Arcadis Reviews | Glassdoor

Arcadis Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1048 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Arcadis CEO Peter Oosterveer
Peter Oosterveer
90 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A lot of ego's and offices that don't communicate with each to keep employees billable, management quick to lay you off for a lapse of billability(in 37 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can become demanding with project deadlines(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Agile Company that Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ecologist in Broomfield, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arcadis full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Arcadis is a "People First" company, recognizing that its success depends on its employees. It emphasizes billability less than other consulting companies.

    Cons

    Arcadis is a for profit business and as such, sometimes has challenging deadlines and expectations

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the People First policy and global shaper programs that allow anyone at any level who is excited to contribute to excel. Arcadis' agility to learn, adapt, identify future trends, and change what is not working to what works is excellent.

    Arcadis2019-05-18
  2. "Summer Internship, good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in White Plains, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Arcadis full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Learn alot - Gain a lot of experience in a team environment\ - Great resume builder

      Cons

      - Sometimes you may not have much work and be bored.

      Arcadis2019-06-05
    • "Internal Coordination"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Arcadis full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Market presence is well know in water related design and planning

      Cons

      Internal coordination between company divisions is very poor.

      Advice to Management

      Management does not have patience or willingness to spend effort for new market sector work. Industry awareness of the Arcadis brand is very limited and will require long term efforts for growth.

      Arcadis2019-05-31
    • "Great company with fantastic opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Senior Managing Consultant in Atlanta, GA

        I have been working at Arcadis full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great depth of projects to work on

        Cons

        HR and IT support can be difficult to access

        Arcadis2019-05-13
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great Place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Project Scheduler in Phila, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Arcadis full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        People is the core value of the company. No micromanagement , flexible working hours .

        Cons

        I have not find any cons in last two years.

        Advice to Management

        Thank you for dedication, keep it up.

        Arcadis2019-05-09
      • "Excellent Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Arcadis part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Exceptional benefits, flexible hours, supervisor who can actually manage and cares

        Cons

        Open office concept is very distracting and just plain too loud.

        Advice to Management

        Go back to traditional office settings or offer more actual offices than simply a living room full of computer stations. its too loud and distracting.

        Arcadis2019-05-13
      • Helpful (2)

        "Work here, don't stay here"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Field Geologist in Edison, NJ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Arcadis full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Arcadis has competitive pay and benefits that speak for themselves along with a large number of projects and offices to work with. There is always work to do and teams to be engaged with.

        Cons

        The junior staff are run into the ground, there is very little time to live outside of work for people below management. Large amounts of overtime are expected of most. I stayed at the promise of upward movement which never occured in my 2 years. My time at the company was fine, but I should have left sooner than I did.

        Arcadis2019-05-06
      • Helpful (2)

        "Good people, questionable project management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Electrical Engineer in Richmond, VA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Arcadis full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Most of the people at Arcadis are fantastic to work with. Salary and benefits are excellent.

        Cons

        Some project managers are difficult to work with.

        Arcadis2019-05-04
      • "Great culture with supportive and friendly staff"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Geologist in Philadelphia, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Arcadis full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        - Company culture is positive and inclusive, putting the employee first (as they say). - Supervisors always treated me kindly and with respect, and I felt like my interests were being cared for. - Flexible with internal transfers and relocation.

        Cons

        - Salaried employees often work overtime that is not paid for unless it is directly billable to a client.

        Arcadis2019-04-13
      • "It is what you make of it"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Staff Geologist 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Arcadis full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Good opportunity for advancement. Often many choices of projects to work on.

        Cons

        Everything depends on your Supervisor. Lots of travel.

        Advice to Management

        Provide better incentives to Group Leaders and they will likely be more motivated. Embrace 1.5x overtime payscale for all department divisions.

        Arcadis2019-04-09
      Found 1048 reviews