Arc'teryx Reviews | Glassdoor

Arc'teryx Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Jon Hoerauf
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Vancouver is an expensive place to live(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Easy going, great employee discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sale Associate in Aurora, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arc'teryx part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount was amazing. Didn't work time, it was a college job, so I'm not sure about health benefits. Pay was competitive. Easy going staff and managers.

    Cons

    Company liked to overstaff the floor

    Arc'teryx2019-05-17
  2. "Key holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arc'teryx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great in-store team/manager, amazing products & prodeals.

    Cons

    We don’t work for Arc’teryx, we work for Amer and often get conflicting goals from higher-ups visiting which makes our jobs difficult to achieve. Pay is below the market, only FT employees get benefits, so hourly employees turn over frequently.

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent with the messages you deliver (ex: visual expectations). Invest more in your retail employees and teams, don’t cut things like holiday gifts first to manage expenses.

    Arc'teryx2019-03-01
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible job fending the terrible warranty policy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arc'teryx full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None to think of. They didn't miss payroll - so that was good.

    Cons

    Nothing but angry customers. People waiting 6 months to repair jackets, that could easily just be replaced for the price charged. Nothing but unnecessary, customer offending policies that hurt the company more than helped.

    Advice to Management

    Leave and get replaced. You suck royally. If such obvious failed business policies are not obvious to you, there is no confidence for improvements.

    Arc'teryx2019-02-10
  4. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Arc'teryx full-time

    Pros

    benefits, rrsp matching, discounts, customer focused, fun

    Cons

    management, parent company, eyewear benefits,

    Arc'teryx2018-11-23
  5. "Product Guide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Guide in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arc'teryx part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team culture and awesome customers

    Cons

    Small team so limited flexibility

    Arc'teryx2018-11-02
  6. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arc'teryx full-time

    Pros

    It was a good place

    Cons

    Inaccessable to lower class hikers, dealt with lots of yuppies who didnt do outdoors stuff and just used the gear for fashion

    Advice to Management

    Make cheaper products as well

    Arc'teryx2018-09-23
  7. "Full Time Keyholder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arc'teryx full-time

    Pros

    Great staff Arc'teryx itself is a great company Access to top of the line gear Arc'teryx opposes selling out Fellow employees have a genuine passion for the outdoors

    Cons

    Owned by Amer Sports It seems that Amer's wet dream is for us to become the next North Face

    Advice to Management

    Focus on hiring upper management who are passionate about the outdoors

    Arc'teryx2018-07-28
  8. "Need to pay employees better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Guide in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Arc'teryx part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - great brand - meet like-minded people at work

    Cons

    - low pay is very hard to get by on without a second job. Saw a sign for an In and Out fast food place that paid more as a STARTING hourly rate. - don't get paid overtime for OT hours on the clock - hard to have work/life balance with retail hours

    Advice to Management

    - pay your retail employees better, so they can stay at the job (because we want to!) - invest in growing and retaining employees

    Arc'teryx2018-04-30
  9. "Great Reliable Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Tulalip, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arc'teryx full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -great client base -great pro deal -awesome on staff managers

    Cons

    -wasteful packaging -refusal to grant overtime even when understaffed and in holiday season

    Arc'teryx2018-01-09
  10. "Awesome Company, Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arc'teryx part-time

    Pros

    Great sales team, fantastic learning environment, good benefits.

    Cons

    Hours harder to come by outside of winter season.

    Advice to Management

    Advise newcomers on how work environment will change season to season.

    Arc'teryx2017-08-29
Found 89 reviews