Arclight Cinemas Reviews | Glassdoor

Arclight Cinemas Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Christopher Forman
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "People you work with are great, free movies is a plus and discounts on overpriced concessions is good too(in 53 reviews)

  • "Free movie tickets and form friendships with fellow crew members and managers(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Corporate wants to capitalize on your life being there for minimum wage(in 8 reviews)

  • "Toxic work environment with extremely high turnover(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Perfect job for college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arclight Cinemas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible hours. Great Managers. Fun work environment. Many different job roles to choose from and yo may specialize in what you like. Always room for growth.

    Cons

    When it's busy, it's busy. Guests can be annoying so it's up to you to see what you can do to make them happy.

    Advice to Management

    Please give positive feedback everyday to your leads and other employees.

    Arclight Cinemas2018-07-11
  2. "Good for first time job seekers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Lead in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arclight Cinemas part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free movies, flexible schedule, half off at concessions and cafe, good for first time job-seekers to gain work experience

    Cons

    Co-workers were not always the best, stressful at times during block buster weekends

    Arclight Cinemas2019-04-17
  3. "Not a bad place to have a part-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member 

    I worked at Arclight Cinemas part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    All employees get free movie tickets, 50% all food, and free parking in a prime Hollywood location. The job isn't too difficult and you work in teams. All my co-workers were great to work with.

    Cons

    As a crew member you rotate job tasks. Everyone's least favorite is bathroom duty.

    Arclight Cinemas2019-04-06
  4. "Great job yet not recommended if you are in schools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Crew Member in Culver City, CA

      I worked at Arclight Cinemas part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Decent salaries with great perks

      Cons

      Time-consuming even for a part-timer especially around holidays, and you are required to be available all weekend.

      Arclight Cinemas2019-03-18
    • "Meh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Crew Member in La Jolla, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Arclight Cinemas part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      People you work with are great, free movies is a plus and discounts on overpriced concessions is good too

      Cons

      Lack of proper communication between management and crew, at my location a crew member became manager and went on a power trip, worst manager ever complete lack of empathy. Most of the other manager were fine. Customers can be really rude and make you feel like you're not getting paid enough for your job.

      Advice to Management

      Work on communication, stop favoritism

      Arclight Cinemas2019-02-14
    • "Fun people to work with, tough hours"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Member in Culver City, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Arclight Cinemas part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      - The people I worked with have a great sense of humor and are fun to be with both at work and outside of work - 4 Free movie tickets daily (minus weekends) - Average age of employees is 22-27 - Meeting celebrities occasionally

      Cons

      - No pay raise for lead positions - Minimum wage - High turnover - Closing shift goes until around 12am - You have to work major holidays and every weekend (Fri night-Sun night), unless you get (once in a while) request the day off - which you can only do very rarely. On a regular basis, it's not allowed.

      Advice to Management

      - Stop firing people for petty things (clocking in a minute early), people have to wait in line to clock in and might be "late" if the line is long - Raise pay to make sure people can make their basic needs - Give pay raises to employees who become leads (otherwise there isn't much motivation) - Give people more of an opportunity to grow than just a lead in a department.

      Arclight Cinemas2019-02-01
    • "bleh to meh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Crew Member in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Arclight Cinemas part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      flexible hours, chill coworkers, free movies

      Cons

      high turnover horrible management you have to work ghastly hours and holidays

      Advice to Management

      maybe actually be receptive to feedback from people who work there for once

      Arclight Cinemas2019-01-23
    • "Dont expect too much"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Arclight Cinemas part-time

      Pros

      Free movies is really the only reason i put 3 stars

      Cons

      Managers dont care about you and its not all that great as it seems

      Advice to Management

      Care about your employees.

      Arclight Cinemas2018-11-21
    • "Cool place to work. Needs work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Crew Member in El Segundo, CA
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Arclight Cinemas full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The crew members are awesome and great to work with. Flexible hours.

      Cons

      Management moves you up very slowly. Pay isnt great.

      Advice to Management

      Move people up faster and be more open to your employees not just focus on the business.

      Arclight Cinemas2018-09-28
    • "Great Coworkers, Disfunctional Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Crew Member in La Jolla, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Arclight Cinemas part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Coworkers are great Free movie benefit is great Big discount on movie food

      Cons

      Management has issues with consistency Often fires a number of people at once, lessening moral Hard work goes unnoticed People who are friends with management get preferential treatment Little opportunity to advance

      Advice to Management

      Bridge the disconnect between management and floor workers. Often we aren't recognized for our hard work unless we are friends with the management team.

      Arclight Cinemas2018-09-24
    Found 98 reviews