Aquicore Reviews | Glassdoor

Aquicore Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Aquicore Founder and CEO Logan Soya
Logan Soya
9 Ratings
  1. "Great Startup with Fun Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aquicore full-time

    Pros

    -Great, inclusive culture: catered lunches, happy hours, fun clubs that you can be a part of, onsite gym -Solid growth potential and opportunity to voice your opinion -Flexible work schedule and ability to work from home as needed -Caring organization -Ability to make a global impact

    Cons

    -No 401K match -No continuing education benefits -sometimes unclear directions or expectations

    Aquicore2019-11-25
  2. "Grow and contribute in an exciting field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aquicore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Incredibly talented colleagues. I'm constantly learning and growing here, and I'm inspired to give my best. If you're looking to just analyze data, or just write front-end code, or just be back-end, you'll be disappointed. You frequently need to roll up your sleeves and tackle issues from different angles. For data science, that means a healthy blend of solid statistical knowledge, programming, the ins and outs of AWS, and how your work fits into the broader product. - Your work has immediate impact. You're given responsibility from the start, and you have the ability to make meaningful change in the company and the product immediately. - Fun culture. Everyone respects each other, and our weekly all-hands meetings bring home the message that we're a team working together on an exciting product. There's also a Switch to play after-hours, which doesn't hurt. - Wake up knowing your work is helping reduce carbon emissions - Free catered lunch Mondays and Wednesdays, monthly happy hours, gym, roof with a great view of downtown

    Cons

    - Some might not like the range of work - No 401k match

    Continue reading
    Aquicore2019-11-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great DC startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aquicore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fair compensation with stock options - Work from home as needed - Very flexible working hours - Opportunity to develop software across many different technologies - Inclusive culture and very much a "flat" organization - As a small growing company, each employee is able to make a noticeable impact

    Cons

    - No 401k match - No education benefits - Parking in the building costs ~$270/month

    Aquicore2019-10-28
  5. "Solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aquicore full-time

    Pros

    Big market, increasingly impactful technology

    Cons

    Typical start-up challenges, nothing out of the ordinary

    Aquicore2019-06-12
  6. "Great place to work, lots of momentum!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aquicore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are great, always willing to help when needed Unlimited PTO Lots of opportunities to make a difference and help our customers use less energy

    Cons

    no 401k match for employees

    Aquicore2019-05-07
  7. "A company driven by afterthoughts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aquicore full-time

    Pros

    - Free lunches twice per week - Flexible schedule. Work from home as much as you need to - Great insurance benefits - It has talented people to learn from

    Cons

    - High turnover rate, leaving the employees who stay to pick up the pieces - No clear direction. Features are whipped out almost as afterthoughts, leaving behind a product that is not very user friendly - The core monolithic platform uses obsolete technology - Unstable platform causes a barrage of never ending work - What some might describe as a "fun culture" can also be perceived as a group of goofy people who are easily amused

    Aquicore2019-04-18
  8. "Blood, sweat, tears, but mostly AQ love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aquicore full-time

    Pros

    Aquicore is draining in the best sense. Be vocal, have an opinion, be passionate, take initiative, and you'll get to have a seat on the driver's side. I've been afforded opportunities at this company because I drive hard, am passionate about our success, and take pride in being an Aquicorian. AQ is a place for go-getters, athletes, and people who care.

    Cons

    It isn't easy. It can be frustrating and daunting sometimes as outdated processes and approaches don't work. The moment you realize that you are here to create a market leading technology surrounded by passionate people who don't always have all the right answers, you learn how to roll your sleeves up, find out the answer, and produce some awesome results.

    Continue reading
    Aquicore2018-11-15
  9. "Cool place for a short spell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aquicore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Energetic and dynamic team. Good market opportunity.

    Cons

    Following too many goals at once

    Aquicore2018-11-21
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aquicore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fast growing company - Talented and friendly people. They are really fun to work with! - Collaborative environment - Open workspace - Catered lunches on Mondays and Wednesdays - Flexible working hours/ unlimited work from home days and vacations - Opportunities to grow skills/leadership if you are passionate - Can see the impact of your work - Dedicated leadership

    Cons

    - Plans/roadmaps change quickly. You need to be flexible with that. - You may always need to be ready to jump on your work anytime even at night or on weekends to respond to the company's immediate needs. - It's a small organization trying to achieve a lot - you might be overwhelmed by the amount of work from time to time (but not always!)

    Aquicore2018-10-26
  11. "A fast-growing startup with great people and a noble mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aquicore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Simply put, Aquicore is a great place to work. The company is mission-driven and growing fast, the team is talented, positive and collegial, and the product itself has the potential to truly shake up the commercial real estate industry and become the leader in the market. Leadership values work/life balance (something that can be rare for a startup) and the culture is fun, friendly and refreshingly free of the dreaded startup tech bro mentality. Solid benefits - catered lunches, monthly happy hours and events, unlimited vacation, generally laidback office environment, Justworks HR and included membership to One Medical. Employees have basically unlimited opportunity to experiment and test out new ideas without red tape or office politics getting in the way - if you want to suggest something or pursue something new, your idea will be heard.

    Cons

    It's a startup, so you have to be comfortable wearing many hats, being scrappy when needed, and having things change suddenly. Urgent projects can spring up out of nowhere and internal processes continue to evolve (though the company has matured quite a bit in the last year). Not personally a con for me, but definitely a con for some.

    Aquicore2018-10-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 29 reviews