Aquicore Reviews | Glassdoor

Aquicore Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Aquicore Founder and CEO Logan Soya
Logan Soya
9 Ratings
  1. "Amazing Opportunity and Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aquicore full-time

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my time at Aquicore and consider it one of the best places I've worked. The mission of the organization and product are compelling and interesting. Beyond that, the team is incredibly talented and fun to work with. Aquicore offers team members the opportunity to truly own their career and how they contribute to the success of the company. There was never a shortage of opportunities for me to learn something new about my role or function. The leadership team does a great job of recognizing people who perform and go above and beyond which is great in a growing organization where everyone is almost always wearing multiple hats. I really enjoyed the laid-back culture, unlimited time off and generally fun office environment. Overall, your role and Aquicore is what you make it- I had a lot of fun and learned a ton!

    Cons

    Aquicore is a small, fast-growing startup trying to do a lot at once. Sometimes, decisions are made quickly and things change. Anyone who works here needs to be comfortable with that. This isnt necessarily a con but something to be aware of.

    Aquicore2018-09-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Mission driven and exciting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aquicore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Aquicore has an environment that has always valued my personal growth and pushed me to better every day. I've taken on more challenges than I thought possible and accomplished more here than at any other company. The mission of the company has always resonated with me and it's been a great ride to see us mature.

    Cons

    The office could use a few more perks and better organization. It's probably time to hire an office manager.

    Continue reading
    Aquicore2018-02-27

    Aquicore Response

    March 14, 2018

    Thanks for your feedback! It's always awesome to hear team members share how they have grown and developed their skillset at Aquicore. As we push forward in 2018 there will be new challenges to tackle but it's wonderful to hear we have a team that is excited to take on those challenges. We will take your advice to heart and continue to find ways we can provide each employee with personalized development opportunities while also focusing on the bigger picture. If you have any ideas on how we can do this better, please share!

    Continue reading
  3. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Aquicore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Team Tremendous growth opportunties Strong team drive Located in the heart of DC

    Cons

    Work hard play hard type of place

    Continue reading
    Aquicore2018-02-27

    Aquicore Response

    March 14, 2018

    Thanks for your feedback- happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Aquicore! We'll continue to keep on crushing it :)

    Continue reading
  4. "Software development that has a positive environmental impact."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aquicore full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I work with are rock stars. I get to work with solid technology.

    Cons

    Although the 401k provider is stellar, there is no 401k matching.

    Aquicore2018-02-27

    Aquicore Response

    March 14, 2018

    Thanks for sharing! We're happy to hear you're enjoying the level of talent at Aquicore. While a 401k match isn't part of our current benefits package, it is something we'd like to add at some point in the future.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Always on the verge of success, but never actually get there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Aquicore full-time

    Pros

    - 401K - Happy Hours (usually for someone's last day) - Startup culture - Unlimited PTO - Just Works HR platform

    Cons

    - No mentorship from leadership - Unrealistic expectations - Significant turnover leaves current employees overwhelmed - Lack of respect/trust from leadership - You need to be very vocal to be heard. If you are shy or an introvert good luck. You need to be a type A personality to succeed.

    Continue reading
    Aquicore2018-03-02

    Aquicore Response

    March 14, 2018

    We are particularly sorry to hear that as a current employee you are not happy with certain things at Aquicore. We’d like to present a few options to help voice those concerns and hopefully reach a resolution. You can always set a meeting with your direct manager to discuss where you feel there is a gap in mentorship and how your expectations can be made clear. You also have access to leaders across teams if you feel like speaking with someone outside of your department. Logan is always open to grabbing coffee and hearing how Aquicore can meet the needs of the team and address questions on the direction of the company and pace of growth. We are working to find a balance between open dialogue and anonymous feedback tools. We’re actively working to roll out an anonymous employee survey and suggestion box tool. If you have specific questions about these efforts or ideas on how we can do this better, please reach out to our Talent Manager. Aquicore is a company of individuals who take ownership of their work, their contributions to the culture and the direction of the company. If you ever feel an open platform like All Hands is not the best way to share how you are feeling, please know that you have a variety of resources available to you. We are committed to making sure every Aquicorian feels comfortable sharing feedback in a way that is meaningful to them.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Amazing Colleagues...weird"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Aquicore full-time

    Pros

    -Casual working environment -very smart talent -open office layout -great benefits -decent location -unlimited PTO -free lunch on Mondays & Wednesdays -really exciting industry and technology

    Cons

    -Incestuous Leadership -Leadership always created narratives around why amazing talent and other leadership positions leave the company instead of looking at themselves and realizing that the culture is extremely toxic. -Employees were asked to email the CEO (not anonymous) what they truly thought about the company and how they can improve. This made me very uncomfortable. -Only certain people are listened to in this company.

    Continue reading
    Aquicore2018-02-23
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Aquicore full-time

    Pros

    - Casual work environment - Monthly happy hour - Free lunch twice a week - Unlimited vacation policy - If you are a go-getter, you’ll be able to learn about different areas of the company and to create your own opportunities

    Cons

    - No clear direction from leadership. Lack of communication when departments are reorganized or when business decisions are made. - Lack of respect between employees and from leadership. If you disagree with leadership or try to bring up a topic they are not willing to discuss, you'll be ignored or shut down. - No emotional intelligence in leadership - No work-life balance. You’re expected to be available nights, weekends, and during your vacation. As a manager, I have been criticized for refusing to reach out to team members on vacation. Working or attending meetings on weekends/vacation is ordinary. - Micromanagement - High turnover in the past four months

    Continue reading
    Aquicore2018-03-13
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Great People - Not So Great Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Aquicore full-time

    Pros

    The people and the team are what make Aquicore special - everyone is smart and driven. Unlimited vacation is also nice in theory, but good luck trying to take advantage of it.

    Cons

    No clear direction or messaging from leadership. Every move made is reactive. Lots of employee turnover. Very little transparency on why certain decisions are made.

    Continue reading
    Aquicore2018-02-23
  9. Helpful (5)

    "good career starting point but not mature enough to sustain tenured talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Aquicore full-time

    Pros

    -flexible work life balance -relaxed environment -young, progressive culture

    Cons

    -disorganized management -poor training/ramp-up program

    Continue reading
    Aquicore2017-12-05

    Aquicore Response

    April 2, 2018

    Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you didn't have a positive experience working at Aquicore. We made strides at the start of this year with a comprehensive company-wide training program. The goal was to help the team (leadership included) understand the vision for 2018 and align our goals to meet that vision. We've received positive feedback on the training program and will continue to find ways to improve our training and onboarding for new hires as we continue to grow.

    Continue reading
  10. "Fun place to work and get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Aquicore

    Pros

    -People are friendly, interesting and collaborative - people are the best part. -Opportunity to take ownership over most of your projects -Dynamic work environment with good exposure to real estate, energy, software, and hardware -Start up mentality that values non-traditional problem solving -Located in DC proper

    Cons

    -Company culture is very bottom up -Senior management can be too busy to provide mentorship or clear feedback on job performance

    Continue reading
    Aquicore2016-08-22
Found 29 reviews