Archdiocese of New York "dental or vision" Reviews | Glassdoor

Archdiocese of New York Employee Reviews about "dental or vision"

Updated Apr 20, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Archdiocese of New York Cardinal Cardinal Timothy Dolan (no image)
Cardinal Timothy Dolan
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "TERRIBLE benefits, including absolutely no dental options(in 10 reviews)

  • "awful communication, pompous attitude from senior management, no dental or vision insurance(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dental or vision"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Archdiocese of New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, many holidays off, gained a lot of experiences

    Cons

    no vision or dental coverage

    Archdiocese of New York2016-01-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid Child Nutrition Program at all cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Archdiocese of New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Catholic Holidays -There's free coffee - If you are Catholic then working here might mean something to you - theres some ok places to eat nearby and the cafeteria on the 9th floor is pretty good

    Cons

    -no opportunity for promotions - people being promoted that do not have the right qualifications - favoritism based on race and where you from in NYC - bosses belittle you -we are not allowed to contact HR and have no one to support us - no vision or dental insurance - not everyone can everyone feedback or contribute in meetings - office environment itself is so tiny and the air is stuffy and only certain special people have an office

    Continue reading
    Archdiocese of New York2017-04-20
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Cardinal's Appeal Department (Fundraising)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campaign Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Archdiocese of New York full-time

    Pros

    I am writing this in the hopes it will help applicants make a better informed decision. SO here you go beginning with the Pros. - experience - everyone in the building is pretty friendly (expect a hello in the elevator from all) - cafeteria in the building - Catholic holidays, summer Fridays - I thought health insurance was fine even though colleagues complained about it - it is easy to stand out if you work hard

    Cons

    - they don't tell you that you (employees) are expected to pay our of pocket between $600-1500+ a month in ezpass charges, fuel, gifts, drink/food (coffee/donuts etc) for parish volunteers or secretaries; campaign supplies, USPS mail postage and (sometimes) mailing fees (because you have to mail your own campaign materials to all the parishioners of your 45-50 parishes). Reimbursements can take weeks. **If you skip all my other Cons please think about this and how you will be able to afford to live and budget with these sort of unpredictable monthly expenses - Your churches may be spread anywhere in Staten Island, Manhattan, Westchester, Putnam, Rockland, Bronx, Orange, Dutchess, Ulster, Sullivan counties with no satellite offices so you are always expected to work out of the main office in Manhattan though you may have parishes distributed all over those counties. There is no work from home and in my experience Appeal Director was inflexible even though I had parishes all over tarnation and I was not getting home until 10:30 pm 4 days a week for weeks (and was told this is what I should expect year round). So, you may have a parish in southern Staten Island, another in Ulster COunty one on the Bronx and another two in Westchester and Putnam. You have to visit them all, attend night meetings (because this is when volunteer teams meet) but also work on printing thousands of parish letters and envelopes at headquarters. It is really ridiculous. - no dental or vision - lack of long term planning, everything from events to campaigns seem to be dysfunctionally thrown together at the last minute - to do well in the job you should be a good person that owns their Catholic or Christian faith because how else could you possibly speak to and relate to the Priests, Monsignors, Bishops and volunteer teams and speak to them about the importance of giving within their faith; however, to do well in their version of fundraising (which is unfortunately developed by bottom feeding "consultants") you can't possibly be Christian or Catholic. If you are expect a huge ethics, values, morality dilemma - there is significant red tape. Must walk the line, keep head down, or face retribution. (In other words, entrepreneurial spirits need not apply). The executive director is more open; however, everyone that works under her (and therefore above you) is not and you are not allowed to speak directly to her. Director is very defensive, micromanages you, and seems to view new ideas or proposed solutions as criticisms and the people who have them or think outside of the box as something to be controlled and silenced. - job will not meet expectations because for whatever reason the entire scope of the job (even the existing campaigns that are done year after year) is not shared and the description is not accurate - be prepared to work 10-12+ hour days year-round with no overtime or flexibility - A lot of unskilled managers and directors promoted; people with no management skills managing, people with no people skills managing people. (Politics or nepotism? Not sure) - not fairly compensated and expected to work late (people who leave on time are frowned upon) - they expect you to tip department cleaning crew and parking attendants in holidays -- noteworthy to mention because the standard is that the company CEO or in this case the Executive Director or Jr Directors would do this if it were necessary - a lot of turnaround - this is less a fundraising job and more a facilitator job - you are not actually fundraising ever, the priests and/or volunteers are

    Continue reading
    Archdiocese of New York2016-07-11
  4. "Archdiocese"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Archdiocese of New York

    Pros

    Flexible hours, lots of holidays, nice people in general

    Cons

    awful communication, pompous attitude from senior management, no dental or vision insurance

    Continue reading
    Archdiocese of New York2016-06-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Administrative Assistant in Bronx, NY

    I have been working at Archdiocese of New York for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Good people to work with.

    Cons

    No Dental or Vision for lay employees

    Archdiocese of New York2016-02-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Archdiocese of New York

    Pros

    Great people, values, morals

    Cons

    The insurance doesn't cover vision or dental and is costly

    Archdiocese of New York2015-10-22
  7. "Major Gifts Coordinator/Prospect Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Archdiocese of New York full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No job is perfect, but I love the people I work with here and have been given every opportunity to grow in the areas that interest me and adjust my job description to reality, with frequent assessments. I'd love to make more money, but looking at my role at other nonprofits, I am in the upper range of the average, so am satisfied knowing that it fits the industry standard.

    Cons

    No dental or vision insurance Changes can be slow to take hold Bureaucratic and at times, political.

    Continue reading
    Archdiocese of New York2015-04-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "great job depending on your department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Major Gifts Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Archdiocese of New York full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    you are never just a number, and you will be invested in if you take initiative and work well with others. unique and diverse community of all ages and backgrounds, working towards a worthy mission. decent compensation, but no dental or vision coverage. good work-life balance.

    Cons

    management can be frustrating because things take a long time to move along, and things can get political. no dental or vision insurance.

    Continue reading
    Archdiocese of New York2014-10-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Catholic Charities Community Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Disaster Case Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Archdiocese of New York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Entry level positions get paid a living wage. Decent number of paid vacation days. They hire internally, so it is possible to get a promotion.

    Cons

    The culture is bureaucratic, and their health benefits do not cover reproductive care, nor do they recognize domestic partnerships. Also, no dental or vision coverage.

    Archdiocese of New York2014-06-13
Found 9 reviews