Archer/Malmo Reviews | Glassdoor

Archer/Malmo Reviews

Updated Aug 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Russ Williams
9 Ratings
  1. "Turbo Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Turbo Artist in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Archer/Malmo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Place, creative atmosphere, Great people.

    Cons

    No promotion at the title I am currently holding.

    Advice to Management

    Need some type of promotion in the Turbo department

    Archer/Malmo2017-01-10
  2. "Great culture, clouded vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Archer/Malmo full-time

    Pros

    The culture and benefits are outstanding, never experienced better than any other company.

    Cons

    Vision and direction for the agency is cloudy

    Archer/Malmo2018-08-31
  3. "Avoid for Now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Archer/Malmo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The place is filled with a plethora of smart, fun, talented people. Benefits are great, unlimited PTO, pets are allowed at work. Tons of flexibility.

    Cons

    This place has changed drastically over the last handful of years. There used to be a lot of transparency from leadership; this doesn't seem to be the case anymore. There's quite a bit of ineptitude running rampant among senior leadership. People are constantly in fear of losing their jobs. No formal review process. Culture has steadily declined. Clients leaving left & right. Yes, chalk some of this up to "agency...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You may want to rethink some of the people you've got filling the SVP roles. They can easily & remorselessly turn a fun workplace toxic.

    Archer/Malmo2018-08-20
  4. "Best Place to Work in Memphis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Archer/Malmo full-time

    Pros

    - Casual / Friendly atmosphere. Feel free to be 100% yourself here and be surrounded by supportive, creative, fun coworkers. - Pet Friendly. Bring your dogs to work! Makes the environment extra relaxing and fun when theres a cute pooch bouncing around the office. - Creative atmosphere that merges work and play. Sometimes there is no doubt you'll be grinding it out over rushed projects and tight deadlines. But theres...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Volatile job security. Management here is brilliant at trying to prevent this but working at an ad agency can mean if a big client is lost there could be layoffs. Again, management works very hard to make sure this doesn't happen but if you've ever worked at an agency you know this can be an unfortunate fact of life.

    Archer/Malmo2017-10-22
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Archer/Malmo full-time

    Pros

    Smart people are abound, which creates a learning atmosphere--you gotta keep up and stay sharp if you want to contribute. (Though your contribution is not always welcome.) Casual atmosphere was nice.

    Cons

    - Poor management. Performance reviews, career goals/ objectives/ milestones--foreign concept here. Managers function in a free-for-all environment, no structure or processes, free to do as they please which means not managing at all in the end. - lots and lots of waste and inefficiencies. SVPs that do ?? , get paid quite a bit and probably haven't been billable in years. - further to the first point--very little career...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need a complete reset. But don't take 5 years to meet 75 times to try figure it out. And in the end do nothing really differently.

    Archer/Malmo2017-08-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Analyst in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Archer/Malmo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - friendly, fun culture that makes it enjoyable to come to work - flexible vacation time and hours - lots of different clients and projects so the work is always interesting

    Cons

    - siloed departments create friction in projects spanning multiple functions - flat leadership hierarchy leaves little room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Create opportunities for non-senior staff to contribute to big picture projects and ideas. Recognize when non-senior staff are outperforming their peers and give them opportunities to lead teams and projects.

    Archer/Malmo2017-02-04
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Tread Lightly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Archer/Malmo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a very fun, laid back culture. Excellent benefits. Unlimited PTO/Vacation. Lots of very talented people to work with and learn from. You can bring your dog/cat to work. Helpful and willing to provide employees with equipment needed to comfortably and efficiently do their jobs.

    Cons

    People who slack off, don't do their jobs, refuse to work on projects, etc. never get punished or even reprimanded. I even heard a manager say "Well it's been going on for so long what can I really do." Seriously? Umm...Fire them if they won't do their job is an option. So then the people who work hard and do well over their job descriptions get punished because they have to work even harder to pick up the slack. Lots...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trim off the fat and let your good, hard working employees shine and grow. And I don't know, maybe reward them for it with a raise and/or promotion. Recognition is nice, but honestly means nothing if you are still the only one in the group doing your job while the others sit on their fat salaries doing nothing.

    Archer/Malmo2017-01-03
  8. "Nice place to have a good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Archer/Malmo for less than a year

    Pros

    Looking back, I had a good mentoring experience and got to work closely with my boss and got great feedback and training along the way. In the Austin office, I also appreciated that the environment was very cordial, and a good blend of relaxed and professional. As a copywriting intern, I was able to write for some of the agency's top accounts.

    Cons

    Unfortunately my stipend that had been verbally offered was rescinded due to an adverse budget situation, which left a bad taste. I continued afterward as a contractor and although I of course started being paid, it left a bit to be desired.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to offer the great mentoring opportunities and instruction. Don't be afraid to demand high output from interns and compensate accordingly so that they can focus on the work (and their professional development) with less thing on their minds to worry about.

    Archer/Malmo2016-09-14
  9. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategist in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Archer/Malmo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity Amazing coworkers Awesome clients Great office space Flex time CEO is amazing and all management is super intelligent and fun to work with

    Cons

    There are no cons because this company knows what's best and I really love working there. Wouldn't trade it for anything.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Archer/Malmo2016-09-04
  10. "Account Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Archer/Malmo

    Pros

    Great work environment and office culture. You will work with some of the smartest people in the industry and on large clients.

    Cons

    Some of the lead management team show favoritism towards employees that don't deserve it. Makes others that work hard feel under valued.

    Advice to Management

    Work on management team and make sure people are evaluated for what they do and not by doing everything their manager wants them to do.

    Archer/Malmo2016-08-15
Found 16 reviews