Argo Group Underwriter Reviews | Glassdoor

Argo Group Underwriter Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
47%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Argo Group Interim CEO Kevin Rehnberg
Kevin Rehnberg
1 Rating
  1. "Underwriting Trainee - SAIL Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter Trainee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Argo Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The SAIL Program has been the ideal start to my career. The program offers valuable training and hands on experience in a specified career path while also offering options in any field where you express interest. It provides fun out of office experiences, individualized coaching, and allows you to provide meaningful contributions right off the bat. I would highly recommend this path to anyone looking to begin a career in insurance. The people at Argo Group have been extremely welcoming and I can't say enough about the positive experience I have had so far in this program. I feel extremely lucky to be apart of it.

    Cons

    There are no cons to this program.

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2017-11-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Underwriter in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Argo Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, Benefits, Management is improving

    Cons

    Compensation is below market rate

    Argo Group2020-02-15
  3. Helpful (3)

    "High Turnover for a reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Argo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smaller office, and they have trouble staffing so they offer a larger salary. Free snacks

    Cons

    A lot of turnover. During the time I was there, they fired 3 senior managers including mine. Very unstable working environment and undesirable working culture. Fighting internally over accounts

    Argo Group2019-08-22
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Dysfunction Junction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Argo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above average pay relative to the rest of the industry. This is because they are over compensating because of the high level of dysfunction at this company.

    Cons

    Dysfunction is an understatement to even begin to explain the incompetent management at the helm of Argo Pro. Having HR at the offices has become commonplace because they are either there to let someone go or have to come in to mediate “discussions” between feuding employees. The lack of control , oversight and professionalism is truly astounding. I’ve never worked in an office environment that so resembled the worst aspects of high school life. Senior management doesn’t do anything to control the unprofessional behavior and environment, it seems they would prefer to bury their heads in the sand and pretend problems don’t exist.

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2018-02-11
  5. "Outstanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Argo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid environment, growing quickly, sound judgment, fun atmosphere, growth potential and rewarded for accomplishments. Management open to ideas - have reinvented themselves for the time

    Cons

    Very little negative at this time - goals are lofty and a lot is expected of staff. Perform or go.

    Argo Group2017-04-05
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Continual Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Argo Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good, offices are nice, dress is business casual. There are some good guys here, like my boss, but they are very rare.

    Cons

    If you look at the tenure of people at Argo, majority would be under 3 years. No one knows anything because of the constant turnover. Most "employees" are actually contractors. It's chaotic, stressful and unfriendly. So called leaders don't even speak to people. H.R. is a joke, I.T. systems are awful, though not due to the I.T. staff that have been constantly laid off and built back up numerous times. Contributions are not valued here. This is a private enterprise for the executives at the top who hold all the reins and the company suffers because of it. I don't know it it's too late to change the tides here. If you have choices, my advice to you is keep looking. If you don't have options, take the job, act like an egomaniac and hide in your office all day (it's normal, you'll fit in perfectly).

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2017-05-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Underwriting Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Underwriting Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Argo Group

    Pros

    Argo was one of the only companies that was paying the most for a contract worker in my field.

    Cons

    Terrible manager, a complete bully! Felt like I was going into a battefield every morning. Three Underwriting Assistants in one year all of them have left. I was only there for 4 months. Very imature and unprofessional co-workers in this particular department. I quit, but stayed to train my replacement who has since left the company as well.

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2017-01-02
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Argo Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good co-workers and nice management. Continuing education supported.

    Cons

    Systems need some work for consistent functionality.

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2015-08-11
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Ivory Tower"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriter in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Argo Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours; local employees awesome; free parking

    Cons

    Mass layoffs across the organization typically in the 4th quarter each year. No raises for 5 years, oh except that 1% bump we got a couple years ago. Bonus plan is a joke because it is impossible to understand or track and employee has no control over their personal results.. Management utterly fails to communicate to the employees what their objective. No IT support, but masses allocations for IT are charged to business units.

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2015-08-08
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good people in the trenches, bad environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Argo Group full-time

    Pros

    Learned from peers, actually liked the improvements of the paperless system (although it took a lot of adjustment and was not perfect.

    Cons

    Grim environment with work going overseas when I was there. It was understood that most of the underwriting assistants and some management would be let go but no dates were given. Just shows how conscientious the UWs were because they continued to do their best not even knowing when they would be laid off, but sure that they would be. Management shuffled and reorganized, older workers not getting enough help with the new technology. The overseas workers being trained were hard-working, intelligent people but they did not have perfect American English so much time was wasted trying to fix errors.

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2014-09-14
Found 14 reviews