethic and motivation; if you are an employee who is passionate or hardworking, you will inevitably have to pick up the slack. The discipline and corrective action policies were selectively enforced, showing favoritism and allowing peers to not live up to their responsibilities with little to no consequence, which doesn't harbor a healthy working environment. It also didn't help that my manager was less than effective and absent from the facility more often than not, and with no second in command, which lead to a lot of drama and miscommunication and ultimately caused me to end my employment there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find managers who have strong leadership and communication skills, are effective, motivated, committed and present. Adjust school schedules to accommodate all in-water staff with a reasonable rest break. Reconsider hiring credientials for prospective employees, such as changing the age of application to eighteen.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2017-09-27
  7. "Front Desk and In-Water Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, family owned business, great first job for people coming out of high-school

    Cons

    Not many ways to move up.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2017-08-04
  8. "The owner, Arlette, for Helotes and rim location is horrible !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Swim Instructor in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed teaching kids & the friendly environment. Discounts on food Discounts on swim lessons for loved ones Schedule was flexible if you're in high school

    Cons

    The owner is all about herself. Doesn't really care about anything. Only concerns is if she's making money. She'll schedule her kids to work at the store (and they never do anything) and everyone else ends up paying the price if something goes wrong. Parents get upset because the lessons are the same every class.

    Advice to Management

    The owner should really consider better management skills like the GM at the Helotes location. He's a great leader.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2017-07-28
  9. "WSI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Swim Instructor in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed my managers and cooperate were really nice! Family aspect amongst employees Incredible pay for high school and college students Very easy to pick out your schedule

    Cons

    The pool wasn't always under health code Spoiled children are almost always gonna be an issue Sometimes pay got cut so you didn't always get what you worked for. The inservices were sometimes helpful but sometimes were only a social activity

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work but don't be sketchy!

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2017-06-06
  10. "Water Safety Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Water Safety Instructor in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Aqua-Tots Swim Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Aqua-Tots is a great place to work at while in high school or college. The environment is generally upbeat and fun and most of the students are well behaved and enjoyable to teach. The company goes to great lengths to make sure you are thoroughly trained and competent in every area of teaching. The store I worked for had monthly staff meetings which usually consisted of watching footage for proper technique,... reviewing curriculum, and occasionally getting in the water to teach through a level with the management team. Throughout your time there, you will develop a strong bond with some of your students and their parents. In fact, the hardest part about leaving the job was saying goodbye to some of my longtime students. All of the staff was friendly and gossip was relatively minimal among instructors. The management did a good job of supporting the staff, even when we screwed up. There were a couple times where I made dumb judgments and the manager stood behind me despite the angered parent.

    Show More

    Cons

    The job is really fun, but there isn't any room for progression. The management doesn't really make any effort to develop employees beyond Water Safety Instructors and nobody ever received a raise while I was there despite several reminders that they would begin performance reviews. Calling out sick is hard unless you have been working there for a little while and have earned favors with other instructors. They... hired a lot of instructors, but they always made it seem like we were understaffed whenever someone called out sick or quit. The people who had been working there for a long time seemed weighed down by it and ready for something new. Again, great place to work, but not somewhere I would stay long-term for work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees. Develop better systems for hiring. Create pipelines to increased pay and responsibility.

    Aqua-Tots Swim Schools2016-09-23
Found 127 reviews