ArcelorMittal Reviews | Glassdoor

ArcelorMittal Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 347 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
ArcelorMittal CEO Lakshmi N. Mittal
Lakshmi N. Mittal
116 Ratings
Pros
  • "Many responsibilities, good pay, positive work environment(in 15 reviews)

  • "Excellent cadre de travail avec une(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "s; beaucoup de travail; un peu loin de Metz (40mins de bus pour y aller de Metz);(in 7 reviews)

  • "Long hours, very very little work life balance, a lot of health risks, very poor training program(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Canutillo, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ArcelorMittal for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Very professional and treat their employees fair

    Cons

    Stressful and very demanding environment

    Advice to Management

    Needto learn how to take advice from submanagement

    ArcelorMittal2017-10-12
  2. "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ArcelorMittal full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Good company. Provides tools needed to do your job well. We are not micro managed.

    Cons

    Focus on younger staff for promotions and special projects. Difficult to work your way up the ladder.

    Advice to Management

    Loyalty to company means something. Don't overlook those that are solid employees just to keep the newbees happy. Several managers may have business skills, but they don't have people skills.

    ArcelorMittal2018-12-01
  3. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at ArcelorMittal full-time

      Pros

      Good starting pay, ability to go to floor if tired of sitting in office

      Cons

      Dirty, no phone signal in areas, can't change departments for 1 year and they pick your first department

      ArcelorMittal2018-09-17
    • "Senior Operating Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Operating Technician 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at ArcelorMittal full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Pay & Benefits. Company paid healthcare.

      Cons

      Corporate Managers have no clue how to run a Steel Mill. Hassles in every aspect of my job. No parts, no decent leadership, run around when you have issues that need addressed.

      Advice to Management

      Go work at Wal-Mart

      ArcelorMittal2018-10-10
    • "Current Employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at ArcelorMittal full-time

        Pros

        The salary is somewhat competative

        Cons

        The benefits are getting worse

        ArcelorMittal2018-07-19
      • "Finishing Specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at ArcelorMittal full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        My coworkers and friends there

        Cons

        Everything else that I endured there

        Advice to Management

        Change

        ArcelorMittal2018-08-06
      • "Technology Engineer - I/N Tek I/N Kote"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at ArcelorMittal full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        I/N Tek I/N Kote is the best plant to work at that ArcelorMittal owns on North America. I worked there for more than six years. The union and salary get a long, it's more like a family there. However, if you are going to other plants like the harbour (burns or Indiana), I would be careful because I heard a lot of negative stuff.

        Cons

        I would have stayed at I/N Tek I/N kote for longer if it was not located in new Carlisle, IN. Location is the only reason I left for.

        ArcelorMittal2018-06-03
      • Helpful (1)

        "manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at ArcelorMittal full-time

        Pros

        It is a multinational present in almost all the countries, you can find people from different areas

        Cons

        Compensation and benefits are worsening and there are no career opportunities, there is no a long term view

        Advice to Management

        Mobility is a real disincentive in the group, you do not take advantage of the program. Human resources is not able to give visibility for talents

        ArcelorMittal2018-05-14
      • Helpful (4)

        "Meh"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Chicago, IN

        I worked at ArcelorMittal full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Health insurance is a Cadillac Plan (get to walk around 2200 degC steel) Good for Metallurgy, Material Science

        Cons

        Mech/Elect Engineering will be holed into maintenance supervision.

        Advice to Management

        Get in the 21st Century

        ArcelorMittal2018-02-25
      • Helpful (1)

        "In transition"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Associate in East Chicago, IN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at ArcelorMittal full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Good experience to learn how to interact with people. Lots of opportunity to apply new technology.

        Cons

        Incentives to actually work are poorly set up. Union lives in the past and management let's them. Very poor work ethic. Pay has no correlation to real value.

        Advice to Management

        Your story to recruit is a good one but doesn't match reality. How about tell the truth so the people know what they are getting into.

        ArcelorMittal2018-01-21
      Found 347 reviews