KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Argenta

Engaged Employer

Argenta

Add a Review

Argenta Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 81 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Argenta CEO Marc Lauwers
Marc Lauwers
14 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
    There are no pros to display at this time.
Cons
  • "Management neemt geen beslissingen(in 5 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee

    front desck agent

    Aug 28, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    possibility of establishing and a good team

    Cons

    Very few bad things. maybe not a good salary

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Banker

    Jul 5, 2022 - Banker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good working environment with attention for the employees

    Cons

    Working from home is impossible

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A company from old times

    May 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The location Generally people are nice Salary package improved with time Part of a well-known banking group

    Cons

    - 0% turnover: People are there to stay until they retire. No skills updates. - Very bureaucratic and rigid organization. - Resistance to change: We will always do what we have always done. - Lack of clear communication and transparent vision: You never know if you have done the right thing or not. - Not very challenging tasks. Most are not analytical but rather repetitive. - Some key functions are in hands of people with no proper knowledge in the field of work. There I heard that S&P 500 index and the local regulator are the "entities" that provide credit ratings !!! Also tasks that require analyses are performed by extremely rigid and irrational people, who rather seek to stay in their comfort zone than challenging the work or being challenged. No goals at all at first for a long period. Then there were global collective goals and not personalized. Then no year-end assessment. Then a belated assessment; several months later. Then you hear that you exceed the goals but when it comes to the written version you figure out that you didn't match the expectations but that at the same you exceeded them !! If you think it's all incoherent and you ask, you are told that you indeed exceeded the expectations but that you didn't meet them because they "felt" you lacked commitment during the few last weeks of the year. Interesting! Since when the appraisal became based on the manager's "feelings"?! Don't you think you should first give clear and personalized goals to have them achieved at the end of the year?! Don't you think the final rating should be based on the performance of the entire year and not just some few weeks of it?! But the person who didn't distinguish S&P 500 index from S&P rating agency certainly matched the expectations!!! Especially when the assumed "lack of commitment" was due to a total lack of motivation caused by a generally not committed work environment and an absence of feedback, but mostly the resistance to change and the recalcitrant attitude towards any tentative of analysis. Every small task is delegated to external consultants. Even very obvious questions about interpreting the VaR. ...And the cherry on the cake is the way vacation scheduling is handled. So some people think they are - or are really- entitled to summer and Christmas vacations. They book them all and you have no right to book as well if you are from the same team. You can't convince them it's unfair. You have to negotiate with the boss for that, so he can let you book the vacations for the same time as the other person from the same team, because this other person is going to take them anyways because she is entitled to. It's once again what they have always done and they can't change it. But if you lose motivation in such conditions you'll get a negative appraisal based on the manager's feelings of course !! The reason I was given is that for the other person Christmas vacations are so important. Probably because in such environment where they have no idea what diversity is, they don't know that Christmas is not a religious event and it does not depend on where you were born... This company is still in the 90s.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Argenta Response

    Medewerker Organisatie & Talent

    Bedankt voor je review. We zien graag dat onze medewerkers een lange carrière bij Argenta uitbouwen en streven er dan ook naar om elke medewerker zo goed mogelijk te blijven ondersteunen in de persoonlijke en professionele ontplooiing van zijn of haar talenten. - Eefje, Medewerker Organisatie en Talent

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Does not have the budget to achieve its goals

    May 12, 2021 - IT Consultant in Antwerp
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pragmatic most of the time

    Cons

    Goals set forth do not get the budgets required. Large dependance on below par infrastructure partner.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Argenta Response

    Medewerker Organisatie & Talent

    Bedankt voor je review. We nemen je feedback op met de betrokken directies. - Eefje, Medewerker Organisatie en Talent

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Argenta

    Dec 10, 2020 - Manager in Antwerp
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, Family owned so long term perspectives before short term gains

    Cons

    It is a local player (Belgium and The Netherlands)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Argenta Response

    Medewerker Organisatie & Talent

    Dankjewel voor je review. De familiale cultuur en langetermijnvisie vinden we inderdaad belangrijk. Argenta is een Antwerpse bank-verzekeraar die actief is in de Benelux. We zijn dus inderdaad alleen lokaal verankerd. - Eefje, Medewerker Organisatie en Talent

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Unpleasant

    Oct 14, 2020 - IT Technical Analyst in Antwerp
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - good pay - technically challenging

    Cons

    - out of touch management (from ivory tower) - lots of restructering and reorganizing - too much processes, approvals, steps needed - not very agile

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Argenta Response

    Medewerker Organisatie & Talent

    Bedankt voor je review. We bevragen onze medewerkers regelmatig en gaan aan de slag met hun feedback. Jammer om te lezen dat jij dat niet zo ervaren hebt. We nemen je feedback mee naar de toekomst. - Eefje, Medewerker Organisatie en Talent

  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    working at Argenta is overall good

    Aug 24, 2020 - Communications Manager in Antwerp
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very good work-life balance and good colleagues

    Cons

    only on a national level in Belgium

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Argenta Response

    Medewerker Organisatie & Talent

    Dankjewel voor je review. We zijn inderdaad alleen actief in de Benelux. Een goede balans werk-privé en een fijne werksfeer vinden we belangrijk. Blij om te lezen dat je dit ook zo ervaren hebt. - Eefje, Medewerker Organisatie en Talent

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    IT

    Jan 8, 2020 - Commissioned Sales in Antwerp
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Interesting projects.

    Cons

    Lagging behind in IT infrastructure and operational processes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Argenta Response

    Medewerker Organisatie & Talent

    Dankjewel voor je review. Een goede balans tussen werk en privé vinden we belangrijk, dus fijn om te lezen dat jij dat ook zo ervaren hebt. Argenta blijft groeien en dat betekent natuurlijk ook dat de processen en IT-infrastructuur mee moet evolueren. Dat blijven we opvolgen. - Eefje, Medewerker Organisatie en Talent

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    fast growing in financial services

    Mar 17, 2015 - Productmanagement in Antwerp
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    with great image, a different player in the Belgian Financial landscape. Fast growing company with lots of new initiatives. Relatively flat hierarchy,close contact with directors and managers

    Cons

    fast growing, means a lot of challanges which are not always well coordinated and communicated. Processes are not yet up to date, a growing company should learn more out of the mistakes made during the growin process

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Walks the talk.

    Mar 23, 2015 - Product Management in Antwerp
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Flat hierarchy which gives you the opportunity to work closely with very senior people. * A true green bank that walks the talk * Wide range of responsibilities and a management that is welcoming your ideas

    Cons

    * Pay * Lean level that is close to the pain barrier, especially if you come from/are used to cash burning multinationals.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Argenta Reviews FAQs

Argenta has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 81 reviews left anonymously by employees. 57% of employees would recommend working at Argenta to a friend and 53% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Argenta employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Argenta. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

57% of Argenta employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Argenta 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 2.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Argenta to be career development, compensation, coworkers and the cons to be benefits, diversity and inclusion, management.

Popular Careers with Argenta Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Argenta? Share Your Experiences

or

Argenta Photos

+ Add Photo
Argenta photo of: Argenta Hoofdzetel
Argenta photo of: Argenta Hoofdzetel
Argenta photo of: Argenta Hoofdzetel
Argenta photo of: Argenta Hoofdzetel
Argenta photo of: Argenta Hoofdzetel
Argenta photo of: Argenta Hoofdzetel
Argenta photo of: Argenta Hoofdzetel
See All Photos