Areva NP Reviews | Glassdoor

Areva NP Reviews

Updated May 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Bertrand Durrande
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Bonne ambiance de travail, Bonne(in 9 reviews)

  • "Bonne ambiance, bonne cafet, superieurs sympathiques(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Embauche difficile (comme toutes les grosses boites je suppose)(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great experience in large project management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in China, ME
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Areva NP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company with wide scope of activities where you can evolve and develop your knowledge in many technical fields. It is a great environment to work in where you are surrounded by experts!

    Cons

    The company suffer from the unpopularity of nuclear energy in France and the company is pointed as a non ecological one whereas I believe that a well controlled power plant can bring more to the environment that the fossil industry.

    Advice to Management

    The expatriate of this company have a hard time after repatriation. It is difficult to switch from a large project to an office work. Accompanying the employees is key to retention of talents.

    Areva NP2016-05-10
  2. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Areva NP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced Lots of SMEs around to help you learn Excellent pay Good benefits Opportunity to advance within the company

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the industry to which the company consults is currently unstable. If there's no work, you may lose your job.

    Areva NP2018-03-30
  3. "In trouble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Areva NP full-time

    Pros

    compensation is good, good location (for now)

    Cons

    no vision for future. business not going to come in on it's own.

    Advice to Management

    stop trying to save money and start getting in work

    Areva NP2017-06-13
  4. "Unstable future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Areva NP full-time

    Pros

    Flex working environment. Easy going people not much office politicals when you are in a project but not in the home office

    Cons

    the future of this company is not so clear. The future nuclear market will be in China, but Chinese government and companies are eagerly to adopt their own technology in the China market and export it. French style doing business is not wokring everywhere. Lack of positive response to customer

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the future but not the weak interests at the moment

    Areva NP2017-05-21
  5. "Reveiw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richland, WA

    I have been working at Areva NP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    No expectations for employees. Lots of time off

    Cons

    No advancement opportunities. Management is a closed club of compliant people. Local management makes no significant decisions

    Areva NP2017-02-10
  6. "Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Areva NP part-time

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, decent pay, benefits

    Cons

    It's the nuclear industry. Becoming unstable in a politically-correct world.

    Advice to Management

    Know your employees.

    Areva NP2016-09-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Areva NP

    Pros

    Used to be a good company with interesting projects

    Cons

    Management does not appreciate hard work and loyalty. Very limited salary increases. Promotions are nonexistent. No consideration to family life or work life balance. Focused on the nuclear industry that is dormant for the moment. Management are slow to react to market conditions with innovative ideas.

    Advice to Management

    Need new energetic management that is willing to take risk and is focused on business performance.

    Areva NP2016-09-25
  8. "Decent Pay, Smart Employees, Too Many Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Areva NP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay was good, benefits were very good when I was there, but there have been changes. There are a ton of very bright engineers, and the work is academically interesting

    Cons

    There are way too many layers of management, in my initial positions, there were 6 direct layers of management between me and the highest ranking executive in Lynchburg, forget taking France into account. When in the field management in Lynchburg is making the decisions despite being out of the loop.

    Advice to Management

    Flatten the organizational structure, there is a ton of talent in the company, but ideas don't always propagate because of all of the management levels.

    Areva NP2016-08-18
  9. "AREVA review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fluid Systems Process Engineer in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Areva NP for more than 8 years

    Pros

    International, major projects with many different opportunities, mostly nice co-workers creating a good work atmosphere.

    Cons

    Management decisions recently, too many information get lost between BUs.

    Advice to Management

    Deal more with the numbers of reality and not of forecasts.

    Areva NP2016-01-05
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Areva NP

    Pros

    The job was good for the amount of time that I was in school. Had very good pay for being in college

    Cons

    The internship didn't seem to have much if anything to do with my degree however. No benefits, though I didn't expect any.

    Advice to Management

    No real advice. Management was good. Would've been nice to do some actual software development. Very good though for a college student.

    Areva NP2009-10-10
Found 49 reviews