Argo Group "san antonio" Reviews | Glassdoor

Argo Group Employee Reviews about "san antonio"

Updated Jun 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Argo Group Interim CEO Kevin Rehnberg
Kevin Rehnberg
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits with an incredible employee referral bonus(in 7 reviews)

  • "I have worked in 4 different Argo offices (San Antonio, Chicago, Richmond, and Alpharetta) and mostly everyone has been very nice/helpful(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "san antonio"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Culture, Innovation and Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Argo Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is pushing to become more innovative and seek new opportunities, which is pretty exciting. Quarterly reviews with managers are mandatory, so you'll always get feedback and have an idea of how you're doing. There are so many opportunities for professional development, too! HR is pretty vocal about their new learning platform and what training webinars are available. San Antonio office is gorgeous and everyone seems to know each other, which makes for a fun work culture. Also, philanthropy is a big part of Argo. Employees can submit opportunties for organizations they care most about.

    Cons

    IT really needs improvement (they are working on it, so hopefully we see more improvement in the near future). Organizational structure changes somewhat frequently and can be confusing at times.

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2018-06-06
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Argo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Open door environment - I have worked in 4 different Argo offices (San Antonio, Chicago, Richmond, and Alpharetta) and mostly everyone has been very nice/helpful. - The management cares deeply about the company and its employees - Giving back to the community is important to Argo - Argo strives to constantly innovate

    Cons

    - Programs and IT could improve - If there is no in house IT person for the particular office, it is difficult to resolve an issue

    Argo Group2017-11-30
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Office Services Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Argo Group

    Pros

    Nice People, good location in downtown San Antonio, TX

    Cons

    Toxic Environment, Not loyal to empoyees! No budgetary contraints.

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2015-06-09
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Buyer Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Argo Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company does a nice job of investing in employees' education. Nice office in downtown San Antonio. I am paid well for the work that I do.

    Cons

    Half of the company has a VP or Director title - 90% of those VPs and Directors seem to be in their position due to their duration with Argo rather than ability to perform at a high level. Many employees have been deceived about compensation. It, like so many other things at the company, seems to be a black hole As a manager, I cannot be straightforward with my direct reports because of information asymmetry (not sure if the lack of information on my side is because of intentional withholding or just lack of competence/caring by my superiors). The lack of competence likely starts with the CEO, but in my several years of service, I have never been able to approach him to have a meaningful conversation - he seems to be on a pedestal. I have been unimpressed with his poise and ability to think on his feet at conferences.

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2015-03-05
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Weak overall Corp Culture, Some Departments work extremely well together."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Argo Group

    Pros

    Great location in San Antonio, Beautiful office space. There are some great people who really care about others and the work they do.

    Cons

    Lots of turnover on management team. Led to inconsistent culture and operations. The company has expanded via acquisition and has not had the leadership and focus to drive the synergies across all business units.

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2015-03-02
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to go get a few years of experience and move on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Argo Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There were some really quality people to work with at the staff and lower management level. The benefits are pretty good for the size of the company. Beautiful office in downtown San Antonio.

    Cons

    Benefits and pay are behind other insurance companies in town. Upper management is cutthroat and ruthless with their own employees. Employees are treated as disposable. Culture overall does not match the core values and is fairly toxic. Pay increases only occur every other year.

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2015-02-26
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Not an employer of choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Argo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice location for San Antonio

    Cons

    Deceptive hiring practices, Top leadership gets the bonus payouts and it never trickles down

    Continue reading
    Argo Group2014-10-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews